We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favourite fun museum in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience

House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience
Paulus Potterstraat 14, 1071 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 570 8575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$68*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #51 of 332 Activities in Amsterdam
Type: Classes/Workshops, Distilleries, Food & Drink, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice.
Scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“favourite fun museum in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

For over 18s only. The staff were very welcoming we really enjoyed this interactive experience and the cocktails and tasters at the end of the tour. We had great fun and worth the money additional cocktails were only 5 euros

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    377
    114
    32
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Bols-tastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We loved this place! We nearly didn't go but I'm so glad we changed our minds. The museum part of the visit is really well put together - very stylish and interactive. The bar area is brilliant and we really enjoyed picking our cocktail and two liqueurs (all included in the entry free). You could have another cocktail for a special discount price of 5 euros - would have been rude not to! Staff were very friendly and we had a little spend in the shop afterwards. Just wish it was open later on weekdays - the early closing at 6.30pm meant it was a squash to get it in.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“SHORT AND SWEET!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Perfectly suituated in the museum quarter just 5 minutes walk from vondel park if you know the area well! It's opposite the van gough museum!

The whole bols experience (Museum type side to it) is very short but also interactive.
There are video's, tastes and smells and some rather quirky experiments within! You are also free to take pictures (Just like ours) not that there's a lot to capture!

The tour is a little expensive for what you actually get however you then come to realise that the cocktail and two shots at the end of it all actually are really good value!

The bar is fantastic though the pictures are mis-leading as the bar is tiny! However having said that the wait for your drinks is fairly small and the staff here are some of the best at what they do! Extra drink tokens were on offer for just 5Euro when we visited which is great value when you consider a full cocktail costs around £4.17!

Personally we managed to get in the bols experience and out to the bar in around 20 minutes which took us a little by suprise. It's definately worth a visit if you like bols, cocktails or just want something fun to do!

Visit suitable for everyone over the age of 18! I didn't see any lift's for disabled access because the main entrance is some steep steps. However there could be a lift hidden away somewhere.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Many tourists don't know this gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Probably one of the best museums I have ever visited. Interesting, fun and inspiring.
Disappointed by the long line of people in front of the Van Gogh Museum, we jumped into this friendly-looking building. The ticket may seem expensive (14,50 euros) but a drink and a couple of shots from the Bols selection are included. I learned so much from the visit attractions, for example that I don't pay enough attention to smells and scents: the visitor is challenged to identify a high number of different essences, from the green banana to the grape fruit. Even the various ingredients of the famous Genever are presented and explained. A number of objects related to history, production and marketing of the company is shown with a great taste. And of course a very satisfying part of the tour, as a fan, is the drinking experience: you can browse among various recipes, choose yours and drink a well deserved cocktail at the bar.
Also, never underestimate the power of the museum shop (try guess what's its proposal). Absolutely recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“interesting & informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Not being a big fan of cocktails I wasn't really up for this visit - the tour was very interesting providing a history of bols - there is an interactive room for you to try and guess the flavours - at the end there is an opportunity to design your own cocktail - the barman was very knowledgeable and keen to chat - overall a good experience

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.