We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant stay at Le Maroxiden” 1 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Le Maroxidien

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Le Maroxidien
Save Saved
You added B&B Le Maroxidien to your Saves list
Prins Hendrikkade, 1011 TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New York
1 review
“Unpleasant stay at Le Maroxiden”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Had to climb over a boat to get to her boat. Told there were steep stairs, but it was a ship's ladder to go down to bedroom! Had to leave early on 3rd morning; she refused to give us breakfast to take away, nor did she help us take our luggage out. I don't recommend this B&B.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
13
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was very enthusiast when I booked this B&B for my man's birthday. Although the boat was very cute, we missed a lot in this B&B. The first and most important thing was the way our host welcomed us in her B&B: there was no welcome at all. We had the impression we bothered her with our presence. No enthusiasm, no friendliness whatsoever. Same the next morning at breakfast. A small 'morning, would you like coffee or tea' and that was it. She disappeared in her private quarters and only came back to open the door again. When we left she took the keys and didn't even botherd to ask us if we had a nice stay. Is it only the cash that matters?!
As said the boat was very nice. Although basics where not present. We didn't have a warm shower, since the other guests showered a little to long. Very little light in the bathrooms, no power-point present in the bathroom, which was very unpleasant to prepare yourself since the room didn't provide a mirror (except for the teeny-tiny one where you had to sit on the floor to take a look). Yes we women like to prepare ourselves in a decent way :)
I understand that it is a boat, but please don't charge that amount of money if you can't be friendly or if basic comfort is not present. Aesthetics are important, but please do think of the comfort of your guests as well. And smile, that costs nothing, but it makes your guest happier.

Room Tip: If you do want to stay here, ask for the smallest room (India) that one is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
España
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We've spent 3 nights at this Boat & Breakfast. The boat is located only few minutes walking to Dam Square, Central Station and many others touristic places however at the same time the area where it is anchored is really quiet and inside the boat you won't hear any kind of noise. Kathrin, the owner, takes care of every single detail, for example a cup of tea/coffee and biscuits was always waiting for us in the afternoon!
The breakfast is amazing, variety of cheese, ham, fresh juice, different kind of jams, honey, coffe, dofferent kind of fruit etc...are served every morning in the kitchen.
If you are planning a visit to the city, this boat is the best option, as you will get the quality of a good hotel and at the same time you will enjoy a completly different experience!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I loved staying at this B&B! It's clean, cosy and comfortable.
And it's so nice to stay at a boat for a change.

+ location was great, very near to the central trainstation and the most important places to visit in Amsterdam
+ delicious breakfast
+ the boat itself: nicely decorated
+ when we had to check out earlier as planned because of maintenance of the boat, the owner compensated this with free bike rent

- while cleaning, the owner moved our make-up... Girls don't like that :) But that's the only thing we can come up with!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Just come back from a very relaxing stay at le maroxidien. My friend and I had a wonderful time from when we first stepped aboard to when left. The rooms were nicely decorated, clean and the bed was unbelievably comfortable (we stayed in the india room). We couldn't believe how quiet the boat was considering how close to the city centre we were, we managed to walk to all the attractions within 20 minutes and didn't have to use a tram once. The breakfasts were delicious, especially the freshly made smoothies each morning. Kathrin was happy to give advice as to the best places to visit and where to go for dinner. I would recommend this b&b to anyone looking for a positive, peaceful experience in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

This place is so great! We really enjoyed staying here, and we have travelled a lot and stayed in a lot of great places so we have pretty high standards.
Kathrin is lovely and so helpful. Her organic breakfast was A-mazing! Fruit and cold meat and cheese, fresh bread and croissants, and homemade smoothy/juice. The boat's decor is really something as well. Kathrin has collected all kinds of great things from her travels like funky cushions and lamps. Yet the boat isn't cluttered or too personal. Everything is very, very clean and the fittings are all new and modern. The bathroom is especially nice - with a mosaic tiled sink. Each room has a theme (there are only three, which is a good number, not too many other guests). So we stayed in 'Mexico' which was suprisingly roomy consdering it is on a boat.
All the little touches were wonderful - like the lovely morrocan tea and dutch biscuits that Kathrin left out for us. Upstairs on deak there are great places to sit and admire the view - inside and out. Also the location is perfect - a few minutes walk from the station (the train goes to the airport) and very near all the bustlings and happenings of the redlight district and china town, without actually being in that area. The other great thing is that the prices are very reasonable - not much more than a hostel to be honest, especially for a private room. Also there are two bikes you can hire for 10 euro a day, so you can explore the town like a local. Could this place be any more perfect?

Room Tip: Our room Mexico was spacious and had a wardrobe in it. It has a big ceiling window which, despite th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed 2 nights while visiting Amsterdam for a concert. The reason because we chose Le Maroxidien was because we heard that Kathrin would serve a lovely organic breakfast in the morning. We did not get dissapointed - the breakfast was fantastic!
Kathrin made us feel very welcome and helped us getting the most out of our stay in Amsterdam. Good location. Clean rooms. Charming.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Le Maroxidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Le Maroxidien

Address: Prins Hendrikkade, 1011 TE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Le Maroxidien - Welcome aboard my organic B&B! Amsterdam - In an absolutely unique setting, nearby Central Station, my B&B LE MAROXIDIEN wil provide you an unforgettable stay: Not only the location and the interior, but also the service will enchant and inspire you. You can stay in the India-, Mexico- or in the Morocco-room. The rooms have a very tasteful interior and are furnished with an eye for details. They are small but fine and have double beds. Next to the rooms there is a Moroccan-style corner where the guests can have tea and coffee. There are two pretty bathrooms with shower and toilet. In the morning a divine organic breakfast will be served in the dining room. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Le Maroxidien, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.