We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE - it is worse than "terrible"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast
Haarlemmerstraat 79B, Amsterdam 1013 EL, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #266 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Clare, South Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE - it is worse than "terrible"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We booked a triple room via hotel club. After paying 170 euro in cash to the "receptionist" upon arrival we saw the room and demanded a refund. We couldnt even get a receipt for the money we paid. This accommodation is dirty, creepy and nothing like the photos on the website. The rooms are tiny, the ensuites are tinier and the toilet is practically in the shower cubicle with no handbasin. The sheets were dirty, had stains, holes in them, dirty marks. The staff extremely unhelpful. We left straight away and checked into a better hotel that was clean and safe.
We later found out this was listed on hostel world for 20 euro per night for a triple room. I am disgusted that Hotel Club listed such low standard accommodation on their website. Not happy at all
I would not recommend this to anyone, it is horrible. I will write a review on hotel club later once they have had a chance to process my refund, and let you know if its worth dealing with this website.

Room Tip: The best tip I have is do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    4
    1
    16
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011 via mobile

After a long day of traveling, my husband and I arrived in Amsterdam at night. We walked to the hostel and that's when the nightmare begun. After about 15 minutes of incessantly knocking on the door, we went for a walk and came back a little later. We stood there for about 5 minutes when a guy finally opened the door. There was no elevator, instead we had to carry our luggage through a very steep flight of stairs. Everything was extremely dirty and shady. The bed wasn't made, the sheets were filthy and stained. The floor was grimy and disgusting. But the worst part was the bathroom. The floor was all wet and smelly and the shower had hairs and a collection of dirty sponges. We had to stay there for one night because we had to pay upon arrival and they later refused to give us our money back. Little to say that we didn't take a shower that night and slept in our clothes. Please, NEVER EVER EVER, stay in this hostel under any circumstances. I would rate this hostel less than one if
it was possible.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at Amsterdam-inn for 7 nights. First we came and did not find the sign. We asked the local bar next-door and he told us that its a illegal B&B, thats why there's only a note on the buzzer. We made a deal with the owner to pay half by arriveing, and half after a cupple of days for economic reasons When we arrived the payment would be alot more expensive if we did not pay all at once. So our deal did nt mean a thing to him. We booked a dubble-room with private bath-room and a smal tea-kitchen with refrigerator, we got a to singlebeds pooshed together, and a walkin-closet- bathroom, and a refrigerator who did not work. The room was not cleand, I don't even think we got clean sheets. the window was impossible too close, so we got sick. There was no fire-escape and very noisy. Our last morning there we were gonna ceak-out at 11. am, the owner had not informed us any differently about their cheak-out time, so we guest from previous experiance. At 9.45 am the owner knooked on our door, got inn to our room and turned on the light. He looked at us, said: "It is time to cheak-out now" and left. We were still in the bed, sleeping when he went in. He had no clue what service is, and he was creepy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

we booked a double room but when we got there it turned out that there is no free double room for us. guy gave us a four with a "bathroom". the room was very dark, windows were old and didn't close properly. walls were not as on the photos (painted white) but were covered with some kind of plywood. it was almost impossible to sleep because of the noise - as the room was placed above the street, and because of the crackling floor all over this hostel. also the toilet and bathroom for the rest of the rooms was near so there was even more noise. tiny bathroom in the room was so small that there was no way to open the door when someone was inside and mold and fungus in the shower were disgusting.
room that we got for the rest of your stay is the room which is presented on the website as a kitchen, located on the second floor. stove was moved to a corridor just next to the room so you hear people cooking.
generally pictures presented on the website do not represent actual rooms as they are now. we don't recommend hostel amsterdam inn to anyone and certainly we won't come back there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

When we booked this hotel, judging by the photos on its website it looked cheap and cheerful, clean and respectable - perfect just for one night. However, this was not the case. Upon arrival we were left waiting at the door, unanswered as the guy who runs the place was next door eating a kebab! Yes - the whole place was run by just one guy. Finally after knocking endlessly and calling him several times he wandered out of the takeaway next door and let us in. It gets worse. The room we were given was in the attic up 3 flights of steep stairs, it was tiny - certainly NOT a double as we had booked, also the cleanliness was highly questionable as there was hair on one of the beds and dust on the (very little) furniture. It would be better described as a chicken barn than a bedroom. In fact I would rather have stayed in a chicken barn than this room! Having booked bed AND breakfast online, i ask the (rather creepy) guy what time breakfast was served to be told we would have to pay an additonal 8 Euros as breakfast was available in the restaurant next door! Therefore false advertisement, this place was clearly not a B&B. The reception desk was a table in the hallway with a computer on it with the guests paperwork easily accessable to anybody. We were refused our money back when we asked and in the end we agreed to swap rooms. This one was marginally better, a little cleaner and much bigger, however the window wouldnt close properly so we struggled to sleep due to the constant draught. Definatley NOT a place I will even consider staying at again, the only positive thing was the location. 3.5 stars? .. I wouldn't even give it a half.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

we have been to this hotel twice now and are going back again. It was clean, friendly staff
and was walking distance from everything we wanted to do.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

The photos on the website of this place have nothing in common with the reality of this shack. The only way to survive there is simple: You got to go on the other side of the street, there is a Premium coffee restaurant, buy yourself a lot o dutch coffee and consume it immediatly. coming home sober is absolutely bad idea. I advice to take a coffee described in the coffee shop as a "long stoned, heavy fx" when you smoke a lot and drink a lot you are going to have nice stay at amsterdam inn chicken hut. Speaking plainly, if you accept the things they are, you have a slight chance to survive your vacation. However the guy is very nice and we will surely get back there next year. On my photos try to find some similarities :) having fun

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: Haarlemmerstraat 79B, Amsterdam 1013 EL, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #266 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Inn Bed And Breakfast
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.