We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Calm 2, a wonderful apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Gallery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Gallery
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Gallery to your Saves list
Roomolenstraat 8, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“City Calm 2, a wonderful apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in early October. Way more space and bang for the buck than a hotel. Bright, comfortable, well-furnished and many amenities. The kitchen has just about every dish, pot, and utensil you need. Susan has four or five self-catering apartments, a couple of which are in this building. A terrific location—10-minute walk from the train station and not far from restaurants, markets and patisseries. A washer and dryer are in the building's entry hall (shared by 3 apartments). Be aware there are narrow, steep stairs.
Splurge on a terrific dinner at De Belhamel, a block away (make a reservation).

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

It was so nice to spend four nights in what felt like our own apartment in the heart of old Amsterdam. The busy city side was within the route to the train station and several trendy neighborhoods were easily accessed on the other side for meals and strolls, making this the perfect location. The studio was clean, quiet and well stocked with conveniences. I would return to this exact same room should I return to Amsterdam and I enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

After looking at the prices for hotels in Amsterdam, my husband and I investigated renting an apartment for our three night stay. We are so glad we did.
City Calm apartment was perfect for us. Susan has it equiped with everything you need. She even had a supply of tea and coffee, as well as some condiments and spices in the kitchen.
The neighbourhood is lovely, and we walked to many of the sights.
Susan gives you very detailed instructions on getting to the apartment and the check in process. Our only problem was that the written instructions told us to ring the bell for the B and B, but there was no indication on the door to signify which bell that was. However, a friendly passerby let us use her phone to call Susan and she quckly opened the door for us.
We were very pleased to see that the pictures on the website show the apartment perfectly, and that we had no nasty surprises. The apartment is comfortable and clean.
After a day of intense touring, we were so happy to come "home" to City Calm.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have a couple of travel requirements that end up being the way we judge where we are staying-value, location, quiet(we tend to sleep in), value, and comfortable bed. BnB Gallery was all of these and more. We got a spacious apartment for what one would pay for a hotel room, and a great hostess who set us up for four great nights in Amsterdam. Savvy travelers need to check out this great place...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This was our first stay in Amsterdam and we sure picked winner. Susan was great to deal with and gave us detailed instruction on how to walk from the Central Train station, about 10 minutes away. We were able to drop our bags in the morning, until the room was ready. Susan gave us helpful tips on how to find the local market, good places to eat and things to see. The apartment suite, was great with room to relax, cooking facilities and a living room to enjoy the relax time. As it is a corner unit there are lots of windows looking down on the cobblestone narrow streets. The suite was stocked with an excellent variety of fruit, cereal, bread, milk, meat and cheese, so having our breakfast when we wanted was an added bonus. We could either walk or take the tram to everything we wanted to see and do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights in December when Christmas markets were on. We picked the perfect apartment re decor comfort and location. Susan the owner will give you an extensive list of places to see and eateries.
This was our first visit to Amsterdam and will stay in Susan's apartment on our next trip.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was the only bed and breakfast place I booked for my 10 day European tour with my college-age daughter who just finished up her semester abroad. We had stayed at hotels in Madrid, Prague, and Munich. This was our final stop and it was perfect. Susan is a wonderful host. She's American which was nice for us, because she could compare Amsterdam places to US places; she understood our preferences. Our room was ample and the split bathrooms (one with a shower and a sink; the other the commode) were handy. On our bedroom "apartment" floor is Susan's kitchen and living room. She provided us with 3 different breakfasts giving us some local flavor; we loved the fruit pancakes! Susan was also great in providing detailed information about restaurants, bike shops, museums, etc. Her place has WIFI, so you can certainly look up stuff too. Although the living room and kitchen can be used by Susan, we didn't have a privacy issue at all. She's a busy lady and as tourists we were out a lot too. We enjoyed picking up some dinner items though and just crashing one or two nights. One does have to walk up the typical narrow, steep stairs that Amsterdam houses have. But what a view we had. Quaint and airy. The place is also easy to find per her directions; just 10 minutes from the Central train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Gallery

Address: Roomolenstraat 8, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.