We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs and a tiny room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast
Haarlemmerstraat 79B, Amsterdam 1013 EL, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bed bugs and a tiny room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here as we missed a connecting flight and no other rooms were available. The room was tiny, literally just enough space for three single beds. The "ensuite" was also tiny, just a shower and a toilet.

The room was dirty with rubbish left under the bed. The window didn't close and led onto a balcony meaning it was unsecure.

Worst of all the room had a bed bug infestation, I ended up with multiple bites. Upon searching under the bed the shell of the bugs were found.

The staff member we saw was helpful and polite. But the room was expensive for what it was at 33 euros per person.

Overall only stay here if it is a last resort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    4
    1
    16
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qrendi, Malta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

After reading all the negative reviews I feared the worst. If you don't expect anything then you would not be disappointed. We had a triple room which was very basic: three beds and a bathroom. The room is cramped and the bathroom didnt have a sink: just a shower and a toilet. If you stay for a short while this will not bother you. Since I went for three days I barely spent time in the room except to sleep and shower in it so nothing really bothered me. If you expect the best go for the high class hotels but these are way too expensive. I got a very good deal on queens day and since other hostels in Amsterdam are practically the same I was reasonably satisfied. The receptionist was very laidback like every other receptionist in Amsterdam and was kind enough to give us clean linen after two days since policy stated that they change it every three. The location was perfect, just across the street there was a smokers restaurant which I highly recommend called Barneys Uptown. A short and enjoyable walk would easily get you to the Damrak so you can say it is very central. If you are not such a moaner and the price is good I say go for it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool england
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

my teenage son and his 7 friends stayed here, although it is basic, in his own words it was "SWEET", Location was very good and they had a great time, the guy who meets you on arrival was as he said "SOUND", they had no problems what so ever, probably not the place for my wife and myself, but it was well priced and in a safe area, my thanks to the staff

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, South Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked a triple room via hotel club. After paying 170 euro in cash to the "receptionist" upon arrival we saw the room and demanded a refund. We couldnt even get a receipt for the money we paid. This accommodation is dirty, creepy and nothing like the photos on the website. The rooms are tiny, the ensuites are tinier and the toilet is practically in the shower cubicle with no handbasin. The sheets were dirty, had stains, holes in them, dirty marks. The staff extremely unhelpful. We left straight away and checked into a better hotel that was clean and safe.
We later found out this was listed on hostel world for 20 euro per night for a triple room. I am disgusted that Hotel Club listed such low standard accommodation on their website. Not happy at all
I would not recommend this to anyone, it is horrible. I will write a review on hotel club later once they have had a chance to process my refund, and let you know if its worth dealing with this website.

Room Tip: The best tip I have is do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

After a long day of traveling, my husband and I arrived in Amsterdam at night. We walked to the hostel and that's when the nightmare begun. After about 15 minutes of incessantly knocking on the door, we went for a walk and came back a little later. We stood there for about 5 minutes when a guy finally opened the door. There was no elevator, instead we had to carry our luggage through a very steep flight of stairs. Everything was extremely dirty and shady. The bed wasn't made, the sheets were filthy and stained. The floor was grimy and disgusting. But the worst part was the bathroom. The floor was all wet and smelly and the shower had hairs and a collection of dirty sponges. We had to stay there for one night because we had to pay upon arrival and they later refused to give us our money back. Little to say that we didn't take a shower that night and slept in our clothes. Please, NEVER EVER EVER, stay in this hostel under any circumstances. I would rate this hostel less than one if
it was possible.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at Amsterdam-inn for 7 nights. First we came and did not find the sign. We asked the local bar next-door and he told us that its a illegal B&B, thats why there's only a note on the buzzer. We made a deal with the owner to pay half by arriveing, and half after a cupple of days for economic reasons When we arrived the payment would be alot more expensive if we did not pay all at once. So our deal did nt mean a thing to him. We booked a dubble-room with private bath-room and a smal tea-kitchen with refrigerator, we got a to singlebeds pooshed together, and a walkin-closet- bathroom, and a refrigerator who did not work. The room was not cleand, I don't even think we got clean sheets. the window was impossible too close, so we got sick. There was no fire-escape and very noisy. Our last morning there we were gonna ceak-out at 11. am, the owner had not informed us any differently about their cheak-out time, so we guest from previous experiance. At 9.45 am the owner knooked on our door, got inn to our room and turned on the light. He looked at us, said: "It is time to cheak-out now" and left. We were still in the bed, sleeping when he went in. He had no clue what service is, and he was creepy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

we booked a double room but when we got there it turned out that there is no free double room for us. guy gave us a four with a "bathroom". the room was very dark, windows were old and didn't close properly. walls were not as on the photos (painted white) but were covered with some kind of plywood. it was almost impossible to sleep because of the noise - as the room was placed above the street, and because of the crackling floor all over this hostel. also the toilet and bathroom for the rest of the rooms was near so there was even more noise. tiny bathroom in the room was so small that there was no way to open the door when someone was inside and mold and fungus in the shower were disgusting.
room that we got for the rest of your stay is the room which is presented on the website as a kitchen, located on the second floor. stove was moved to a corridor just next to the room so you hear people cooking.
generally pictures presented on the website do not represent actual rooms as they are now. we don't recommend hostel amsterdam inn to anyone and certainly we won't come back there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast

Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Inn Bed And Breakfast
Address: Haarlemmerstraat 79B, Amsterdam 1013 EL, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.