We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,071 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    416
    265
    127
    99
See reviews for
70
378
81
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel very well located (restaurants, bars and a good park for running are quite close).
The room was very small, not very convenient for medium to long stay. The shower was nice, but the bathroom small, as well as beds. WIFI was good.
Breakfast very limited, no gym.
Staff is very professional and kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor. Your feedback is much appreciated, only with your honest feedback we are able to make improvements in our hotel. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I booked reservations 8 months in advance of an intended stay. 45 days prior to the visit I had to cancel an entire trip including the hotel. They would not refund the room. They said they had a no cancelation policy. I have never heard of such a policy. I would avoid this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear mr/mrs Gerald,

Thank you very much for taking the opportunity to leave us a review on tripadvisor. I am very disappointed to read that you could not make it to our hotel and that you had a bad experience with your reservation. There are two different reservation policies that we have in our hotel, one of them is the hotdeal. A hotdeal reservation is a non-refundable reservation and is charged immediately at time of booking. A hotdeal reservation is also cheaper than a refundable reservation. You can cancel a refundable reservation up to 24 hours in advance this is called a BAR reservation (Best Available Rate). Please feel free to contact me if you would like me to re-check your reservation, I am more than happy to have a re-look in to this and to explain it to you over the phone.

I am looking forward to hear from you.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Clean, good value functional hotel next door to the superb Rijksmuseum. Room was small but right for the price. Location is outside the centre of the Amsterdam but close to the museums and the Vondelpark - we actually decided it was better than more central locations as there was plenty to see and do and the rest of the city was easily accessible by hire bikes (which I recommend doing).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for leaving us a review on tripadvisor, your feedback is very important to us. I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and in our Hotel. The location of the hotel is indeed very practical and close to all the museums, specially the Rijksmuseum. Thank you once again and hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We arrived on Saturday night for the Amsterdam Marathon, I said to my husband I can't find my phone while checking in. As its an iPhone, they let me use the computer to track it, for 3 days looked for the taxi company, downloaded the CCTV at the front of the hotel. We found the driver, the hotel arranged to get the phone after I had flown home, then sent the phone on to me in England. Room was gorgeous, beds comfy, breakfast superb, really good coffee and the good news ran a pb in the Marathon and came 3rd for an older lady. Great location, wonderful staff, if your not staying here your missing out on Amsterdam's best kept secret (I've stayed a lot in Amsterdam) I'll be here again just to say a massive thanks in person. They always say its when things go wrong you know who your friends are, so if you want a great hotel, great location and know you will be safe and looked after stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front, standard room, comfy bed, lovely bathroom great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am delighted that you have your Iphone back and that we have been able to help you in this case. I understand it was a hectic start of your stay in our hotel and the situation with your Iphone was not ideal.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and that you have been able to make the most of your time. I will share your feedback with all the team members and I am looking forward to meet you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leknes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in october. The hotel is close to everything, and you can reach everything thats worth doing just by walking.

At first we got a room with a bit of a smell, but it was no problem switching to a new room. The room was fine, no luxuries, but newly redone. No view, but we were onle there to sleep and change clothes.

The breakfast was very plain, and we had much better value walking 5 minutes to one of the many breakfast/lunchrooms nearby.

all in all a very pleasant stay, perfect for our needs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Many thank for leaving us a review on trip advisor. I am glad you have been able to explore Amsterdam by foot, it`s together with the canal boats the best way to get to know Amsterdam.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay as well in our hotel, especially after you have swapped rooms.
Hopefully we are able to meet you again in the future. Many thanks.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed there three days.
The hotel of budget kind hotel.
Pros:
Breakfast was ok.
Location is great and close to many cafés and restaurants and attraction points.
Team are friendly and helpful.

Cons:
Rooms (single bed) are quite small, you won't like to spend long time in the room.
Reception counter accommodate two customers at a time, so always plan 10-15 min buffer if you plan to request any thing from the reception, since you will have to wait till other customers served.

Room Tip: Make 10 min buffer if you want to ask for taxi or request any thing from the reception, because most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Address: P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.