We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience

House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience
Paulus Potterstraat 14, 1071 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 570 8575
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$56*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice. Learn even more about Cocktails, Bols Liqueurs and Genevers and book a Tasting or a (private) event like a Cocktail Party or Cocktail Workshops.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

EUR 74,- for 5 including a cocktail and two shots. Fair enough, the cocktail was great and the bartender was entertaining. However, the experience as a whole was not worth the money and I would - dare I say it - recommend the Heineken Experience instead.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    406
    116
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Divine cocktail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a place that takes your senses on a roller skate ride . You are taken on a quick history tour of the brand and then given a chance to test your ability to smell and taste . You get to choose. your own cocktail and also get 2 free shooters . If you are traveling with teenagers , this place is a Must visit - the strobe lightening and friendly bartenders - flashy lights - confirms why Amsterdam is a party capital .

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Loved every minute of it, a bit surreal at times. Very nicely put together and the cocktails are fab. The shop is nice as well, the genever is lovely but so different from london gin.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Originally we weren't really sure whether to go but decided to anyway since it was across the road from the Van Gogh Museum. We were so glad that we went because it was so much fun! It really is an experience for the senses.. You get a free cocktail of your choice as well as shots. I had the Toblerone cocktail and my partner had the Strawberry Cheesecake.. I loved the Toblerone and finished it too quickly. A fun time indeed!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ok not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was ok, a bit pricey, and no real tour to speak of. The cocktails were awesome though but I don't think you would be missing out if you didn't go

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.