We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEW YEAR BREAK” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Downtown Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 25, 1017 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“NEW YEAR BREAK”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

this was our first stay at hotel downtown but we will def be back the staff were friendly the service good the rooms very clean & breakfast was good value the hotel is just off one of the main squares & very easy to get to by tram its located on a quiet street but not far from the night life of Amsterdam!!!we look forward to our next stay at the hotel downtown

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    14
    11
    1
See reviews for
6
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I really liked the location to this hotel. Far enough away from the crazy hectic Dam Central but close enough to walk back and forth to. Also right next to tram line for even easier access to center. Friendly staff upon every entrance and exit to premises. Room was clean and tidy and also had a TV which a fair amount of channels to enjoy. I didn't get chance to try out the breakfast as we eat out every morning. The room was slightly noisy but only because we could hear doors shutting and people walking around easily, But, this wasn't enough to interrupt our sleep. I would use this hotel again. Thank you for our stay!

Room Tip: twin room beds push together nicely without anyone sliding through the middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

very assistant and very kind the location is close to every where the breakfast was very good i like that the location of the room is in a very quite road the room was very warm you can go anywhere by foot

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmullan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed in this hotel with friends on a mid-week city break. Perfect location, just about 5 minutes from the "buzz" , with good public transport. The receptionist 30/09/13 was a MOST helpful and kindest person I ever met in any hotels! The room wasn`t ready at our arrival so we been offered a coffee, and offered to keep our luggages till we are back (30min). Nice touch too. The room was situated on the first floor, and I have to say been expected much worst by reading the reviews at booking. The corridor was reasonable narrow and loud, but as soon as entered to the room , qouldn`t hear anything from outside. Not a 5* hotel, so dont expect a lastest designer rooms!!! White walls, VERY comfortable clean! beds, small flat screen tv, non-working safety box, few cloth hanger and thats all. Does the job. The en-suit bathroom was spotless clean, I mean: SPOTLESS :) something what you would NOT expect. Nice smell too. Towel are folded to perfection, changed every second day. To say something bad if I can : the carpet in the room need a very good wet-cleaning, but if you like to be in the room in your shoe , dont mind it. After all, if I go back to Amsterdam or any of my friend will, I will definitely recommend that place to stay. Thanks again guys, See you next time!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

It has a central and a friendly and helpful, and the price adjusted. Perhaps, the rooms should be broader or have fewer beds. But the rest makes up for this.
In future visits to Amsterdam will stay in the downtown if possible.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Downtown Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 25, 1017 GA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amsterdam Downtown Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Amsterdam Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downtown Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.