We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortably and close to center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant to your Saves list
Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rembrandtplein 44, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Comfortably and close to center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We booked the room the same day and got a nice price (90€) for a double.
The reception was (strangely) hidden behind the elevator:) but the staff was really nice and helpful. They really made us feel welcome and gave us tips of activities and maps and all sort of advice about the city. The breakfast was good and our short stay was to our full satisfactory.

I think the ordinary price is more like 150-200€, and our judgement might have sound a bit more negative if we had paid that. But overall the breakfast was good and the staff was excellent:)

Room Tip: Ask for room as high as possible. The view over the park is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
27
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lens-Lestang, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Nice new hotel in the center of Amsterdam. Good value, nice suite, lovely bathroom. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice, the location is perfect for visiting Amsterdam but you can hear the people on the Rembrandtplein in your room. Some earplugs fixed that easily though.

Room Tip: You could hear a lot of the street noises in the suite. Earplugs are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

PARKING
Parking service was 21€ pr day + 10€ for pick up service at "B. Smart hotel service - B. smart parking", which is the service that the hotel uses. You have to wait by the car while waiting for the pick up service, because the parking spot in front of the hotel is not legal parking, although we were told by hotel staff, that it would be possible to park in front of the hotel, while we wait.

ROOM
the room was nice and CLEAN but quite small. And the bathroom was relatively small as well. The mattresses were comfortable, but they kept sliding apart creating a large crack in the middle of the bed.

BREAKFAST
The breakfast was okay - with the option of ordering any kind of coffee/tea with breakfast without extra charge. The cappuccino was good :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The location was both the good and the bad thing here, proximity to bars, restaurants and shopping. Saturday night the Rembrandts Plein was a gathering point for scores of people drinking and smoking "stuff" goong on until 04:00 accompanied by a nightclub down the road. Somewhat less noizy Sunday night.

Rooms were very small. Bathrom hardly more than 1m^2 plus shower. The shower did not swallow the water properly so even a short shower caused flooding. We had to ask for extra toilet paper as cleaning had forgotten this.

Breakfast small selection but OK. Nothing more.

When checking out we left the luggage for keeping at the hotel, coming back for the luggage the lock to the luggage room could not be opened and we had to wait 2 hours for the lock-expert to show up. A very frustrating experience as checkin at the airport came closer and closer.

We would not pick this hotel the next time. Staff was polite and helpful but key staff seemed to be on vacation causing things to take time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The Hotel is probably in one if the best possible location , overlooking Rembrandt Square, a very popular party square. The hotel is brand new, so rooms are bit small but very nice and modern. Personal where friendly and accommodating.
Probably , as new hotel they need pay more attention in details. There was no remote control in the room and at the reception, so they brought one after 30 minutes , and then we found the other remote control under the bad together with balls of dust big like a cat! Room cleaning service need to be improved. Breakfast quite bad and pool. I give them 4 stars as I see they trying their best, seems just lack of experience .
Positive experience anyway.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I booked a room at this hotel for 1 night and they have charged my card 3 TIMES for the booking and charged his card as well!!!!! Then they even had the audacity to charge me a cancelation fee for him not showing up to his booking, even though he RANG ME FROM THE HOTEL DESK FOR THE BOOKING NUMBER. SAVE YOUR MONEY AND GO SOMEWHERE ELSE!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!! Shocking service!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My first visit to Amsterdam. I booked originally through Booking.com for 4 adults (friends) and 2 teens (my dtr and her best friend) in a suite and prepaid. Upon arrival, it seemed as though the Hotel, being fairly new, was advertised incorrectly on Booking.com and there was no such thing as a family room for 6 people! We were now only 3 adults and 2 children, so at first the manager, Van (I believe that's how to spell her name), wanted to "squeeze" the fifth person into the 4 person "suite". I was extremely upset.
She made it right and immediately gave us the suite we originally booked with a balcony (very important) double bed, TV/sitting area with fold out comfy bed, and also gave us a second room with double bed free. New, clean, comfy and trendy boutique style.
The regular double rooms are very small, as typical of Europe, so flip for the few extra bucks and get the suite with the Balcony it's sooooooo worth it!

The location is AMAZING! Starbucks downstairs, cafe's, restaurants, shops, banks, transportation (trams), everything at your fingertips and within walking distance. The convenience comes with a little noise outside so if you are looking for TOTAL quiet... don't get a room in the front, although my daughter and her friend said they didn't hear anything, I did.

Van and all of the staff were very helpful and knowledgeable of Amsterdam. I will definitely stay next year again.

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms are really awesome for people watching and just to sit and have a drink but a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Rembrandtplein 44, 1017CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Amsterdam was built in 2014 inside a monumental building on the famous Rembrandtsquare in Amsterdam and designed by VINK, a prestigious designer in Amsterdam. Everything in the hotel is brand new yet still has a vintage touch to it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Amsterdam Hotel-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.