We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location & Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 25, 1017 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #231 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location & Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location from the central station you can take the Tram N° 1, 2 or 5 ! or on foot like 20 mins only ! all the main sights within 15 mins on foot !

Friendly professional multi lingual staff ( Dutch, Turkish, English, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese ...and others !) powered by very welcoming receptionist around the clock : Sinan, Paolo, Ling , walter, Muhammad and Gok Han , they will give you many information about the area and the surrounding and they will recommend good restaurants and locations.

You will get a small discount if you book the room directly through the hotel ufficial website !

My room 005 was on the ground floor , excellent wi-fi signal , breakfast is served only from 8.00 till 9:30 am in the breakfast room downstairs , large open buffet (for only 5 euro per person) , it would be better if it was from 7.00 until 10:00 !! so the tourist can start his day from the begining.
also you can use the breakfast room for your personal use

Despite that the hotel is ubicated in the center , you can hear the noise of the tram early in the morning or some drunk tourist yelling at night ! but it was kinda normal for a central hotel ! but it is better to make sure that your room is not on the main street so you can get a better sleep !

Bed was comfy and the chambermaid cleans the room daily ! news fuffy towels daily.

I will stay again in this hotel for my next visit to Amsterdam

Room Tip: Get a room thats not facing the street because of the noise of the tram in early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    40
    23
    17
    9
See reviews for
9
34
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location from the central station you can take the Tram N° 1, 2 or 5 ! or on foot like 20 mins only ! all the main sights within 15 mins on foot !

Friendly professional multi lingual staff ( Dutch, Turkish, English, Portuguese, Arabic, Chinese ...and others !) powered by very welcoming receptionist around the clock : Sinan, Paolo, Ling , walter, Muhammad and Gok Han , they will give you many information about the area and the surrounding and they will recommend good restaurants and locations.

You will get a small discount if you book the room directly through the hotel ufficial website !

My room 005 was on the ground floor , excellent wi-fi signal , breakfast is served only from 8.00 till 9:30 am in the breakfast room downstairs , large open buffet (for only 5 euro per person) , it would be better if it was from 7.00 until 10:00 !! so the tourist can start his day from the begining.
also you can use the breakfast room for your personal use

Despite that the hotel is ubicated in the center , you can hear the noise of the tram early in the morning or some drunk tourist yelling at night ! but it was kinda normal for a central hotel ! but it is better to make sure that your room is not on the main street so you can get a better sleep !

Bed was comfy and the chambermaid cleans the room daily ! news fuffy towels daily.

I will stay again in this hotel for my next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stayed one night here with a friend recently and couldn't fault the place. Check in was a breeze and the staff were very helpful. The rooms are pretty small but clean. The room we got for two of us had four beds in it but I can imagine it would be a tight squeeze for four people. The toilet is pretty small. Breakfast is only until 9.30 which isn't great and it is quite limited but in fairness, you pay for what you get. We paid €90 for the night between us for b&b so you can't be expecting a huge amount! Location is great!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was with my girlfriend and we reserved the double room with private bathroom.
The hotel is next to the main shopping/bars/restaurants street but without all the noise. Walking distance to pretty much everything. The man at the reception was very helpful and friendly.
The room was big enough and very clean, with a small TV. Same story with the bathroom, very clean and with plenty of space. We even had towels, for free, which we didnt expected!
Breakfast was included in the prcie ans I was expecting some toast and jam but we got more than expected: ham, chesse, tomatoes, boiled eggs, juice, coffe, tea, cereal, milk, some fruit, salami and 4 different kinds of bread.
If we go again to Amsterdam we would definitely look to stay on this hotel one more time. Keep up the good job guys! :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottbus, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Superb hotel,hotel manager is so friendly and co operative
Read all the terms and conditions first.

Pros:
breakfast is sooper and unlimited
good location
wifi is so fast

cons:
outside food is not allowed



Room Tip: no room tip,everybody is friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

In the first room we had the window was broken. After a night and arguing with the manager I managed to have another in which the toilet fan and television didn't work but at least you opened the window. Hygiene is very approximate. There is bad smell in the rooms, stains on the walls and the carpet is very dusty. The entire structure is noisy. The breakfast is poor: bread, butter and peanut butter. That's it. No jams, no sweets, no fresh fruit ... just a preserved fruit salad. One evening there was a dispute between a customer coming from china that accused the manager of cheating. Later the police came and we heard arguing and the manager screaming till late in the night. The structure is definitely not suitable for children, the stairs are very steep and unsafe, sometimes there are stairs to the entrance of the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Me and 2 friends booked in for 3nights and for all the time we spent in the room it was perfect for are stay. When we arrived we had are passports scanned and where given one key card a wifi password and was told where the lift was. It would of been nice to get 3 room keys but I'm sure if we asked we would of got more. The room was small for 3 people but we did know this when we booked so it wasn't a shock to the system. We had problems with the in room safe but a trip to front desk and a back up key was given without missing a beat. Bath room was small but yet the hole hotel was small so no shock but it was clean and tidy with fresh towels every day. We had a nice view out over the back of the hotel with the sun filling the room with light. But the curtains did keep the sunlight out when needed. Only bad think was nowhere to store you case and to put your cloths in so a weeks stay would be tight. The stare well was steep and small so thank lord it has a lift. Perfect for weekends less than 15min stroll from red light and city centre just off the tram line but off the Main Street so didn't get wakened up with lost drunk people. Coffee shop just 3 doors down if that's your thing supper market no the next corner turning left and on the corner turning right the over the canal about 10 nice places to eat and drink out in the sun. Breakfast was included in are booking it was basic but just what we needed. I would happily go back for a weekend but don't think I would stay a week. Think I would get a apartment or a 4/5 star hotel a little bit out the city and rent a bike. All and all was happy with the hotel don't understand some of the other posts you get what you pay for if you need a big room with 24 hr room service and a spa book it and pay for it!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Downtown Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 25, 1017 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #231 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Downtown Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.