We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not special” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Very small pokey rooms. Tired furniture, and not many staff on duty. The size of the hotel bathroom is a joke - you cants sit straight on the toilet! Wireless is hopeless. Breakfast is bread ham and cheese - at E12.50!! If you want a coffee thats E2 and and omelette an extra E3. Robbery. Lifts are dirty and slow. Corridors are narrow. Room cleaning is appalling - I had not had mine serviced by 5pm and had to insist it was done! No ice machine.

Flipside-it is located in an upmarket and convenient area of town. Museums and lovely shops a short walk away, as are parks and canals and many cafes. Having said that the hotel plays on this- It tries harder to maintain its exterior credentials than its internal-passing itself off as the "place to be". It is not the place to be. Two nights is enough

Room Tip: Do more homework before choosing this one - there´s loads of hotels in the area. Don´t get a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
.
First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Only by receiving these comments we were able to improve our facilities and service. We constantly aim to provide our guests with the finest of facilities and services and you will understand it was a great disappointment to read that your stay did not meet your expectations.

I would appreciate some more details regarding your disappointment to help us develop our efforts to maximize our guest services. Once more, please accept my personal apologies that we failed in providing the correct services and high level product that you can expect from us. I do hope that you will nevertheless give us a second chance, so that we may have an opportunity to convince you that your recent experience is most unusual for us.

Thank you once again for informing us. If you are planning to come to our hotel again please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me personally and I make sure that we can meet your expectations.

If you would like to give me further feedback of your stay please don’t hesitate to get in touch with me directly and I am more than happy to speak to you. Many thanks.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    390
    246
    111
    87
See reviews for
80
419
89
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

While travelers will find the accomodations small, the location is ideal for vacationers. The website leads one to believe the rooms are bigger and have amenities they may not. It also touts wirelss internet, but it is spotty and slow. The location is great though, and makes the hotel worth the stay. Literally across the street from the newly opened Rijksmuseum, and 5 minutes from the Van Gogh museum. Hard Rock Cafe is a block and a half away, as is a plethora of entertainment, shopping, dining and coffee shops. There is a metro station a block and a half away which make transport to and from the airport a breeze. Also, transport to the Red light district/Central Station and surrounding area is easy and affordable with day passes.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on trip advisor. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we take your feedback very seriously. I understand that you have experienced some bad connection with your wifi internet, I am very sorry to hear this. At this moment of time we are in the process of making some positive improvements to our wifi network. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future and you can use without any issues. Thanks again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was travelling for a conference and stayed over in Amsterdam before heading to Maastricht. The price was right and while the rooms were a bit small, I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel being close enough to the Heineken Experience and very close to a number of tram lines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Brandon,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our grat location.

We would love to welcomke you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is a good hotel for a short stay, the rooms are good but the bathroom is very small. Do not stay in the apartments, ask for the main hotel rooms only. Lobby is good and the location is convenient. heinken experience is nearby and so is the Holland casino. Lot of eating places in a nearby street and convenient from a metro connection

Room Tip: stay in main hotel and not the apartment, they say they are upgrading you to the apartment, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in the Apollo Museum Hotel. The location is great and I am glad you have been able to make the most of it. Hopefully we can meet you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay . The hotel was in a an ideal location. The staff were all friendly, efficient, presented well and helpful. It was a holiday to celebrate retirement and a 65th birthday! Our room was upgraded and we were delighted. We would certainly book here again. Thank you for making it a special stay. All staff (housekeeping, reception staff, waitresses etc always greeted us with smiles and friendliness.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Trams, buses and canal trips nearby .We took a bus from and to the airport (197 costing 4 euros...every 15 minutes)

Only one tip!! Please supply a better city map ......!

Room Tip: Don't think we would have liked the basement rooms???
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your holiday in our hotel! I am pleased that you appreciate the free upgrade as a gesture for your 65 birthday and your retirement. Thanks a lot for the compliments and I certainly will share this feedback with the entire team in the hotel. I hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very nice hotel close by the Rusk Museum. at the head of a street full of high end shops.
Some nice resturants nearby or take a short walk over the canal to a vibrant district of outdoor cafes and dining opportunities. A very nice continental breakfast is available at a reasonable extra cost and is well worth the price, Room and bath are on the small side as is common in Europe. My only complaint was the overhead lighting was too bright and the bedside lights were not suitable for reading. The hotel management to their credit sent up a reading lamp.
The hotel is only a few hundred feet from the #197 bus stop which gives direct service to and from the airport so that is a money saver on taxi fees

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Your feedback regarding the overhead bed lights is much appreciated, we will take your feedback on board as we always try to make improvements in our business. Once more thank you for staying at the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel and hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was staying in for six nights from 26 August 2013- 1 September 2013. The hotel provides free wifi which is a good thing as many are already connected to the cyber. The staff at the front desk are friendly and polite. The front desk staff who has to take care of the house keeping duty which render them degrade in the service aspect. One example is That I could not get someone to send me shower towel after multiple calls to the front desk. I have to go to the front desk to collect them.

The continental breakfast provided by the hotel are generally good. They are same everyday. Will suggest that guest not to book the breakfast in advance but pay as the day you choose to eat. A day bookin in advance will qualify you to a 3 Euro discount from 12 Euro to 9 Euro.

Room Tip: Book way in advance to enable you to get cheaper and better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I am pleased with the feedback regarding the housekeeping service. I am very sorry that you had to come down to reception to collect your towels. This is of course not the service that you expect in a hotel, and we don’t expect that either. Our aim is always to respond to guest requests in an acceptable time frame. I will share your feedback with the housekeeping team to make sure this will not happen again in the future. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel and Amsterdam. Hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Address: P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.