We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Gallery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Gallery
Roomolenstraat 8, Amsterdam 1015, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location and pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed at the B&B gallery when celebrating our anniversary. We stayed at both the room and both are just lovely. Susan was really kind, went out of her way to make us comfortable. She even put all our clothes in the dryer since we got drenched in the rain. I would totally recommend this place. The location could not be better.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sweet home, oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We were also referred to BandB gallery thru Peter. The place is within a 10 minute walk to the Dam and shopping. It is located on 1 of the 9 key canal streets and is most convenient to tour the city center sites.

While Susan doesn't serve a hot breakfast, the kitchen was stocked with everything essential to create your own european style meal, good coffee, bread, cheese and meats.

The 2 rooms we reserved and bathrooms were quiet, pretty, comfortable and clean. They had all the amenities of home except tv (who would want to spend time watching tv while in Amsterdam?). However she did provide a dvd player and a multitude of dvd movies to pick from.

She even had shampoos, toothpaste, lotions, etc. if you forgot yours. She also was kind enough to provide use of her personal laptop if you didn't have one with you.

Susan was an exceptional host that made us feel like the place was home and her suggestions saved us money and time (suggesting best places to park if you are driving, best times to see certain sites like the ann frank house, and best canal tours to use).

The price was reasonable and I would recommend this place to adults who want a nice convenient place to stay for a great price that allows you to feel more like you are seeing the city as it was meant to be seen.

I will definitely look for her next time I am Amsterdam......

  • Liked — close to the center of Amsterdam
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Susan offers a very good facility for the traveller who can't decide what time to rise for breakfast! The B&B does not offer breakfast, but stocks a personal fridge with complimentary snacks, cheese, drinks and yoghurt. There are so many good bakeries in the immediate vicinity, there's no need to offer breakfast!
The location is superb - not in the noisiest part of the city, but very central and with fabulous views of the canals and gorgeous houses. A lounge offered a place to socialise if visiting with friends as we were, kitted out with TV, DVD player, books, music, etc. Very decently priced and would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Liked — Easy lifestyle
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We were referred to the Bed and Breakfast Gallery through Peter Boogaard who runs a very popular (read, always booked!) B & B in Amsterdam. I contacted Susan, an American expat, via email to set up the room. She was EXTREMELY thorough in the information that she gave to us to reach her when we arrived. Because she runs another location as well, she wanted to make sure that we would arrive when we said we would and made it clear her expectations that we wouldn't dilly dally on our way. If you're expecting to be coddled by your innkeeper, Susan is not going to do it. That being said, we spent about 30 minutes chatting with her about Amsterdam, her time traveling the world, and all sorts of tips that she offered us. She was very helpful and knowledgeable. She runs a clean, efficient place and asks that you respect her wishes.

The house is perfectly located. Easy to walk to everything, Jordaan, Anne Frank house, Van Gogh museum, The Dam. We stayed in the sky room which was at the top of the 3rd floor reached by a very narrow staircase. It was bright and airy and we had a private bathroom. She provides a coffee maker and snacks in your in room refrigerator (which you can nosh on during the day or for breakfast - included in the price). The bathroom wasn't huge, but she did have big bottles of shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste, soap, etc. Everything was as she described and there were no surprises.

The whole experience was really lovely, it was a nice, clean place to stay with reasonable prices (I think we paid 108 euros per night). Nothing luxurious, but perfectly suited to the traveler who doesn't need their hand held.

  • Liked — Great location!
  • Disliked — very steep stairs for 3rd floor
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed and Breakfast Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Gallery

Address: Roomolenstraat 8, Amsterdam 1015, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast Gallery to your Saves list