We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay! Perfect end to our trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Gallery

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Gallery
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Gallery to your Saves list
Roomolenstraat 8, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Sacramento, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay! Perfect end to our trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We stayed at the B&B Gallery after not being able to book at the Boogard B&B. Susan, who runs the B&B, has a good business model in having Peter Boogard recommended her B&B to the customers he cannot book into his place. The B&B Gallery is a short walk from the train station, and Susun gives very thorough directions so there’s no way to get lost. It is also a short walk to anywhere you might want to go. We easily walked to the Anne Frank House from there. By the way, a side note: get a reservation to the Anne Frank House online before you go!! We did this and waltzed right into the museum, despite the extremely long and slow-moving line! Anyway, we stayed in the double room that is attached to the living room and the kitchen and has a toilet and a shower just outside the door to the bedroom. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here, and I think I can safely say that out of all the beds I slept on over a month in Europe, the one at the B&B was the most comfortable. I can also say that I got the best breakfast out of all the places I stayed in Europe as well! On the first morning, Susan cooked us Dutch pancakes, and she had an incredible spread of stuffings and toppings for our pancakes! It was fantastic!! Susan sipped her coffee in the living room and chatted with us as we ate. I’m so used to B&B hosts bringing you your food and leaving you be, but it was nice to chat with her in the morning. After all, this is her house! When we arrived she gave us a map and pointed out multiple restaurants and such for us to eat at. All her recommendations were excellent. We often felt as if even though we only had this one room to ourselves that we kind of had this little flat. From 9PM to 9AM, the flat was ours, and we felt at home. Susan also made sure that despite the fact that we had to leave at 5:15 AM the day we left, she left us bread, meat, cheese, and fruit for breakfast in the fridge. She also made sure to come down the night before to wish us a safe journey home. Overall, I would pass along the name to anyone staying in Amsterdam. Excellent location, food, service, and accommodations!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our weekend in Amsterdam at the B&B Gallery. It's in such a good location, near the train station, but in a quiet street in amongst the canals. Our room was light and airy and the bed was very comfortable. Susan cooked delicious breakfasts for us and it felt like you were staying at a friend's place. We've been to Amsterdam before but will definitely stay here again next time.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

The final leg of a European trip to celebrate 20 years together (or to test our years together). We loved it. Great kitchen fully stocked. Big living room with a wonderful view of four corners of pedestrian traffic. Faintly on the street were the sounds of a piano being played. We had tickets to a concert, but we rather stay and enjoy the room and the views and quiet, sometimes hearing footsteps or a bike.
It was a wonderful end to a fantastic trip.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

This was our first trip to Amsterdam, and we were very pleased with the accommodations at B&B Gallery. Susan gave very detailed directions from Amsterdam Centraal train station (a short 10 minute walk), so it was practically impossible for us to get lost. We arrived early Sunday morning, and since our room wasn't ready until about noon-1pm, Susan let us leave our luggage while we explored. The B&B is in the heart of the city center, so it makes for easy exploration with access to cafes, restaurants, bars and museums while also being tucked away on a quiet street. The best of both worlds.

To get to the room, we walked up a narrow flight of spiral stairs to a 2nd floor flat. The room was situated in the flat with access to a private bath and a kitchen and den which we shared with Susan (her private quarters are on the 3rd floor). The bedroom was a little small. There's enough room for a queen size bed, a small dresser, coat hanger, and a couple of narrow bedside tables and not a whole lot else. That was fine for us, because we didn't have too many bags, but it's something you may need to consider. As for the bed, it was very comfortable with lots of pillows. Given the quiet street and the comfy bed, we slept great.

The entire flat was completely ours from 9pm till 9am every day. Susan would come in in the morning and chat with us as we prepared our breakfast and she prepared hers. She stocks the kitchen with everything you need for a basic breakfast: meats, cheeses, breads, jellies, coffee, milk, etc, and gave us the option to take care of ourselves, which we took her up on, since we can be slow starters. She also offered to prepare a pancake breakfast for us on our last morning, but we wanted to get an early start for the airport, so instead we just opted for something simpler.

Susan's a very warm person and regaled us with her stories of the expat's life in Amsterdam. She even gave us access to a laptop with wifi, which we used quite a bit.

All in all, a positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2009

We stayed at the B&B gallery when celebrating our anniversary. We stayed at both the room and both are just lovely. Susan was really kind, went out of her way to make us comfortable. She even put all our clothes in the dryer since we got drenched in the rain. I would totally recommend this place. The location could not be better.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweet home, oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We were also referred to BandB gallery thru Peter. The place is within a 10 minute walk to the Dam and shopping. It is located on 1 of the 9 key canal streets and is most convenient to tour the city center sites.

While Susan doesn't serve a hot breakfast, the kitchen was stocked with everything essential to create your own european style meal, good coffee, bread, cheese and meats.

The 2 rooms we reserved and bathrooms were quiet, pretty, comfortable and clean. They had all the amenities of home except tv (who would want to spend time watching tv while in Amsterdam?). However she did provide a dvd player and a multitude of dvd movies to pick from.

She even had shampoos, toothpaste, lotions, etc. if you forgot yours. She also was kind enough to provide use of her personal laptop if you didn't have one with you.

Susan was an exceptional host that made us feel like the place was home and her suggestions saved us money and time (suggesting best places to park if you are driving, best times to see certain sites like the ann frank house, and best canal tours to use).

The price was reasonable and I would recommend this place to adults who want a nice convenient place to stay for a great price that allows you to feel more like you are seeing the city as it was meant to be seen.

I will definitely look for her next time I am Amsterdam......

  • Liked — close to the center of Amsterdam
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothbury
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

Susan offers a very good facility for the traveller who can't decide what time to rise for breakfast! The B&B does not offer breakfast, but stocks a personal fridge with complimentary snacks, cheese, drinks and yoghurt. There are so many good bakeries in the immediate vicinity, there's no need to offer breakfast!
The location is superb - not in the noisiest part of the city, but very central and with fabulous views of the canals and gorgeous houses. A lounge offered a place to socialise if visiting with friends as we were, kitted out with TV, DVD player, books, music, etc. Very decently priced and would definitely recommend staying there.

  • Liked — Easy lifestyle
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Gallery

Address: Roomolenstraat 8, 1015 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.