We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay in Amsterdam” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Save Saved
You added Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P C Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam 1071BX, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #197 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Short stay in Amsterdam”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Confusion over booking. Hotel said they had no notification even though we had documents. Male receptionist was rude, however, other staff very helpful and friendly. Good location, easy to travel from.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. I am sorry to read that we did not have a notification of your booking upon arrival and I am disappointed to hear that one of the staff members have been rude to you. This is certainly not the service that you expect and therefore my personal apologies for this incident. We are always aiming to deliver the best possible guest service and I am glad that you have experienced this positive service by the other staff members. Please feel free to contact me any time to discuss your check-in procedure as only with your feedback we are able to improve our service.

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    413
    264
    127
    99
See reviews for
69
376
80
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very comfortable hotel whose greatest advantage is that it is within a few minutes walking distance from the main Amsterdam museums. The room was a good size and nicely furnished.

The staff were very efficient and friendly.

It would have been nice to have in room tea and coffee makers, though these can be provided on request. Also the entrance if up 10 or so steep steps which could be a problem.

All in all, a good hotel for an Amsterdam visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and our hotel and I will share your feedback with the team. I can understand that the stairs coming into the hotel can be quiet difficult, luckily we have the facilities of an elevator for guests that have more difficulty using the stairs. Once again thank you for your feedback and hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I will start off with the good stuff. The location of this hotel is great. We were a 25 min bus ride from the airport which stopped very close by to the hotel, its also located near the museums and some great food places, the bathroom does have Dove body wash and shampoo, staff are friendly enough and the breakfast was pretty good.

Bad side. The room was tiny which we could deal with if it wasn't located below ground level (-1). We can quite clearly hear the foot steps of the people above us. This also means that the free WiFi has bad reception and goes incredibly slow. The shower has such low water pressure even though it looks like it has a great shower head. You can't even adjust the head or the water slows to a trickle. The beds are two singles pushed together which in other hotels wasnt a problem, however the matresses have no real cushion and you can feel the springs. So your always tossing to get comfy and the beds slip apart. We paid a reasonable amount for the room so was quite surprised. We have stayed in other Best Western Hotels and we very happy. In my opinion if a room has a comfy bed and great shower you can pretty much deal with anything else that's not what you expected.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
.
First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Only by receiving these comments we were able to improve our facilities and service. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

I would appreciate some more details regarding your disappointment to help us develop our efforts to maximize our guest services. Once more, please accept my personal apologies that we failed in providing the correct services and high level product that you can expect from us. I do hope that you will nevertheless give us a second chance, so that we may have an opportunity to convince you that your recent experience is most unusual for us.

Thank you once again for informing us. If you are planning to come to our hotel again please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me personally and I make sure that we can meet your expectations.

If you would like to give me further feedback of your stay please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me directly and I am more than happy to speak to you. Many thanks.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very small pokey rooms. Tired furniture, and not many staff on duty. The size of the hotel bathroom is a joke - you cants sit straight on the toilet! Wireless is hopeless. Breakfast is bread ham and cheese - at E12.50!! If you want a coffee thats E2 and and omelette an extra E3. Robbery. Lifts are dirty and slow. Corridors are narrow. Room cleaning is appalling - I had not had mine serviced by 5pm and had to insist it was done! No ice machine.

Flipside-it is located in an upmarket and convenient area of town. Museums and lovely shops a short walk away, as are parks and canals and many cafes. Having said that the hotel plays on this- It tries harder to maintain its exterior credentials than its internal-passing itself off as the "place to be". It is not the place to be. Two nights is enough

Room Tip: Do more homework before choosing this one - there´s loads of hotels in the area. Don´t get a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
.
First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Only by receiving these comments we were able to improve our facilities and service. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

I would appreciate some more details regarding your disappointment to help us develop our efforts to maximize our guest services. Once more, please accept my personal apologies that we failed in providing the correct services and high level product that you can expect from us. I do hope that you will nevertheless give us a second chance, so that we may have an opportunity to convince you that your recent experience is most unusual for us.

Thank you once again for informing us. If you are planning to come to our hotel again please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me personally and I make sure that we can meet your expectations.

If you would like to give me further feedback of your stay please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me directly and I am more than happy to speak to you. Many thanks.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

While travelers will find the accomodations small, the location is ideal for vacationers. The website leads one to believe the rooms are bigger and have amenities they may not. It also touts wirelss internet, but it is spotty and slow. The location is great though, and makes the hotel worth the stay. Literally across the street from the newly opened Rijksmuseum, and 5 minutes from the Van Gogh museum. Hard Rock Cafe is a block and a half away, as is a plethora of entertainment, shopping, dining and coffee shops. There is a metro station a block and a half away which make transport to and from the airport a breeze. Also, transport to the Red light district/Central Station and surrounding area is easy and affordable with day passes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we take your feedback very seriously. I understand that you have experienced some bad connection with your wifi internet, I am very sorry to hear this. At this moment of time we are in the process of making some positive improvements to our wifi network. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future and you can use without any issues. Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was travelling for a conference and stayed over in Amsterdam before heading to Maastricht. The price was right and while the rooms were a bit small, I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel being close enough to the Heineken Experience and very close to a number of tram lines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Brandon,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our grat location.

We would love to welcomke you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is a good hotel for a short stay, the rooms are good but the bathroom is very small. Do not stay in the apartments, ask for the main hotel rooms only. Lobby is good and the location is convenient. heinken experience is nearby and so is the Holland casino. Lot of eating places in a nearby street and convenient from a metro connection

Room Tip: stay in main hotel and not the apartment, they say they are upgrading you to the apartment, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in the Apollo Museum Hotel. The location is great and I am glad you have been able to make the most of it. Hopefully we can meet you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Address: P C Hooftstraat 2, Amsterdam 1071BX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.