We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position but bad hostel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aivengo Youth Hostel

Save Saved
You added Aivengo Youth Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aivengo Youth Hostel
Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good position but bad hostel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The position of this hostel was really good, especially if you come in amsterdam by train.
But this is an hostel only for leave the bag, because if you want to sleep there, forget it. I think that a prison is more comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    23
    21
    10
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
7
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is quite simply the least inviting place I have ever stayed in, including three of Amsterdam's other budget hostels. That is to say I had low expectations but was still let down.

Why? There is literally nowhere to relax (the "reception" has two 2-seat couches and 2 stools by PCs for the 40 guests) and the rooms are freezing, and lit up like The Place Where There Is No Darkness in 1984.

Everything is clean, don't get me wrong, but that doesn't really cut it - no matter how clean a toilet is, I still want it to have a seat...

To top it all, the staff - while friendly and accommodating - have precisely no local knowledge at all. Ask about a cheap take-away, get directed to an Argentinian steak-house - ask about a good inexpensive coffee nearby, informed "it doesn't really matter, they're all the same".

This hostel was a big factor in me having a bad experience of Amsterdam for the only time out of four visits. Take my advice, stay in the campsite in Amsterdamse Bos. In fact, if it's summer time, spend the night under a bridge, it'll be a step up.

Room Tip: There are only 2 20-bed dorms in this place, no matter how cheap it looks, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Had a brilliant stay at Hostel Aivengo, the location is superb, literally round the corner from Centraal Station and a few minutes walk from Dam Square. The guy that checked us in was very nice and provided us with a city map and highlighted numerous Amsterdam attractions. Due to it being low season we were upgraded free of charge to a nicer room. We stayed in the attic, everything was nice and clean and very modern and spacious, we even had a balcony/terrace. I would definitely visit the hostel again and would recommend for any traveller visiting the city!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I've stayed in several hostels all over Europe and this was by far the worst. The rooms were oversubscribed- there were people sleeping on the floor, the beds were make shift, uncomfortable and not nearly warm enough. It was loud and unpleasant and worst of all I GOT RINGWORM FROM STAYING HERE. I even contacted the hostel to let them know and they didn't bother getting back to me. I would recommend staying here if you're a fan of nasty fungal infections, dirty sheets and rude staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

pros: really nice/helpful staff (the man with the long hair is great), awesome location, let us check in early
cons: smells kinda funky, really thin mattresses, didn't give you enough blankets (amsterdam is cold this time of year!) which made sleeping hard, shower/bathrooms are more or less public

you're definitely not going to get a 5 star stay, but given the price i say it is extremely mediocre

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed many times in Amsterdam, since 2010 and this is so far the best place I stayed in, we chosed this hostel, because of the price and location, I cannot stand to sleep with so many people because I am quite fussy, and I need silence to fell asleep, so no way to stay in a overcrowded room, therefore we decide to book a double, we did not have great expectation, as we were going to Amsterdam to have fun, not to stay in the "royal room", we just needed a clean bed to sleep on, and a comfy and private place to get ready. Well, at our arrival the girl at the reception told us the the room was in another building in Sint Jacob Straat, me and my friend both knows the Dam quite well, and when we heard the name of the street we looked each other and said wow this is really what we needed. In fact they gave us a key for the room called Amsterdam, we made our way to the room, when we got there, after opening the door, we noticed that the room seemed to be occupied, the bed were not done and there was some cans of beer and stuff, we thought we have been given the wrong room, so we were a bit sad...lol...I went back to the Hotel and I have told them the situation, and they told me that they have forgotten to clean it in the morning, they did apologise so many times, and they sent straight away someone to clean it up for us, we were not bothered at all, we were happy for the location, and the room was nice, very simple on the top floor of a proper house, we were sharing the flat with another room on the first floor, we had the toilet and the kitchen with a proper oven, and big fridge...it was just great absolutely great...a big plus was the washing machine...right outside our door. I will definitely come back to this hostel, as I said I visit the Dam quite often and I have always experienced problems in the previous hotels I have stayed in, specially because in Amsterdam there is a lack of professionalism and no Customer Service at all, even in 5 stars properties, but this time we got it right, a big thanks to the staff, and the only thing I really hated was on the check out day, I needed to use the toilet, and they let me use those one in the reception, which are tragic, there is a huge gap and no privacy at all....you should do something about this, it is really not nice to hear other people doing their business....but for the rest absolutely great stay. thanks a lot to the aivengo staff we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book a double room, it want disappoint you :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed in the 10 girl dorm and it was good. Lots of space, good bathroom and kitchen area. Only thing was people are inconsiderate of others. Coming home at 4am and being noisy is not cool but not the hostels fault. Clean and very centrally located. Really good! Friendly staff and happy to keep my luggage after I had checked out for a few hours. Will return next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aivengo Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aivengo Youth Hostel

Address: Spuistraat 6, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Aivengo Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aivengo Youth Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aivengo Youth Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.