We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great museum to visit in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Bags and Purses

Museum of Bags and Purses
Herengracht 573, 1017 CD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
31-0-20-524-6452
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 543 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a collection of more than 4000 bags, purses, trunks, pouches, cases and accessories dating from the late Middle Ages until today, the Museum of Bags and Purses in Amsterdam is the largest of its kind in the world.
Chester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great museum to visit in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We weren't sure whether to visit as we feared it may be one of these museums that you are in and out in 5 minutes, but after reading the reviews decided to give it a go. It is easy to find and not far from the nearest tram station. The staff are all very friendly and chatted to us for a while about where we were from and on the way out what we thought of the museum. It was a lot bigger than I expected it to be and there weren't many other people in there as we went on a Monday morning, so there was plenty of time to look and the exhibits and read all the information without being rushed.

There is just the right amount of information about each exhibit and everything is layed out in chronological order so it is easy to see the progression. We also went to the cafe for a coffee and cake and the girl who served us in there was also very friendly and the food was lovely and arrived quickly.

We were probably in there about an hour and a half in total so it is perfect if you are limited on time. I would recommend a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    453
    284
    75
    17
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Just near Rembrandtplein and you get free entry as part of the Iamsterdam card, this is such a quirky and girly-fun thing to do. We spent just under 90mins wandering around marvelling at the creativity and ingenuity of 'handbags' over the decades. Leave your boyfriend/husband to drink Heineken and spend a little she-time here.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A unique experience, DON'T MISS IT !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

From the moment I went in I did not want to leave! And if you love purses like I do, you can make a day trip in the museum. There is a complete history of bags and purses, and some luggage, starting in the XVI century until now, different shapes and materials ( tortoiseshells, silver mesh, lucite, metal...)
The house is a very beautiful XVII century canal house with painted ceilings, and used to be the residence of an Amsterdam Mayor. You can have lunch or tea in the lovely café overlooking a garden! They also have a nice store...
A unique experience for everyone !!!! Don't miss it !!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love Bags!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Can't help it forced my husband and daughter to visit this museum with me not a regret. This is a three story building with easy access to wheel chairs since it have elevators that take you every to floor .They have short videos easy to follow even if you are fascinated looking around!!! I enjoyed every floor with its beautiful and elegant display which helps me to imagine how bags looked. Some designs are gorgeous!!! Don't miss this beautiful place. It takes from 1 hr to 1 1/2 to complete this visit. The staff if really friendly. I will definitely come back is so much fun !!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Handbag lovers, arm candy alert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Dragged my family and best friend's family in to visit, did not dissapoint.

Beatiful collection of handbags, well curated and worth a visit.

Got to drool over a few vintage gems and learned about the history of handbags and purses.
Not a massive collection and quite a petite museum but if you are visiting Amsterdam and have a handbag fetish like yours truly you can always combine pleasure and culture!
My only regret is not being the owner of said place.

Included in the Museumkaart so you can always convince your significant other that you are just trying to get value for money out of it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Bags and Purses also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum of Bags and Purses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Bags and Purses, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.