We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Garden View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Stadionkade, 1077VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gratis Musuem Visits
Ranked #54 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Great room for two...clean and comfortable. Nessie's breakfast was a GREAT way to start each morning. It is a shared bathroom but no problems since the toliet and shower are in seperate rooms. The B & B is in a great quiet residental area, the tram #24 will get you almost everywhere you want to go. The connection is only 2 blocks away. If you drive in, park at the coliseum and choose the P + R (park & ride) make sure to get your ticket validated and it'll give you a free ticket for the tram or a rental bike. If you don't go to the guy at the window and get your ticket validated when you park it will cost you 28 EURO instead of 6 EURO a day! We ate at a nearby Italian restaurant, l'Arena on Olympiaplein, and the pizza was good and quick. We will definitely come back next year! We enjoyed talking with Nessie and she was a great help to us in finding great restaurants and places to visit while in town. She was so sweet and made a great 'brunch' for us in celebration of our 16th Anniversary! We can't wait to come back with the kids!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    28
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
83
16
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

The BnB is located in a rather quiet area. It is not central, but just a few minutes walk from the next tramway station (24) to the center; also, it is easy to reach from Schiphol airport (ca. 30 min. via Amsterdam Zuid train-station). For me, the location was ideal, because it is only a 10-15 min walk from the Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam.
The room was big enough, very clean and had a wonderful view to the garden area. I was there during a very cold weather period (-5 °Celsius), but the room was adequately heated and I felt very comfortable.
Nessie is very helpful and hospitable and made me feel welcome. The breakfast was great (almost too much for me). Although bathroom and toilet have to be shared with guests from the second room, they are very clean and I experienced absolutely no problem.
There was nothing which I disliked. I can only recommend this place and will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2010

Hello I stayed at Garden View BnB in Feb. 2010 based on the trip advisor reviews. I went with my husband and 2 hoping-to-be adolescent girls. I found the level of service and attention to detail was first rate. A beautiful, cosy and classy place! I found Nessie very attentive to our particular needs. She has sound local knowledge. Lovely breakfasts too - the fresh bread and croissants were a delight! Only a 10-15 minute short tram ride from the city centre. If you're looking for somewhere that you want to taste local hospitality, outside of the red light district with tranquillity - I'd recommend Garden View! Without hesitation, I'll definitely stay there again the next time I'm in Amsterdam! Jill from London

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onatrio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

Take time to read the other reviews and believe all the possitive comments. The room was charming, the breakfast ample and delicious and the location was very accesible to public transport. Nessis goes out of her way to make her guests feel welcome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We booked into this B&B as it was the closest to the Amsterdam marathon start and finish. We are so happy that we did because Nessie is such a lovely person - warm, hospitable and knowledgeable. The rooms are large, clean and nicely decorated. There are 'rules' on the bathroon and WC walls which are amusing to read, yet sensible too! The location has a good link into the center of town (number 24 tram) and yet is quiet and relaxing. There are some good bars and restaurants within walking distances so don't worry about having to commute into town for food, etc. Also there are some smart shops nearby. We would thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

We stayed with Nessie back in late May and early June for four nights. The location is a bit of a ways from the Zuid metro station, but it's a nice walk through quiet, beautiful neighborhoods. You get excellent detailed instructions from her after you book. Once you're there, you have easy access to a couple trams, and Nessie was excellent at giving directions. She provided us with large breakfasts, with enough left for snacking during the day. Ask Nessie about her recommendations for eating...she's on the spot with all of them. We tried out her suggestions for soup, indonesian (yummmmm), ribs, and steak. The room was comfortable with a poster bed, had a nice small balcony, and we shared the bathroom with the other room. Nessie's a sweetie...we had to leave early the last day, and she packed us a to-go breakfast. Wow! We'll definitely be back next time we're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

My husband and I stayed in this beautiful Garden View B&B from Sep 3rd to Sep 5th.
We just fell in love with this place!! It is located in such a pretty area, and the place is reached so easily by bus or tram. We stayed in 4 different b&bs in our trip. The Garden View was the best! Nessie is such a great host and so charming and sweet person! I loved her laugh:)
When Nessie found out that we had to leave early in the morning around 6:30 am, she packed our delicious picnic breakfast/lunch bag for us and left the lunch bag in front of our room so that we could take it. They were so good! We also loved loved her freshly baked bread. They are unforgettable! Seriously so good! Also, the restaurants that Nessie recommended, Kantjil ,was the best and the De Soepwinkel's Belgium soup was excl lent too! Can't say enough how good this b&b and Nessie's service was!
2 nights were too short to explore Amsterdam. We will definitely visit here again and of course will stay in this place again!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Address: Stadionkade, 1077VS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Smoking only allowed on guest room balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Garden View Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam
Garden View b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.