We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and very helpful!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
teesside
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely and very helpful!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay . The hotel was in a an ideal location. The staff were all friendly, efficient, presented well and helpful. It was a holiday to celebrate retirement and a 65th birthday! Our room was upgraded and we were delighted. We would certainly book here again. Thank you for making it a special stay. All staff (housekeeping, reception staff, waitresses etc always greeted us with smiles and friendliness.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Trams, buses and canal trips nearby .We took a bus from and to the airport (197 costing 4 euros...every 15 minutes)

Only one tip!! Please supply a better city map ......!

Room Tip: Don't think we would have liked the basement rooms???
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

I am delighted to read you have enjoyed your holiday in our hotel! I am pleased that you appreciate the free upgrade as a gesture for your 65 birthday and your retirement. Thanks a lot for the compliments and I certainly will share this feedback with the entire team in the hotel. I hope to meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    369
    238
    107
    86
See reviews for
78
406
85
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

A very nice hotel close by the Rusk Museum. at the head of a street full of high end shops.
Some nice resturants nearby or take a short walk over the canal to a vibrant district of outdoor cafes and dining opportunities. A very nice continental breakfast is available at a reasonable extra cost and is well worth the price, Room and bath are on the small side as is common in Europe. My only complaint was the overhead lighting was too bright and the bedside lights were not suitable for reading. The hotel management to their credit sent up a reading lamp.
The hotel is only a few hundred feet from the #197 bus stop which gives direct service to and from the airport so that is a money saver on taxi fees

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Your feedback regarding the overhead bed lights is much appreciated, we will take your feedback on board as we always try to make improvements in our business. Once more thank you for staying at the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel and hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Pahat, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was staying in for six nights from 26 August 2013- 1 September 2013. The hotel provides free wifi which is a good thing as many are already connected to the cyber. The staff at the front desk are friendly and polite. The front desk staff who has to take care of the house keeping duty which render them degrade in the service aspect. One example is That I could not get someone to send me shower towel after multiple calls to the front desk. I have to go to the front desk to collect them.

The continental breakfast provided by the hotel are generally good. They are same everyday. Will suggest that guest not to book the breakfast in advance but pay as the day you choose to eat. A day bookin in advance will qualify you to a 3 Euro discount from 12 Euro to 9 Euro.

Room Tip: Book way in advance to enable you to get cheaper and better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay and I am pleased with the feedback regarding the housekeeping service. I am very sorry that you had to come down to reception to collect your towels. This is of course not the service that you expect in a hotel, and we don’t expect that either. Our aim is always to respond to guest requests in an acceptable time frame. I will share your feedback with the housekeeping team to make sure this will not happen again in the future. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel and Amsterdam. Hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a friend in a twin room. The bathroom though small was adequate. The room was surprisingly spacious, bright and very clean. Best part? English tv channels! Next door to the holland Casino, Hard Rock Cafe, vondelpark and the iamsterdam sign. Will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr,

I first of all would like to thank you for your review, this is much appreciated. It`s great to hear that you and your friend enjoyed yourself and made the most of your time in Amsterdam. I will share your feedback with the team and also with the housekeeping department. Once again thank you and hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel! Very well located. They gave us a great room much space. Very close to the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum and Voldelpark. Lots of restaurants nearby because leiseplain is just around the corner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Mrs/Mr,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you have had an excellent experience in our hotel and that you made the most of all the attractions and the museums that are located on walking distance from the hotel. Hopefully we are able to meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I found this hotel to be in the perfect location as I don't mind walking and enjoyed being in the heart of the museum quarter. A 2 minute walk around the corner gets you to the main museums including the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk museum and Van Gogh museum. This part of the city is beautiful and very peaceful to walk through with plenty of visitors walking and cycling around. The atmosphere made for a very pleasant stay. Furthermore, the nearest tram stop is around the back of the Rijkmuseum so it is only a 12 minute journey to Amsterdam Centraal station from there.

The hotel itself is very clean and looks quite modern. Staff are friendly and helpful. I found the bed in my room to be a little soft but that might be personal preference. The bathroom and toilet were comfortable with plenty of room to move and had underfloor heating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Mr Stephen,

I am very delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay in the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel. The location of the hotel is great and by the sound of it you made the most of it while you were staying in our hotel. Thank you very much for your friendly feedback. Hopefully we can meet you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Sjoerd Verkooijen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Nice quiet part of the city but still within walking disatnce of bars and restaurants. everything was very clean, nicely decorated the room was a little small but no big deal! The shower was really nice-powerful and clean. Staff very friendly. Downside was a pint of beer is 6E but that seemes to be the going rate in amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sjoerdverkooijen, Front Office Manager at Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel. I am happy to see you enjoyed your stay and that we could be a part of it. Thank you very much for your nice comment about our staff I will make sure they receive this compliment.
+
Once again thank you and hope to welcome you again in the future.
With kind regards,

Sjoerd Verkooijen

Front Office Manager
Best Western Apollo Museum hotel City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Address: P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.