We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique and Fun Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience

House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience
Paulus Potterstraat 14, 1070 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31205708575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$47*
and up
Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #16 of 246 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Educational Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Unique and Fun Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I went here on recommendation of a colleague at work and was so glad I did. The experience was very fun and definitely unique compared to other attractions in Amsterdam. The cocktail sampling and smelling of different scents that affect your taste was super interesting. The bartenders here are fun, knowledgable and make the entire experience worthwhile. A must do while in Amsterdam!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    361
    109
    32
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenbank, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really fun and interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The whole experience was a blast, but I came away having learned some new things as well. The two flair bartenders at the end of the tour were very entertaining and rather funny. A really great way to have spent an afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You can't beat a museum that includes cocktails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This felt like a hidden gem, visiting in the middle of July yet there was probably a maximum of 30 people visiting at the same time as us. It was great had the opportunity to smell all of the amazing samples available. By far the best part in the complementary cocktail and shots at the end.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“favourite fun museum in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

For over 18s only. The staff were very welcoming we really enjoyed this interactive experience and the cocktails and tasters at the end of the tour. We had great fun and worth the money additional cocktails were only 5 euros

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bols-tastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We loved this place! We nearly didn't go but I'm so glad we changed our minds. The museum part of the visit is really well put together - very stylish and interactive. The bar area is brilliant and we really enjoyed picking our cocktail and two liqueurs (all included in the entry free). You could have another cocktail for a special discount price of 5 euros - would have been rude not to! Staff were very friendly and we had a little spend in the shop afterwards. Just wish it was open later on weekdays - the early closing at 6.30pm meant it was a squash to get it in.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.