We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely museum if this is your thing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Bags and Purses (Tassenmuseum Hendrikje)

Museum of Bags and Purses (Tassenmuseum Hendrikje)
., 1017 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
31-0-20-524-6452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: With a collection of more than 4000 bags, purses, trunks, pouches, cases and accessories dating from the late Middle Ages until today, the Museum of Bags and Purses in Amsterdam is the largest of its kind in the world.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely museum if this is your thing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

This museum is obviously not going to be exciting for everyone. But if you are into handbags and other accessories, it's a nice place to spend a few hours. One of the coolest things about it is that it's inside a canal house, so it's fun to take a peek at how life used to be for Amsterdam's upper class. The exhibits are pretty interesting and range from all different time periods. There's also a pretty little garden out back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    213
    60
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great fun visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This museum was on the list for the IamAmsterdam city card. We weren't sure what to expect but found a really interesting afternoon here. The collection of handbags of all ages is delightful and beautifully presented. There is also a Barbie exhibition with a large number of Barbie outfits.

The tea room was an unexpected surprise and would also be ideal for a hen party trip. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there is a lovely view out over the gardens.

Would thoroughly recommend this museum.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Engalnd
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Unique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We did not know of this little gem until we passed by on the way to dinner from the great Banks Mansion hotel. We went the following day and the house, setting and sheer beautiful contents were were simply special. My wife was in bag heaven...

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not to be missed for fans of handbags”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I had never heard of this museum until my visit to Amsterdam, but once I heard about it, it was immediately added to my agenda as I am a fan of handbags of all kinds. Lots of beautiful handiwork. As a plus, there is a lovely tea room where you can sit and relax.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Museum in Amsterdam!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stunning display of bags and purses, well lit and informatively described. Also a gorgeous coffee shop and a shop packed with individually designed and locally produced bags and other gifts.It is really refreshing to find such a superior quality museum of the costume genre.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Bags and Purses (Tassenmuseum Hendrikje) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Bags and Purses (Tassenmuseum Hendrikje)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Bags and Purses (Tassenmuseum Hendrikje), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.