We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, chilled place to lay your head while in the 'Dam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Chicken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Funky Chicken to your Saves list
Funky Chicken
Spuistraat 90, 1012TZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A wonderful, chilled place to lay your head while in the 'Dam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We stayed here for nine nights in mid July, using it as a base for our tour of Holland in support of the mighty Plymouth Argyle.

Having spent a few nights in an expensive broom cupboard (the Hotel Nadia) in November, this place was an excellent alternative for our mixed group of friends.

On arrival, quite late on a Friday night from Schiphol, we were met by the remarkably laid back Duke, who led us up typically vertiginous Amsterdam stairs to our top floor abode.

There were five of us in one apartment for the first two nights, spreading out to the apartment below once another group had moved on the Sunday night and it meant we had a lot of space to play in, even when a sixth person arrived on the Wednesday night.

Both the top two apartments are open plan, with a kitchen area and two comfortable sofas that easily flatten out into beds, plus two actual beds, so there are four beds per apartment. The top floor apartment has an attic room, where the two beds are positioned, so that is quite a set of stairs to climb for those beds!

Separate to these areas, there are toilets and shower rooms, well stocked with the basic sundries, if you've forgotten anything. All very clean and operational.

There is plenty of spare bedding, towels and other materials for easy replenishment and the kitchen has more than enough cutlery and crockery for groups who want a bit of breakfast in the morning. We made the mistake of buying lots of stuff like tea and coffee, before discovering there was quite a lot already there, in the drawers!

One unexpected bonus is the free Wi-Fi, which was a tad intermittent, but much appreciated!

Lina and Duke are excellent hosts - as long as you remember to not let the front door slam, as they live in the ground floor flat! So friendly and helpful, they recommended a number of decent "coffee shops" and restaurants/bars to visit - and the ones to avoid. Duke even had a nice welcoming gift for us as well...

Cars aren't particularly noticeable on Spuisstraat, and there was only one night when outside noise penetrated our rooms, even with the windows open every night. So it was very comfortable and quiet most of the time.
The Funky Chickin is no more than ten minutes walk from the Centraal station if you're coming in by train, so it's pretty convenient. From there, it's no more than a few minutes walk or cycle to the Jordaan district, or the Nine Streets, or Dam Square.

The one thing that may need a little consideration is that Spuisstraat is partly occupied by a secondary red light area, so if you've got kids or moral objections to that element of Amsterdam life, then bear it in mind.

Overall, it was an excellent place to stay and if I go back to the Dam in a group, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

myself and 5 friends stayed at the funky chicken appartments for 4 nites and had a great time - lina and duke were great hosts and very helpful! we will definitely be back again am quite sad 2 be home again but will def be back again soon! nic derry

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

My friends and I stayed for three nights from 19/04/10 to 21/04/10. We arrived tired due to our flights cancelled and had to arrive via a 6 hours ferry ride, followed by a 2 hour train ride. When Lina met us, she was so warm and immediately we loved her. She is super helpful and gave us loads of information and maps of Amsterdam. When I told her I wanted to go to a restaurant, she dashed back to her room and print out a Google map showing the way to walk to the place too!

She is very patient and will answer every question you throw at her. When you stay at Funky Chickin, you will feel like staying with an old friend rather than an rented apartment. The room is very well equiped with cooking stove, fridge, cooking utensils, TV, DVD player,etc. There is even coffee and sugar. As for bathroom, besides the usual towels, bathgel, shampoo, we were even suprised toothpaste is provided!

This is not a 5 star luxury hotel, but defintely a 5 star cosy home stay for us. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

I stayed here with a few friends during a trip to Amsterdam to celebrate my recent engagement. We were met by Duke who owns the property with his partner Lina. Two friendlier hosts you could not find.
We spent three very comfortable evenings in the top floor apartment and were all set to head home on our last day in Amsterdam when the infamous volcano blew. Stranded for two extra nights, Lina and Duke looked after us marvellously.
I will definitely be heading back in the not too distant future. It really was the perfect place to spend a few days enjoying the delights of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tredegar Wales
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

My family consisting of 2 adults and 2 children aged 12 and 9 stayed here. it was a fabulous place to saty - we stayed in the blue room. It was clean, tidy and comfortable with lots of little helpful extras. Lena, the owner , was great - she even gave our 9 year old a lift on her scooter - something he really enjoyed and still talks about ! Its situated close to all the main attractions - Dam Square, Red Light District, Train Station, Anne Franks House are all nearby within easy walking distance. Also close to a supermarket. IF we ever get to go to Amsterdam again - we would stay here. Its a great place to discover Amsterdam from and you get a taste of what its like to live in a traditional Amsterdam house.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2009

The single friendliest lady i have ever met, she made our stay a joy! She couldn't possibly have done any more to care for us or make us feel welcome. The house was perfect, so much space, very clean and so well provided for. The location, also perfect. All in all, the best place I have ever stayed. Couldn't recommend it enough.

  • Liked — Everything! If one thing overall, the incredible friendliness and helpfulness of Lina
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

What an AWESOME find! The place is run by Lina who could not have been more helpful. She stays in touch with you for your arrival - and when your arrival/plans change - she totally works with you. The accomodations were so much larger and better than you could ever get in a hotel. Having the kitchen lets you cook if you want and the bath and living areas are clean, spacious and comfortable. The location ROCKS! Easy to get to and to get around the entire city. I will return!!

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Chicken

Address: Spuistraat 90, 1012TZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoker-friendly and very centrally located, we provide comfortable studio apartments equipped with kitchen and shower/toilet. The apartments have single beds, sofa beds, TV, DVD, DVDs, free wifi (with improved signal strength) smoking material, linens and more. We are a 3 minutes walk to Dam Square and a 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Funky Chicken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Chicken Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.