We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid accommodations in the heart of Amsterdam's Museum District” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #200 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Solid accommodations in the heart of Amsterdam's Museum District”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The location is excellent---steps away from the Rijkesmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum. Also a block from the high-end shopping district. Completely safe area. The hotel is very well-maintained, the staff courteous. The morning breakfast buffet is excellent. Our room was very small however, even by European standards; and the bathroom even smaller. We really had to 'coordinate' our movements while in the room, and bathroom use. With that said, we were in the room so little of the time that it hardly matters. I definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    444
    277
    126
    96
See reviews for
98
474
101
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Superb location (very close to museums) and hotel was OK. Rooms were small but clean - novel idea to have a clear bathroom (also very small) door - not sure it was a bonus! Bed was comfortable and whole room was very functional. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This hotel is situated near a lively district containing all the best bars and restaurants and is also a stone's throw from the museums (as the name suggests). I feel the location is what really sells the hotel though, as the service and room sizes are not that great. However, it is good value for money and you get what you pay for. The rooms are very small but clean; luckily Amsterdam is such a great city, you won't be in your room for long. WARNING - you have to pay €100 upfront on the day of arrival as a sort of deposit. I didn't have a credit card so the money was taken off my debit card then given back to me in euros on the day of check out, this was annoying. Plus the room tax was deducted from this. I'm not sure why the fee was so large - I haven't had this in other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Close the lively nightlife of Amsterdam. Good bathroom and shower! Room very clean. Situated on the edge of a stylish channel. The Hotel staff is very personable, kind, responsive and competent. My standard book provided a very small room, which is already expected in Amsterdam.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Having read some reviews about the negative etc .thoughts I'd share my experience.the hotel has a fantastic location close to riks museum Van Gogh,hard rock cafe,flower market and dam square only 15 minute walk if your feeling fit.Have to say a big thank you to the gent that checked myself and my wife in I believe his name was Stan a really pleasant gent.if I was to stay in holland again this would be the hotel for me .

Room Tip: High floors with canal views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Supervisor at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear David,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice review on tripadvisor. I am very pleased to read that we have met your expectations during your stay in our hotel. Only with your feedback we can make improvements. I will share your lovely feedback with the entire team, especially Stan. I hope we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lara Halman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We met a friend here at this hotel (have stayed here several times over the last 2 years), the location is fantastic for visiting the Rijkesmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum and the House of Bols. it is close to Leidsoplein and Hard Rock Café also.

Rooms are small but clean and have what you need. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Fab deal from last minute.com. Just wish breakfast was included in our rate. Hotel was in ideal location we walked everywhere. Room fine just pretty small & bathroom door bizarre. But was all generally fine. Staff helpful too. I'd return. Enjoy!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Address: P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.