We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience
Paulus Potterstraat 14, 1071 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
+31 20 570 8575
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$54*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The House of Bols Cocktail & Genever Experience (located opposite the Van Gogh Museum) offers a truly interactive experience into the world of cocktails and the exciting bartending culture, as well as a glimpse into the history of the world's oldest distilled brand: Bols Amsterdam 1575. A visit to the House of Bols is a spectacular journey for all your senses in which you learn how to taste a delicious cocktail of your choice.
Rockaway Park, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ah, Bols”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Been here before.
This time, the bartender made me a cocktail with Elderflower.
Simply amazing.
These bartenders are more like Chemists.
Very talented mixologists.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    404
    115
    33
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Recommend to anyone visiting Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I did not know what to expect when someone referred me to the House of Bols, but I decided to give it a try. This place is in a small part a museum about the founding of the liquors and it's founder, but it is more a place that teaches you about your senses and how the help us with how we experience everything.

Also, at the end there is a great bar where you get to try the liquors and several cocktails. Staff was very friendly and will go back next time I am in Amsterdam.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

There were some cool things in this exhibit. They go over the history of the liquor and how it predates gin. It was a very informative place, but doesn't have much repeat visit value. The cocktails at the end were pretty good though.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“nice way to kill an hour when its raining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Whilst the "museum" part isn't exactly huge (but good fun nonetheless), the real highlight is of course the cocktails and Bols shots that are part of the entry fee. When we went there was a 10% discount from the minicards that you can pick up from many hotels too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“This is fun.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If it hadn't been pouring with rain, we wouldn't have visited. Bols has an interesting history, the games were fun, the cocktails great

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage House of Bols, the Cocktail & Genever Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.