We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place to Sleep” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amigo Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amigo Hotel to your Saves list
Amigo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amigo Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 19, 1018 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #298 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kingston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Place to Sleep”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

It wasn't the best hostel I have stayed in, but it wasn't too expensive. It's across the street from a tram stop and has a grocery store around the corner. It's also about a 20 minute walk from the train station that has a train to the airport. The front desk staff was moderately helpful. The worst thing was the "smoking area" right at the top of the steps. You have to climb over smokers when you are trying to get back. Tiny bathroom, but the shower had excellent water pressure. Our double room was pretty small but the beds were surprisingly comfortable. It did the job, but I don't think I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor will reek of pot and can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    2
    3
    5
    11
See reviews for
2
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

very first hostel I've stayed at and its very cheap
its not too far from the city center and the staff was very helpful with explaining how to get to important spots in the city.the room was ok nothing special just bunk beds and a sink. you did have to share the bathroom with the people on the floor you were staying at so that was something to deal with. when we got there it was filled with many people our age so making friends is easy. you can buy drinks and small snack in there as well. we only stayed for one night so it was good for just a place to rest your head

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is hands down the worse hostel I have ever stayed at. The bathroom is disgusting and dorm room looks like they crammed as many beds as they possible into a tiny room. As they do not advertise the correct price on the reservation website because even after you day the "deposit" they still charge you for deposit again and the remainder of the payment. I would only recommend staying here if you absolutely have to stay some where, other then that I would stay outside.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The place is bad, the showers are very small and also the toilettes, there is no place to dress and the rooms are not very clean, the good thing is that it's really near from a tram station that would allow you to go to the center of the city or anywhere else really quick but that's everything, I would only recommend it as the last option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Amazing little hostel not too far from the centre of the city.
The service is great, the guys who work there have positive, friendly attitudes!
Rooms are very clean, beds are comfortable, bedding is changed daily.
I'd recommend this place for anyone travelling to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The worst place I have ever seen in my life. it is definitely not a hotel, and can't even be called a hostel. I had to book here in 2006 only because all the other budget hotels in Amsterdam were fully booked and I could not pay more than 100 euros at that moment for a decent hotel. I had a bed in a dormitory room and it was so small that there were only 2 double-deck beds and one chair inside. The window was blocked and after few minutes all together in the room (4 people) it was impossible to breathe. The bathroom was very very dirty and very small, the shower didn't have any curtain or anything, when you were washing yourself the water was falling on the wc and anything around. When you opened the door to the room the water went to the floor of the room. The bathroom was full of hair, stain, etc. Seemed that it hasn't been cleaned for years. The breakfast was non-existant - anyone could take something from the fridge but at the end that was only a very cheap butter (big piece from supermarket) and cold milk and some old tastless marmalade. Anyone was entering in the pot with his own knife and it was not really pleasant. In general the place seemed a rat hole and outside there was no even a sign so hard to find. Very dirty, very noisy and the dormitory rooms are mixed so they put together girls with men, for example I (a 20-year old girl) had to stay with 3 men in the same room. Never again and even if so economic it's better to look for something else. The only advantage was the location, nice area, not central, but well connected.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Worst place I've ever been to. Really expensive, rude receptionist, dirty rooms. Do not go there please! We have been waiting for our room for more than one hour and then when we finally got in it was already occupied!! We had to split in two different rooms and the other guys that were with us didn't even have the bathroom nor a shower on their floor

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amigo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amigo Hotel

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 19, 1018 SZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amigo Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Amigo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amigo Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amigo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.