We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close and Far away at the same time. Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #201 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close and Far away at the same time. Perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was travelling for a conference and stayed over in Amsterdam before heading to Maastricht. The price was right and while the rooms were a bit small, I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel being close enough to the Heineken Experience and very close to a number of tram lines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr. Brandon,

First of all thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience.

I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and our grat location.

We would love to welcomke you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen
Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    444
    277
    126
    96
See reviews for
98
474
101
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

It is a good hotel for a short stay, the rooms are good but the bathroom is very small. Do not stay in the apartments, ask for the main hotel rooms only. Lobby is good and the location is convenient. heinken experience is nearby and so is the Holland casino. Lot of eating places in a nearby street and convenient from a metro connection

Room Tip: stay in main hotel and not the apartment, they say they are upgrading you to the apartment, but it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on Trip advisor. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in the Apollo Museum Hotel. The location is great and I am glad you have been able to make the most of it. Hopefully we can meet you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teesside
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay . The hotel was in a an ideal location. The staff were all friendly, efficient, presented well and helpful. It was a holiday to celebrate retirement and a 65th birthday! Our room was upgraded and we were delighted. We would certainly book here again. Thank you for making it a special stay. All staff (housekeeping, reception staff, waitresses etc always greeted us with smiles and friendliness.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Trams, buses and canal trips nearby .We took a bus from and to the airport (197 costing 4 euros...every 15 minutes)

Only one tip!! Please supply a better city map ......!

Room Tip: Don't think we would have liked the basement rooms???
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your holiday in our hotel! I am pleased that you appreciate the free upgrade as a gesture for your 65 birthday and your retirement. Thanks a lot for the compliments and I certainly will share this feedback with the entire team in the hotel. I hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very nice hotel close by the Rusk Museum. at the head of a street full of high end shops.
Some nice resturants nearby or take a short walk over the canal to a vibrant district of outdoor cafes and dining opportunities. A very nice continental breakfast is available at a reasonable extra cost and is well worth the price, Room and bath are on the small side as is common in Europe. My only complaint was the overhead lighting was too bright and the bedside lights were not suitable for reading. The hotel management to their credit sent up a reading lamp.
The hotel is only a few hundred feet from the #197 bus stop which gives direct service to and from the airport so that is a money saver on taxi fees

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Your feedback regarding the overhead bed lights is much appreciated, we will take your feedback on board as we always try to make improvements in our business. Once more thank you for staying at the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel and hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was staying in for six nights from 26 August 2013- 1 September 2013. The hotel provides free wifi which is a good thing as many are already connected to the cyber. The staff at the front desk are friendly and polite. The front desk staff who has to take care of the house keeping duty which render them degrade in the service aspect. One example is That I could not get someone to send me shower towel after multiple calls to the front desk. I have to go to the front desk to collect them.

The continental breakfast provided by the hotel are generally good. They are same everyday. Will suggest that guest not to book the breakfast in advance but pay as the day you choose to eat. A day bookin in advance will qualify you to a 3 Euro discount from 12 Euro to 9 Euro.

Room Tip: Book way in advance to enable you to get cheaper and better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I am pleased with the feedback regarding the housekeeping service. I am very sorry that you had to come down to reception to collect your towels. This is of course not the service that you expect in a hotel, and we don’t expect that either. Our aim is always to respond to guest requests in an acceptable time frame. I will share your feedback with the housekeeping team to make sure this will not happen again in the future. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel and Amsterdam. Hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed with a friend in a twin room. The bathroom though small was adequate. The room was surprisingly spacious, bright and very clean. Best part? English tv channels! Next door to the holland Casino, Hard Rock Cafe, vondelpark and the iamsterdam sign. Will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr,

I first of all would like to thank you for your review, this is much appreciated. It`s great to hear that you and your friend enjoyed yourself and made the most of your time in Amsterdam. I will share your feedback with the team and also with the housekeeping department. Once again thank you and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel! Very well located. They gave us a great room much space. Very close to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Voldelpark. Lots of restaurants nearby because leiseplain is just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you have had an excellent experience in our hotel and that you made the most of all the attractions and the museums that are located on walking distance from the hotel. Hopefully we are able to meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Address: P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.