We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home comforts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home comforts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Four of us had the run of the two bedrooms and kitchen/living room which made it a very sociable few days. Jasper was very generous and helpful, going the extra mile to help us out. The B and B is in a quiet street but not too far from restaurants etc. We walked everywhere, enjoying the hot sunny weather of Amsterdam in November! very comfy beds, excellent breakfasts and well stocked fridges. We managed the stairs fine.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

A harmony of details, delivered with generosity and gentelness. We had a unique experiencie compared with several hotels and countries. We wish others could enjoy this opportunity. Good prices, receiving different kinds of things in an excelent breakfast, good environment in the neigborhood, posibility to rent a bike from the hotel in very good prices.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

Awesome B&B in a very nice and safe neighborhood away from hustle and bustle of the city center but only minutes away by tram or bike, so perfect location with many great restaurants and shops by foot. Would much rather stay in de pjip which is where bnb is located than the noisy streets of city center. The owner Jasper is a very hospitable and helpful person who will guide you away from all tourist traps and highlight must do's in Amsterdam the local way whatever reason you chose to visit the city ;) We fell in love with city and wished we could of stayed longer especially at Ostade where we felt like we were more "at home" than in a hotel. Cleanliness is great and free wifii, nice room couldn't ask for more thanks Jasper would love to go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I suggest you to book the Top Room on the top floor and looking directly onto the communal lounge where breakfast is served. Everything abundant with organic products but we have to make to prepare tea and coffee. The room is spacious and quiet although the bathroom is really small (wc and shower, the sink is in the room). Jasper is very nice and kind.
The only drawback perhaps cleaning: bathroom and common room could be cleaned better.
Vertiginous stairs to get to the rooms.
10 minuts walk fot Rijks and Van Gogh Museum, half hour for down town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Excellent B&B and Jasper is the kindest and most considerate host. We stayed 2 nights and as a party of 4 we were able to use both bedrooms and have exclusive use of the living room/kitchen so felt we had our own apartment. Can only endorse what others have said about the comfort and cleanliness. We were there late July with temperature up to 35C so were very grateful for air con in bedrooms and the fan Jasper provided for living room. There are 4 flights of very steep stairs which may be a consideration if you are not fit, but Jasper carried luggage, and also let us store it on the day we left, returning to load it and us into a taxi he had called. Breakfast is a veritable feast and extremely good value, not to mention the wine/beer/snacks provided free. Jasper even provided plastic bags to pack sandwiches we were encouraged to make from the breakfast table, so no need to buy lunch.

We really liked the area as we were surrounded not by tourists but the Dutch getting on with their lives - mostly people in their 20s/30s, enjoying themselves and each others company without being drunk or rowdy. Lots of bars and cafes used by locals. We easily walked to the Rijksmuseum, a brilliant and recently refurbished gallery and the very best option when it was too hot to walk along the canals. As the public transport system is excellent you could access any part of the city and the airport easily from the B&B. Jasper sent us clear travel directions from the airport and train station, which I think he should put on his website.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent location close to the tram. Easy to find. Host Jasper is extremely helpful and has thought of every detail. Great welcome gift of beer ,wine, nuts and cheese and soft drinks and snacks which was topped up daily. Huge room and bed and shower was huge also. Room cleaned to a very high standard. Great t.v channels available. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My friend and I recently participated in the first international pickleball tournament held in Amsterdam...a 5 minute walk from B&B Adriaen van Ostade...perfect location in a tranquil, safe location...yet not far from other major attractions. Even though the spacious room, fully stocked kitchen and refrigerator (including wine and beer), modern bathroom, charming balcony overlooking the quiet, interior courtyards, much appreciated amenities (laptop, WiFi, umbrellas, microwave, superior coffee machine, egg cooker, radio/alarm clock, travel books and maps and more) are far more than you'd expect to have in a bed and breakfast, Jasper was the "true find." He is kind, friendly, patient, informative, accommodating, flexible...with a perpetual smile that makes you feel welcomed in his "home." His ultimate goal is to please you, the traveler. What more can one ask for??

If you choose the option of having breakfast in the room (15 euros/ 2 people/ day), Jasper delivers fresh bread/bakery products each morning to your room (outside your door, the bag is hung on the handle). This price/day also includes all the other food items (meats, smoked salmon, cheeses, fruits, veggies, hummus, eggs, sweet treats/cookies, dried fruits and nuts, coffee and tea, soft drinks, fresh squeezed juices, condiments, and more!). It's a GREAT deal...no need to eat out...unless you wish to. If you want to supplement that food supply, there is a main grocery store very close by. There are also many cafes within a few block radius of the B&B.

I should also mention that the king size bed was extremely comfortable with separate comforters and multiple pillows. The large room will also accommodate a twin size cot (extra daily fee). The room has a sitting area with 2 chairs, tables, lap top, and flat screen TV and a small kitchen table with two chairs. The area feels like a studio apartment.

The beauty of this B&B is that you feel as if you are "living" in the neighborhood and not just "touring" AND major sights are easily accessed by foot or public transportation. I would DEFINITELY return to this B&B and plan to share my experiences with anyone who travels to Amsterdam. I look forward to next year's pickleball tournament in Amsterdam!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.