We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy cocktails!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience

House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience
Paulus Potterstraat 14, 1071 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 570 8575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$56*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #49 of 340 Activities in Amsterdam
Type: Classes & workshops, Bar, club & pub tours, Nightlife, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Yummy cocktails!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This was a fun activity. While it's quite a short tour, things like the perfume room were really interesting. The free cocktails at the end were definitely the best part!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    386
    114
    32
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was a nice surprise to our trip to Amsterdam. We went here as we had done most of things we wanted to and so thought we'd give House of Bols a visit.

The tour is all very interesting and interactive, but the free cocktails and watching the professional bartenders do their work was the real treat.

Would definitely recommend!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayhappydays
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love cocktails, then visit here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Recommendation from friends prior to arriving so we had to visit. Made it our first stop on New Year's Eve and although the "museum" part of it is not that big/long that is a good thing. It is interactive so you get to play some guessing games while learning along the way however the best part is obviously picking and drinking your free cocktail at the end along with the 2 shots. Take the advice of the bar staff though after all they are experts!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Interesting Look at Bols Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was an unexpected stop in our trip around Amsterdam. I must say it was a really interesting history. The interactive stuff was really good and was entertained by it all. Got a few drinks at the end of it which were really nice.
The price was a little bit high but at the end of the we both enjoyed ourselves.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Good but so small!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

When you arrive at the House of Bols the building looks grand and impressive, but the exhibition section is just a few rooms on the basement level. Admittedly the smell and taste interactive displays are fun and entertaining, but only expect to be entertained for about half an hour.

Having been to the Guinness factory in Dublin before I was hoping for...more? Maybe a few dummy cocktail bottles to practice your skills? Or a room on how to be a bartender?

I really enjoyed my cocktail at the end and the mirrored bar was good fun. Maybe try and catch a cocktail making session...saw it advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.