We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mix of urban chic and retro cool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volkshotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Volkshotel to your Saves list
Volkshotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cinderford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great mix of urban chic and retro cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My first trip to amsterdam and the hotel was booked by my now no longer friend who found it on a random site. I wasn't sure what to expect as I hadn't seen pics before the trip - but I wasn't disappointed! I stayed in room 529, which had a great view of the banking district, a huge shower and one of the softest beds ever. Staff were very friendly and approachable. The location is about 200 years from a metro station that leads directly to Centraal and further on to the airport via rail. If that's not enough, they have a to die for lemon meringue pie in the bar and a local beer which was less than €3. I've lost a friend but gained a great hotel which I'll be staying at in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a great view, and be sure to visit the restaurant at night where they light beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    114
    32
    15
    11
See reviews for
30
110
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saarbrucken, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Volkshotel lives up to its very cool image. If you like non standard accomodatio and you are willing to spend a bit of extra cash to experience it, Vilkshotel is a great choice. Super friendly staff has all the infos you'll need to make your stay in Amsterdam a unique one. Rooms are surprising but.they offer all you need including a safe and a hairdryer) Funky design is a matter of taste (washbasin is in the room you sleep in, and shower is separated with just a glass wall from the bedroom) but it is a fun experience all in all. Price is not for a low budget. If you're looking to find a cheap accomodation, don't get lured into the Volkshotel's alternative feel. But that flair is authentic and really well done. You can also party there (entrance costs extra) on the 7th floor. Dining and breakfast (till noon!) Are served on the upper flor so the view is nice. On the roof, you can soak in a jacuzzi or get a sauna break. Haven't tried it, but next time I will. Hotel will have bikes available soon, which is a great advantage in Amsterdam. Location is pretty central, so you have easy access by bike or taxi (front desk can arrage for it) to the center. Alternatively, you can plan ca. 40 min walk. You have an option to park your car just by the hotel, but it costs extra. Overall it is worth a try if you're interested in a hip place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cospicua (Bormla), Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Firstly, the decor of the hotel is very different than the usual hotels...it is very trendy, modern, cool. The rooms are of the same architecture and decor, and it is a whole experience on its own.

Rooms of four are also decorated in a very cool way, as they are bunk-beds, but with a twist. You have to see it to understand, but everything about this hotel's decoration is trés cool!!

The staff is extremely friendly and they always helped us in any questions we had. It is also located very close to a bus stop and a few steps away from a Metro Station. It was very easy to travel around during the day and at night, as it was located at a very good spot. A supermarket is also available next door, and one can rent bikes from the hotel itself.

Events are also held at the Hotel, and you can find help at the reception at any time of the day.

All in all, great stay and would highly recommend it to others. If I were to travel to Amsterdam again, I would most likely stay at this hotel once again as it is very budget friendly, very trendy, very well located, and very nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke H, Public Relations Manager at Volkshotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Sheena, thank you so much for the nice review. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

From the check in to the housekeeping staff, everyone is friendly and relaxed. I definitely recommend this place if you spend a few nights in Amsterdam. The food served in Canvas is very tasty and affordable. I stayed in in room 502 (White Bike room) which has a nice bath tub next to the window and a beamer with a huge screen! Book one of the special rooms and you will have a guaranteed awesome weekend.

Room Tip: Book one of the 9 special rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Absolutely loved this accommodation. Amazing hotel. Really funky and fresh. Amazing location. Amazing helpful staff. Amazing terrace restaurant for just a few drinks or a great meal. Really clean, functional rooms with an amazing view. Couldn't fault the hotel at all.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights it was four stops away from the train station which was how I got into Amsterdam which only was five minutes via the metro (bought a two day pass for the metro when I arrived only 14 euro) the style of the hotel is different and yes even in its unfinished state it gas a certain feel about it that is quite nice.

The finished work is new and stylish however if you're sharing a room with a friend or associate the visible bathroom layout may not be comfortable to you. The staff were very nice spoke english and deutsch and I would imagine dutch as well. For the price I paid I was more than satisfied the breakfast could have better but the club that opened on the 7 floor at night was phenomenal. It was a fantastic experience would definitely stay here again even if they never complete the finish work in the room ( non tiled floors or finished on ceiling)

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janneke H, Public Relations Manager at Volkshotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi John,
We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!
About the room design: all glass bathroom walls will be covered soon. When it comes to the non tiled floor and concrete ceiling: both are part of the design, so we're not planning on 'finishing' them :) We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

I am writing a few hours after having left the hotel. It has been a great experience, I finally found something different and original. I stayed here with my father for 4 days and 4 nights. The hotel is 10/15 minutes by bike from the centre or a few stops if you prefer to use the underground, just in front of the hotel. It is situated in the eastern district of Amsterdam, really interesting to visit, of course different from the crowded center, but here we felt the real dutchie atmosphere.
The hotel is a must-do for hipsters, young people or whoever likes to experience something special, for families too. On the top floors there is a kind of club with a great view of the city, canvas where you can enjoy eating (I especially recommend the rich and yummy breakfast) bathtubs and sauna. There are many places to relax and meet people even on the ground floor, next to the reception.
The staff is very kind and helpful, many young people. The location made me feel like I was home.
The only "problem": even if the rooms were great, the bathroom gave a beautiful view on..the bed. So it is a bit awkward if you're staying with someone you are not very confidant with. I think the reception will solve the problem.
If you don't like this place, well, maybe Amsterdam isn't the right place for you.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Casa 400
#60 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,610 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
#128 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,349 reviews
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#151 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volkshotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volkshotel

Address: Wibautstraat 150, 1091 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volkshotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volkshotel was once a newspaper headquarters, now home to 172 hotel rooms ranging from cosy hideouts to huge hangouts. Stay in a bed with a view or a unique room designed by our creative folk. Raw materials of wood, glass and concrete and always a hint of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Budget Places, HRS, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Volkshotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volkshotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.