We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mini-rooms, great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel to your Saves list
Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mini-rooms, great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Everything was fine except room size. It was so small, there was no place to put luggage without tripping over it. The location was great for exploring Amsterdam, especially the newly renovated, World Class, Rijcks Museum.
Bathroom size was adequate compared to the room and appeared to be updated and contemporary. Price was reasonable compared to other Amsterdam Hotels that we considered. All hotel staff were personable and knowledgeable and spoke perfect English. Iwould go back if I could be guaranteed a little larger room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    390
    247
    111
    87
See reviews for
80
419
89
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very nice hotel, short taxi ride from Central Station, but well within walking distance of all attractions.
Room very clean and cleaned daily, A/C, TV, wifi, all usual stuff.
Staff very good, never had any food at hotel due to the fact we were surrounded by places to eat out.
Would return here no problem at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Fantastic stay at Best Western. Room was clean, modern, tidy and very comfortable. The location is fabulous, minutes away from many attractions. Staff was pleasant and friendly. The only drawback was breakfast, we found it rather dull for paying extra.
We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a great location for visiting the museums and exploring the city. We could walk or take the tram a block away to all the places we wanted to visit. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and made a great restaurant recommendation for an authentic Dutch dinner. Our room was on the back of the hotel overlooking a courtyard so it was very quiet at night but I'm not sure street traffic would be a factor anyway. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a couple for 4 nights from 19th of July onward. Excellent location - right next to Van Gogh Museum and less than 10 mins. walk away from Leidseplein, Vondelpark or Albert Cuypmarkt. Free wifi was sufficient and continental breakfast for 9 euros plus had a good selection. As other revieweres have stated, double room is rather tiny and for two people with suit cases it can get difficult to maneuver around in the room. Also, toilet facing a glass door almost do the bed can get a little awkward as your silhouette can easily be seen by the other person when using the loo! A/C worked as a treat which was nice during the heatwave. Again, location - across the road from canal that operates a boat tour, a minute walking distance to a strip of designers shops, trams and buses easily accessible. Overall, wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a pleasant stay in the hotel for three nights. The travel agency I used originally booked us for a double bed but was upgraded to king size plus one twin bed when I informed them that the bed we had was uncomfortable as the springs were protruding through the mattress. Staff was apologetic, no attitude whatsoever! The location was superb, everything was within a walking/short distance to top tourist sites, bought a metro card valid for 48 hrs and had only used it once! Breakfast buffet was decent, wifi was slow but wasn't really a big issue. I would definitely stay here again !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in the Apollo Museum Hotel last fall for a couple of days. The location was perfect, not so much central, but just within a short distance to wherever we needed to visit. An outstanding personnel who dealt quite professionally with an incident of loss of a card and money in a local street. To our surprise the missing wallet was found and handled back to us exactly as it was.They handled the situation very honestly. Before the incident, the help desk provided good information about the city´s sightseeing and suggested the best ways to get around. Very polite even in the busiest hours. In comparison with my experience other hotels in Europe this one had a great value. Delicious breakfast and a very comfortable room. Not overpriced. An excellent choice after all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel

Address: P C Hooftstraat 2, 1071BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.