We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Look at Bols Cocktails” 4 of 5 stars
Review of House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience

House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience
Paulus Potterstraat 14, 1071 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31205708575
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$46*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #16 of 247 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Educational Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Interesting Look at Bols Cocktails”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This was an unexpected stop in our trip around Amsterdam. I must say it was a really interesting history. The interactive stuff was really good and was entertained by it all. Got a few drinks at the end of it which were really nice.
The price was a little bit high but at the end of the we both enjoyed ourselves.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    369
    112
    32
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good but so small!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

When you arrive at the House of Bols the building looks grand and impressive, but the exhibition section is just a few rooms on the basement level. Admittedly the smell and taste interactive displays are fun and entertaining, but only expect to be entertained for about half an hour.

Having been to the Guinness factory in Dublin before I was hoping for...more? Maybe a few dummy cocktail bottles to practice your skills? Or a room on how to be a bartender?

I really enjoyed my cocktail at the end and the mirrored bar was good fun. Maybe try and catch a cocktail making session...saw it advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway Park, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Ah, Bols”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Been here before.
This time, the bartender made me a cocktail with Elderflower.
Simply amazing.
These bartenders are more like Chemists.
Very talented mixologists.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I did not know what to expect when someone referred me to the House of Bols, but I decided to give it a try. This place is in a small part a museum about the founding of the liquors and it's founder, but it is more a place that teaches you about your senses and how the help us with how we experience everything.

Also, at the end there is a great bar where you get to try the liquors and several cocktails. Staff was very friendly and will go back next time I am in Amsterdam.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

There were some cool things in this exhibit. They go over the history of the liquor and how it predates gin. It was a very informative place, but doesn't have much repeat visit value. The cocktails at the end were pretty good though.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.