We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Gallery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Gallery
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast Gallery to your Saves list
Roomolenstraat 8, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I stayed twice with a couple of friends at the canal house. Everything abut the stay was top notch, from the ease of booking, warm reception and sparkling cleaniness of the property, to the large and warm rooms, the perfect canalside location smack in the center of town, and the great canal view from the living room windows.
This is better than any hotel stay in Amsterdam can offer, and I highly recommend it. perfect for up to 6 people (there are 3 large bedrooms) and great value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband and I loved the B&B Gallery. The location was perfect (near Central Station and the canals), the apartmentwas well decorated and Susan was a really gracious host. When we visit Amsterdam in the future, we will most definitely stay in B&B Gallery again. Highly recommended! :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Canalside Charm apartment run by the Bed and Breakfast Gallery for a long weekend in August 2011. It is in an amazing location in the "Nine Streets" area... walking distance to everything! We got there easily by train and then tram from the airport with great directions from BNB. The apartment is spacious and provides a lot of home away from home comfort with little things already on hand such as coffee, sugar, butter, and other condiments/spices/etc. and it is in easy walking distance to a grocery store if you need anything else. I was concerned about the "open" bathroom floor plan, but it was not an issue at all. It is self-contained enough with a big curtain to close things off and it does not make the whole room humid after a shower which was my concern. One thing of note is that the apartment is located above a cafe which can be noisy at times, but is only open for lunch and breakfast so it was not really a problem for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at the B&B Gallery after not being able to book at the Boogard B&B. Susan, who runs the B&B, has a good business model in having Peter Boogard recommended her B&B to the customers he cannot book into his place. The B&B Gallery is a short walk from the train station, and Susun gives very thorough directions so there’s no way to get lost. It is also a short walk to anywhere you might want to go. We easily walked to the Anne Frank House from there. By the way, a side note: get a reservation to the Anne Frank House online before you go!! We did this and waltzed right into the museum, despite the extremely long and slow-moving line! Anyway, we stayed in the double room that is attached to the living room and the kitchen and has a toilet and a shower just outside the door to the bedroom. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, and I think I can safely say that out of all the beds I slept on over a month in Europe, the one at the B&B was the most comfortable. I can also say that I got the best breakfast out of all the places I stayed in Europe as well! On the first morning, Susan cooked us Dutch pancakes, and she had an incredible spread of stuffings and toppings for our pancakes! It was fantastic!! Susan sipped her coffee in the living room and chatted with us as we ate. I’m so used to B&B hosts bringing you your food and leaving you be, but it was nice to chat with her in the morning. After all, this is her house! When we arrived she gave us a map and pointed out multiple restaurants and such for us to eat at. All her recommendations were excellent. We often felt as if even though we only had this one room to ourselves that we kind of had this little flat. From 9PM to 9AM, the flat was ours, and we felt at home. Susan also made sure that despite the fact that we had to leave at 5:15 AM the day we left, she left us bread, meat, cheese, and fruit for breakfast in the fridge. She also made sure to come down the night before to wish us a safe journey home. Overall, I would pass along the name to anyone staying in Amsterdam. Excellent location, food, service, and accommodations!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our weekend in Amsterdam at the B&B Gallery. It's in such a good location, near the train station, but in a quiet street in amongst the canals. Our room was light and airy and the bed was very comfortable. Susan cooked delicious breakfasts for us and it felt like you were staying at a friend's place. We've been to Amsterdam before but will definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

The final leg of a European trip to celebrate 20 years together (or to test our years together). We loved it. Great kitchen fully stocked. Big living room with a wonderful view of four corners of pedestrian traffic. Faintly on the street were the sounds of a piano being played. We had tickets to a concert, but we rather stay and enjoy the room and the views and quiet, sometimes hearing footsteps or a bike.
It was a wonderful end to a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This was our first trip to Amsterdam, and we were very pleased with the accommodations at B&B Gallery. Susan gave very detailed directions from Amsterdam Centraal train station (a short 10 minute walk), so it was practically impossible for us to get lost. We arrived early Sunday morning, and since our room wasn't ready until about noon-1pm, Susan let us leave our luggage while we explored. The B&B is in the heart of the city center, so it makes for easy exploration with access to cafes, restaurants, bars and museums while also being tucked away on a quiet street. The best of both worlds.

To get to the room, we walked up a narrow flight of spiral stairs to a 2nd floor flat. The room was situated in the flat with access to a private bath and a kitchen and den which we shared with Susan (her private quarters are on the 3rd floor). The bedroom was a little small. There's enough room for a queen size bed, a small dresser, coat hanger, and a couple of narrow bedside tables and not a whole lot else. That was fine for us, because we didn't have too many bags, but it's something you may need to consider. As for the bed, it was very comfortable with lots of pillows. Given the quiet street and the comfy bed, we slept great.

The entire flat was completely ours from 9pm till 9am every day. Susan would come in in the morning and chat with us as we prepared our breakfast and she prepared hers. She stocks the kitchen with everything you need for a basic breakfast: meats, cheeses, breads, jellies, coffee, milk, etc, and gave us the option to take care of ourselves, which we took her up on, since we can be slow starters. She also offered to prepare a pancake breakfast for us on our last morning, but we wanted to get an early start for the airport, so instead we just opted for something simpler.

Susan's a very warm person and regaled us with her stories of the expat's life in Amsterdam. She even gave us access to a laptop with wifi, which we used quite a bit.

All in all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Gallery

Address: Roomolenstraat 8, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.