We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cafe at this museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Bags and Purses

Museum of Bags and Purses
Herengracht 573, 1017 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
31-0-20-524-6452
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$62*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #27 of 405 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 4000 bags, purses, trunks, pouches, cases and accessories dating from the late Middle Ages until today, the Museum of Bags and Purses in Amsterdam is the largest of its kind in the world.
Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe at this museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The collection of bags and purses was OK but the highlight of our visit here was a stop-off at the cafe. Very comfortable, and it looked like the afternoon tea was delicious!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super fun and quirky museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I loved this little gem! It was so fun to see all the old bags and purses and being a fan-collector, I was very pleased to see a few old fans as well. Well worth the entry price and it's right in the city centre, so if you are on a busy sightseeing schedule, you can make a quick visit.

Thanks for a lovely visit :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quick and quirky”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A very fun museum to do when you just arrive in Amsterdam and are jet lagged but do not want to nap. We took our three girls there right after we arrived from the US ( east coast) and we really enjoyed it and it helped to pass the time. It is a visual museum with lots of color, sparkle and texture. It is located in an old building and it was an adventure just going through the house.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maherx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“my dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

this place could have been invented just for me if you love handbags this is the place for you there is a fascinating collection of bags through the ages, a great shop and a superb tearoom with a beautiful selection of teas and cakes of a very high standard

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karenza777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always a good place to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Went there for the 4th time and still enjoyed it. Always discover something new. Beautiful building, nice small museum and a lovely place to have a high tea. Taken lots of friends here and they always love it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaatje57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Bags and Purses also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Bags and Purses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing