We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Chicken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Funky Chicken to your Saves list
Funky Chicken
Spuistraat 90, 1012TZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here during april with my mom and her friend, we had triuble finding a place because of queens day and when I found this place I was very happy.
The only thing I was a bit worried about was the smoke free policy - as I am a non smoker and so were the people I traveled with.
The payment transfer went smoothly without any problems, all of my questions were answered really fast by email and directions were sent to me on how to get there.
Upon arrival to Amsterdam airport, we took a train to Amsterdam Central (take notice the ticket machines take only creditcards and the irst option will offer first class sits - which is pointless so read well), you can use cash on the human stations in the corner of the huge place.
On the train I called that we have arrived (which was 10am), and were told we have someone waiting at the apartment.
The walk from the station was really fast and the directions were written very well.
The woman waiting there named Sonia, was very nice and let us leave our suitcases at her apartment while we went to discover the city. Everything is very close together, 5 minute walk to literally everywhere. We found a really nice place to eat too if you like mean - the Runch house I think it was named ( the toilets are up the scary stairs. all the way up).
After 2pm we went to the apartment, the one given to us was on the last floor and was made out of 3 floors!
Btw, when we first saw the stairs I think our hearts skipped a beat. After actually getting all the suitcases and going down and up without it was not so scary - warning - if you drink or smoke... just be carefull.
The one thing I must note is that it was quiet. We didnt hear the neighbours, and unless you open the door to the apartment itself - no smell of smoking - unless you are very sensetive to smells and then its not your place to stay.
The apartment itself (remember the top one) has the bathroom on the lower floor. then stairs - toilets and the living/sleeping area, on the attic (how cool is that?) 2 more beds and thats about it.
Very romantic btw to sleep under the rain in the attic and you can combine the 2 beds.
The apartment itself has everything you may want. which you can read about on their site or in other reviews.
Now when you order write to them directly - you will get lower rates then the lowest on the other sites.
When I will visit amsterdam again this place is sure on the list of first places to check if available.

And remember - No kids under 18 are allowed - probably why was so peacefull!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    17
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The thing that struck me the most was the quality of the apartment, it was modern and classy with both gas hobs and microwave, a decent size fridge for the all important bacon & beer, TV/DVD, separate shower and a little present on arrival. 10 days is a long time to stay in any city and despite having a limited budget to go out we still had a ball as everything we needed for a chilled time was in the apartment
Sonia was so helpful, recommending things to do, places to go out for the night and some of the best coffee shops - all of these were extremely close by as you are only a 5 minute walk from Dam Square and 15 minutes from the two main districts for heading out on a night. She was also happy enough for us to have a couple friends over (before 11pm) for a few drinks before going to a club.The place was spotless when we arrived and after Sonia cleaned it halfway through the stay.
The only thing to watch for is the dreaded second step on the stairs which is a nightmare when you have a few drinks in you!
Really would recommend here for a young group of mates or a couple wanting a good time in Amsterdam looking somewhere chilled to base themselves. Had a great time and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The top floor 'penthouse' is highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

we had everything we needed and more, all facilities worked well and the apartment was spacious and well furnished and comfy beds and warm showers. Excellent location, 5 min walk to dam square and 5 min walk to central station with everything you need nearby. Smoker friendly for weed and tobacco. It was also a good place for a night in when we couldnt afford to go out. Sonia was so helpful and pleasant. Very steep stairs but thats typical dutch and it didnt matter. 100% recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had an amazing stay Sonia was very helpful. The little present was very much appreciated. The location for the money was spot on not far from anything. Overall we had a great experience here and will definatley be coming back here. Fantastic weekend cheers guys :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Myself and two lads had the immense pelasure of being situated on the top floor.
Stairs are immensley steep but it adds to the character.
All the bits you need, in more ways than can be mentioned :o)
Facilites were more than ok, shower worked well, cooker did the job and all the bits needed to make a nice bacon and egg sarnie in the morning were on hand.
The welcome was unique in every way and the very nice chap that showed us around reccommended some great locations to view.
Highly suggest this place for a proper chilled and relaxed time!!!!!!

Room Tip: Supermarket just down the road. Get some essentails for sarnies and save a fortune.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Absolutely fab location just a short stride away....literally! Fab welcome from fab people.....simply great in every way! The studio is well appointed and well equipped for a short stay and very reasonably priced!

Not the hilton but full of charm and perfect for a lads holiday! Thank you Funky Chickin we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Funky Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Chicken

Address: Spuistraat 90, 1012TZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoker-friendly and very centrally located, we provide comfortable studio apartments equipped with kitchen and shower/toilet. The apartments have single beds, sofa beds, TV, DVD, DVDs, free wifi (with improved signal strength) smoking material, linens and more. We are a 3 minutes walk to Dam Square and a 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Funky Chicken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Chicken Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.