We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden View Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
Stadionkade, Amsterdam 1077VS, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Gratis Musuem Visits
Ranked #50 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were extremely pleased with our recent vacation in Amsterdam. The Garden View B&B is clean, very comfortable, cute, and quiet. Nessie, our host, has literally thought of everything. We loved the care and detail put into the place that enhanced our experience (ie. clean towels, an abundance of bathroom products to use, fantastic coffee, slippers!). As the other reviews indicate, breakfast is great and quite a bit of food. The location is ideal, as we were just a short tram-ride away from the action in the heart of the city, but just far enough away to have a quiet, peaceful sleep and a relaxing morning. Will definitely return to Amsterdam and will stay here! Great value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    25
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
78
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautifully clean, comfortable beds, quiet and peaceful yet close to transport in and out of the centre of the city, warm and a warm welcome from an justifiably house-proud hostess ["shoes off as you come in please"!], lovely breakfast with great coffee, it was an ideal base for a weekend in Amsterdam. I've really nothing to add to earlier postings, except to endorse most of what has been written.
I was there to meet up with my daughter who's studying in Amsterdam and to celebrate my mother-in-law's 94th birthday; the accommodation met with total approval from both ends of the age spectrum. It's close enough to the centre to enjoy the bustle and the night-life whilst being secluded and tranquil for sleep and lazy mornings.

Room Tip: Both very quiet and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The location was ideal for a weekend away, being close to a Tram Stop. The room was spacious, and comfortable,and the breakfasts were very filling, and beautifully laid out on a tray. We even had a sandwich bag provided so we could make a sandwich for lunch. Nessie was welcoming and helpful, providing a map, and suggestions for cafes & restaurants, as well as ideas for days out. We liked the instructions she emailed so that we could find the apartment very easily, and we enjoyed the walk from the Station. We were even lucky with the weather!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with the comfort of Garden View and the thoughtful, helpful approach of Nessie, our host. The room was delightful and clean and we enjoyed the enclosed garden courtyard below our balcony. The breakfasts were substantial and delicious right up to the take-away breakfast provided for our early-morning departure. On our first evening we walked to the Van Gogh Museum and in subsequent days used the nearby trams to explore further away in town. Nessie provided a great map and marked suggested restaurants and sites -- and the free museum pass was a super benefit! We'd definitely return to Garden View B 'n B on any future trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My roommate and I decided to leave early for our study abroad in Kenya and vacation together in Amsterdam for four days. We stayed here and absolutely LOVED it! Nessie, the hostess, is a wonderful lady who can cook like no other! Breakfast is sprawling and delicious and the amenities are plenty, clean, and work well. The location could not be more perfect. Garden View is just outside the hustle and bustle of the heart of the city and is right near a tram stop. We adored our stay and Nessie was very helpful in planning our excursions and discussing our needs/likes/wants concerning our stay in Amsterdam. And to top it off - she even made us a travel breakfast and called a cab for us when we had an early flight and had to be out at 4:45 am!! I would highly highly recommend staying here - it was so affordable for the high quality experience that we got and I would definitely come here again, should I decide to come back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Garden View B&B for one week in April. This is a small private place with two rooms and shared facilities. It's located on the South of the City, close to the Amsterdam-Zuid station, Vrije University and a large business area from one side and in walking distance to the Museum Quarter from another.
We never felt so much like at home in other places before. Ms. Nessie manages her property in a thoroughly neat way. Everything is perfectly clean. The idea is, that every guest is invited to participate actively in keeping common facilities clean and organized.
There was a good breakfast with freshly baked bread, prepared every morning for us. The only thing we were missing was an access to the kitchen to cook our own lunches and dinners.
For us the main highlight of the B&B were museum cards, which Ms. Nessie provided for the time of the stay. These cards gave free access to all State museums and allowed us to save enormous sum of money, as we were visiting Amsterdam mostly for sightseeing.
We would definitely recommend Garden View B&B for those, who comes to Amsterdam not only because of coffee-shops and red-lights.

Room Tip: Both rooms are with balconies to the garden. One room (to the left from the kitchen) is a bit bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echternach, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Last May, my partner and I spent three nights an the Garden View B&B in Amsterdam. It is very conveniently located, close to the tram-line that takes you to the city center in about 15 minutes that fly by thanks to the nice buildings lining the streets. It´s next to one of the canals, so it´s perfect for a morning run, too.
We found the address easily enough, using the precise directions the hostess, Nessie, had sent us. Still congratulating each other on meeting our estimated arrival time perfectly, we were greeted by Nessie with a stream of complaints about us being late and the final question: "What´s the story now?" We did our best to convince her that we were actually on time and finally managed to be grumpily shown in.The room itself was nice, with the cozy feel of an English B&B, even if the "Garden View" was not quite as exspected. As my partner put it: "There is a garden and there is a view," the latter consisting mainly of a heap of rubbish bags. Nessie did apologize after having checked the email indicating our arrival and gave us some helpful advice on restaurants and museums. Still, our relationship didn´t improve much over the days - we were constantly given the impression that our hostess regarded us as ill-behaved children rather than paying guests. We seemed to be expected to permantly compliment her on her hosting skills, even if these didn´t quite live up to the expectations that Nessie raised by her own demanding manner. For example, she explained the rigid breakfast times being due to her "making her own bread" which was obviously of the shop-bought, pre-baked variety. On another occasion, she asked me - already locked in the bathoom - to let another guest take his shower first, since he was on a businesstrip. Breakfast was late, too. All of that would have been alright if we ourselves had been met in a less patronizing way that got pretty anoying. As it was, we left impressed with the city Amsterdam but quite disappointed with our B&B experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NessieX, Owner at Garden View Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
It is unfortunate these guests seem to have had a less than satisfactory stay. Guests are informed that bread is baked in the morning, and so are served a basket of hot croissants and rolls. Apologies to this guest if the bread did not meet expectations.

Garden View is a small property of 2 guest rooms, each sharing the bathroom and separate toilet. If there is a business guest who must leave early (for meetings etc), the other guest is warned in advance so that consideration can be made.

The owner of the garden, of which we have a view (hence the name), has been reconstructing the layout with new top soil and plants. Half a glance would tell anyone really looking that the "rubbish" bags are full of planting soil. Although I have to say we've been very unlucky with the plants this year - we had a very late start with blooming due to a long, very cold winter. Some how, we managed to kill almost all the plants on the guest room balconies.

And yes, sometimes we get off on the wrong foot with new guests, but we always try to put it right with extra pampering. Most guests seem to appreciate the effort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Garden View Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Garden View Hotel Amsterdam
Garden View b&b
Garden View Hotel
Address: Stadionkade, Amsterdam 1077VS, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden View bed and breakfast is a private residence accommodation in the British tradition. A peaceful haven in a busy city. Cozy, clean, quiet and conveniently located. Ideal for business or pleasure. Breakfast is served in the guest rooms. Smoking only allowed on guest room balcony. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden View Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Garden View Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list