We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tasting Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience

House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience
Paulus Potterstraat 14, 1070 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31205708575
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #20 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Tasting Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

A must try is the BOLS 2014 Cocktail. You also receive two shots of their multiple flavors. My favorite is the blue Curacao. It tastes like orange.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    339
    103
    31
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Proost! (Cheers!)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I actually visited in August 2012. I was not at all familiar with the brand BOLS nor the entire product of "genever" before this visit. In the end, I learned a lot and found it very interesting that genever was the predecessor to gin which was invented in the UK. I became a quick fan of BOLS Jonge Genever which had a really nice grain like taste, quite different from the Christmas tree taste of gin. I also learned that BOLS is very popular worldwide with bartenders due to the shape of the bottles, which resemble juggling pins, don't you think? I'm sure this makes them easier to manipulate for performance mixology. I was surprised with all the flavors of schnapps and liqueurs they produce, but the oddest one and my new favorite was their Natural Joghurt Liqueur which was creamy, nice slight sweet vanilla background, 15% alcohol content and will not curdle. I am so happy this can now be bought in the USA! If you haven't tried this product and have a chance to, you owe it to yourself to try a sample and maybe you'll be as surprised as I was. Overall, nice self-guided tour with tasting at the end. Discounted rates were given on the day that the Van Gogh Museum was free admission; Friday evening I believe.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
163 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Such a great thing to do in A-dam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My group of 5 friends really liked the Bols Experience! It is so different from anything I have ever done. It is a feast for the senses and they try to have something referring to each sense which makes it quite interesting. It ends in a trip to the Bols bar for a comlimentary drink (additional available for purchase of course!). IMPORTANT - Do NOT eat a brownie or other A-dam specialty before going to this, you will probably regert it.......

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Nice little museum for adults. The cocktails and tastings were delicious and helped us order Bols in the rest of the city.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome!! Very informative & entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Enjoyed free drinks & self bar tending video!! Loved the display of fragrance & taste test . Superb location.. Don't miss this attraction

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.