We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Funky Chicken

Save Saved
You added Funky Chicken to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Funky Chicken
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Spuistraat 90, Amsterdam 1012TZ, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I came back from the Funky Chicken this morning and had a great 2 day break.
We landed into Amsterdam on the morning of the 3rd, found the station pretty quick and made our way onto the train. It was only a short journey on the train to the city centre where we followed the good instructions given to make our way to Funky Chicken. When we got there we were welcomed brilliantly by the lady on the bottom floor. She showed us our rooms and gave us some magazines to help us with what to do during our stay, she asked if we smoked, gave us a present when we answered yes and then took the money and the deposit. We definitely felt very welcomed by her. We didn't see her too much but that was because we only stayed for two days and wanted to make the most of it but she said to come see her whenever we needed her and gave us her number. Because our flight was really early in the morning we came to some arrangement with her about the deposit and the keys, she was very very helpful.
The room was great. Had two single beds that we made into a double, and two sofas. There was a dining table, some food left over from past guests, we also left some food in the fridge and cupboards, there was a hob and a microwave and plenty of cutlery. The bathroom was nice, the shower was good and in the cupboard under the sink there's lots of toiletries. Honestly, all you need to bring is the clothes you wanna wear, toothbrush and for the ladies your hair and make-up bits. Everything else is provided!
Location is BRILLIANT. Didn't walk far to get anywhere!! Was quite busy outside but also quite quiet during the evening, which is obviously great. We could really hear the people above us walking around and moving furniture about but it was bearable. We got brilliant nights sleep.
It really was just what we needed for a couple days away. My boyfriend is hoping to go back to Amsterdam in the not too distant future with a couple of friends and said he would definitely go back to Funky Chicken :)

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This place has real charm! well equiped with everything you should need. i stayed here for four nights with 3 others couldnt fault it! a littel noisy first thing in the morning but to be expected! we received a brilliant welcome gift! i would recomend this place to any one who likes a smoke and is fit for a hike up the stairs!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Three of us stayed at the apartment and it was all we could ask for.

Location is spot on, the directions were good and it is not far to get to from the station. The apartment is on a quiet stretch of the Spuisstraat. All amenities and sights are within walking distance.

Kim who greeted us was professional and very friendly. She was helpful and went out of her way to greet us all. It does state that there is only one check in per stay but Kim was ok that one of us arrived later in the day than the the others. We sorted the total and keys when everyone was there. Kim insisted on going down all of the stair cases and back up for the small change that we said not worry to about.

It was great to have our own space and to cook food in the kitchen area, there were some basic food essentials from previous guests.

The cost of the apartment is fair, especially when considering other hotel's or small number dorms at backpacker hostels.

Yeah the stairs take a little getting used to but it is just usual Dutch architecture. No problems.

I would recommend the apartment and would not look elsewhere for accommodation if myself and some friends were to visit Amsterdam again.

A very well run apartment/accommodation set up.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We were a group of 4 travelling to Amsterdam for a long weekend.

Duke was very friendly and very knowledgeable about his city, where to go, where to eat, what cafes to visit, what sites to see.

The room was well equipped with 4 single beds (2 were fold out sofas), the kitchen had everything we needed with pots and pans, cutlery and the cupboards had all the basics (tea, coffee, etc). The closest supermarket is about 5 minute walk away and the apartment had a fridge, stove and microwave oven.

The only thing I would say was that the room got very hot during the night and on Saturday night we found it difficult to sleep with the windows open due to the street noise.

The location was fantastic! About a 10 minute walk to the central train station, and close to all the attractions.

All in all a very good weekend spent in Amsterdam and at the Funky Chicken. I will definitely recommend it to anyone I know who is going for a city break. Very relaxed and chilled out place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Thet is a very friendli litle place to people how wana go to amsterdam for a short break.
I recomend for young or backpack travelers because this is not a resort where u will be spoiled. Thet is the place where nobady will u disturbe when u smoking!!
Great litle place good location a bit too expensive but very frendli staff.

Köszi a vendéglátást :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Such a chill place to stay. The staff was was lovely. Very helpful with advice on bike rentals, places to eat and the right coffee shops to visit. The location was key for me. Just blocks from the central train station The Funky Chicken was just a walk or a quick bike ride away from everything yet located on a nice quiet stretch of Spuistraat. I have to say it was just as I hoped it would be.

Room Tip: Book in advance... Don't miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle , UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

This accomodation cannot be beaten!

The location and the vibe of the place is just brilliant.
Most people seem to find problems with accomodation on trip advisor, however the funky chicken seems to be immune from criticism. I have not seen one bad review.

Unfortunately, Lina (the owner) was in South America for our stay, but a lovely Romanian girl welcomed us (plus gave us a little present on arrival - wink wink!!)
Although it is lietrally a five minute walk away from dam square, the street is suburban and quiet. You feel like your'e on the outskirts of Amsterdam.

All in all this was a fatastic trip, with the apartment being a great focal point for exploration or simply just chilling. They even have a dvd player with a great selection of movies if you fancy one of those days.

I will be returning.....again and again and again.
This is a very funky little place!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chillinAmsterdam, Owner at Funky Chicken, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Awwee! Thank you so much for your kind words!! We're really happy that you had a comfy stay and are looking forward to meeting you in person next time.

x lina & duke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Funky Chicken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Funky Chicken

Address: Spuistraat 90, Amsterdam 1012TZ, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Funky Chicken 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smoker-friendly and very centrally located, we provide comfortable studio apartments equipped with kitchen and shower/toilet. The apartments have single beds, sofa beds, TV, DVD, DVDs, free wifi (with improved signal strength) smoking material, linens and more. We are a 3 minutes walk to Dam Square and a 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Central train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelBookers, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and EasyToBook so you can book your Funky Chicken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Funky Chicken Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Funky Chicken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.