We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Accommodation but HORRIBLE staff member” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aivengo Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Aivengo Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Aivengo Youth Hostel
Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cheap Accommodation but HORRIBLE staff member”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here two nights before new years because the price was right. Decent, clean accommodations but one staff member was HORRIBLE to my girlfriend and I. He accused us of "stealing" a bed because my girlfriend arrived at 6 am, said she was meeting me here and that she will be checking in once she was allowed to check in for the night, then went and took a nap with me for an hour to try to get over her jet lag. The staff member came into the room and started waking up other guests looking for my girlfriend. We told him we were the ones he was looking for and he started to yell at us saying that we "stole" the bed. He made a big scene waking everyone up and then told us to come meet him in the front. We went up to try to talk with him but he continued to just yell at us saying over and over that we were stealing his property. He said my girlfriend had to pay for the whole night before for the single hour of sleep even though he knew we were already going to be staying there that night. What should have been just an early check in and a simple conversation turned into a big scene. I have had great experiences with every hostel I've stayed at so I was shocked by the way he handled this. I will NEVER stay here again and recommend that you find another place.

Room Tip: Finda another hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serge L, Manager at Aivengo Youth Hostel, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you for your review. You were staying in our hostel and paid for two beds. Next night you took just one bed and were told that its not possible to share it. However your girlfriend came back later and simply stayed there with you. Yes, it is stealing, because other travellers paid for theirs beds. Things like 'screaming' etc never happened. But thanx anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
5
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Aivengo. The location is perfect, close to the canals and Jordaan which is a lovely area and just a few minutes away from Dam. I stayed in a room with ten beds on the 4th floor and the ambience between all the other guest was friendly and respectful. Good size lockers free of charge and very comfortable beds. Lots of hot water in the shower and the ability to prepare food in the kitchen (but eating out is more fun). It is a simple hostel but has all the basic commodities one needs. The girl in the reception was very serviceminded.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Having never stayed in a hostel before this one Deffinatly put me at easy. We had a 10 bed female dorm and it was really nice spacious, had our own little kitchen which was really handy. Location was really good. I plan to come back in October :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recanati, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

we found the hostel very easily since it's just a few hundreds meters away from Amsterdam's central station. our room was not ready yet, but they kindly let us leave our luggage close to the main desk, even if we found them to be unattended when we got back. but for this issue, what left us without words (besides the six floors without lifter we got to do) is the amazingness of the double room with private bathroom we chose. it's a huge place with a bed and two sofas, with a small kitchen and a bathroom with a bath thub. fast and easy check-out just getting our 10 euros back for the deposit of the keys. you must go there if you are a couple spending a few days in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: choose a double room with private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Thought it was a bit over priced for what we got. If you get the four bed room you are just down the road from the actual hostel which is actually quite nice, although you don't meet any other people. All very clean and wifi was good. Sure there are better hostels around

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The position of this hostel was really good, especially if you come in amsterdam by train.
But this is an hostel only for leave the bag, because if you want to sleep there, forget it. I think that a prison is more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is quite simply the least inviting place I have ever stayed in, including three of Amsterdam's other budget hostels. That is to say I had low expectations but was still let down.

Why? There is literally nowhere to relax (the "reception" has two 2-seat couches and 2 stools by PCs for the 40 guests) and the rooms are freezing, and lit up like The Place Where There Is No Darkness in 1984.

Everything is clean, don't get me wrong, but that doesn't really cut it - no matter how clean a toilet is, I still want it to have a seat...

To top it all, the staff - while friendly and accommodating - have precisely no local knowledge at all. Ask about a cheap take-away, get directed to an Argentinian steak-house - ask about a good inexpensive coffee nearby, informed "it doesn't really matter, they're all the same".

This hostel was a big factor in me having a bad experience of Amsterdam for the only time out of four visits. Take my advice, stay in the campsite in Amsterdamse Bos. In fact, if it's summer time, spend the night under a bridge, it'll be a step up.

Room Tip: There are only 2 20-bed dorms in this place, no matter how cheap it looks, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aivengo Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aivengo Youth Hostel

Also Known As:
Aivengo Youth Hotel Amsterdam
Aivengo Youth Hotel
Address: Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aivengo Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aivengo Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.