We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Chicken

Save Saved
You added Funky Chicken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Funky Chicken
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Spuistraat 90, 1012TZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my 6th trip to Amsterdam and I usually stay in hotels, which used to allow you to smoke but as they don't anymore, I looked for a smoker-friendly place and found Funky Chickin.
I booked directly through their website, which was very easy and Lina answered my many questions quickly and thoroughly.
I was still a little nervous about it all, as I'd never booked a place like this. But there was really no need to worry as it was excellent.
Myself and a friend arrived at the apartments at 11ish in the morning (check-in time is 14:00)
I called Maya (property manager?) from downstairs and she came down and showed us around our apartment. She checked us in, gave us all the info we needed on the apartments: House rules, etc. The rules are very straight forward, they basically say you leave the place as you find it, don't make excessive noise after 23:00 etc, I think they're very reasonable, and how you should act wherever you stay.
Maya was fantastic, I had been to Amsterdam 5 times previously, but I think Maya gave us more info in 15 minutes than I had learned on my other trips. She gave us a very handy map, and pointed out some good coffee shops, restaurants, bars, clubs and how to get there. (Walking, tram numbers etc)
Maya also asked if we were smokers and gave us a nice little present, which was very much appreciated ;)
We stayed for 4 nights and found lots of 'quirks' in our apartment, although none of these minor things were enough for me to knock the rating down, as they added to the character of the place. Please be aware this is not a hotel where everywhere basically looks the same, it's a 350 year old traditional Amsterdam house.
The stairs are an adventure, you need to make sure you have everything you need before going in or leaving your apartment. You really don't want to be making an extra trip up and down them stairs!
Location is fantastic, right in the middle of all the action, without too much noise.
There is a big supermarket 5 minutes away behind Dam Square (Albert Heijn) that has everything you will need.
Maya offered to let us lock our bags in a cupboard in the apartments after we checked out, as our flight was later on. We didnt take her up on her offer, but could very useful for some people.

All in all, we were very impressed, this was exactly what we wanted. A good base to explore the City, and a comfortable apartment to chill out in, if we fancied it.
The next time I go to Amsterdam, I will definitely check if Funky Chickin is available before I check anything else.
I have put a video on YouTube if anyone wants to see the layout of the place.

Thanks again to Maya, very friendly, very helpful lady!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Having stayed at a previous hotel managed by Sonia, we booked our long weekend at the Funky Chicken without any hesitation. Once again, we were impressed with the service - our flight being delayed and us finally arriving at 03:00 in the morning - Sonia let us check in and showed us around the apartment without even mentioning our late arrival ! The flat was clean and had all the "next-day" necessities. There was four of us and the studio flat was definitely big enough, and was very quiet and safe at night. The location is great seeing as it is right next to Dam Square, the tram line, train station and a great number of bike rental companies. We would like to thank Sonia once again and we definitely recommend staying at the Funky Chicken :))

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celbridge, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

on arrival Sonia was full of info it was very helpful. the apartment is located perfectly jus a stones throw from a few coffee shops nd dam square is just up the road. apartment has two sofa beds both very comfy! going back in january definetly goin to book wit funky chickin again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great location in the heart of Amsterdam and 5 mins walk from central station. Very clean and fantastic customer care and service, Smoker friendly which surprisingly is hard to find. Huge bathroom, practical kitchen area with dining table and lovely big windows to take in the views of Amsterdam (hoe house across the street). I have been to Amsterdam several times and this was the best stay by a long shot. Great place with great character.

Room Tip: If you have a disability or find staircases challenging then ask for bottom floor. As with many of A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Decent Accomidation,... Decent price... Decent location!!!

Great stay, lovely service from sophia! Was a really good bargain!!

Thanks

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Funky Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Chicken

Address: Spuistraat 90, 1012TZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Funky Chicken 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoker-friendly and very centrally located, we provide comfortable studio apartments equipped with kitchen and shower/toilet. The apartments have single beds, sofa beds, TV, DVD, DVDs, free wifi (with improved signal strength) smoking material, linens and more. We are a 3 minutes walk to Dam Square and a 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Funky Chicken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Chicken Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.