We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The location was great. The facility was comfortable. The host, Jasper, was terrific.

Right from the time we made the reservation the host began to provide helpful advice for getting to the B&B and for planning our visit to Holland generally. We arrived early into Amsterdam and were allowed to leave our bags and freshen up well before regular check-in time. We really appreciated that. They rushed to make up our room early.

Each day Jasper spent time with us, providing maps, directions, and advice as well as hearing of our experiences during the day. He obtained in-country transportation information for us for our trips out of Amsterdam. We enjoyed hearing his insights into Amsterdam and Holland. It became obvious that he was also interested in us and where we came from.

The B&B is well located, walking distance from markets, museums, and tram stations. It was a very convenient base for experiencing Amsterdam. And because it was in a residential area, we experienced how the locals live. Rooms were very comfortable, especially the beds. The common room is handy, well stocked with information and with a guest internet terminal with printer.

Breakfast is optional (breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, cereals), which we appreciated because of our habit of using the local markets for that. In a very memorable gesture, the host offered us a complimentary breakfast on May 5th, Liberation Day because we are Canadians. We talk about that a lot to friends and acquaintances.

While in Amsterdam I needed to get emergency repairs done to my phone. Jasper took me to the Apple store via bicycles which was an adventure in its own right. And then at the end of our stay he walked us to the appropriate tram station, helping with our bags, to ensure that we made it to the train station and airport.

We were treated like true guests, like family or close friends that we'd host in our own home.

One significant thing we were made aware of at time of reservation is that the guest rooms are on the third and fourth floors up a steep and narrow stairway. Not an issue for us but would be for physically challenged. Jasper helped us up and down with our bags.

We highly recommend this B&B as long as the stairs aren't an issue.

Room Tip: Note the steep staircase before you reserve.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great small B&B that really made our stay in Amsterdam. We were considering a room at one of the bigger hotels - but i went with this 2 roomed B&B and I'm super glad we did!! It's not located in the busy touristy red light district city centre so you get to experience more local culture in Amsterdam. It's easy to get around on public transport or by bike which the B&B can rent to you. Clean comfy room with everything you need - incl. a room fridge with some goodies that really came in handy!

Jasper was really helpful; provided us with loads of information and good recommendations. We had booked most of the big attraction tickets beforehand which was good - but other things to do were explained by Jasper and really did help make our trip really authentic and fun.

Wifi and PC to print tickets are always available and worked great - very handy. Market nearby (recommended by Jasper) was great and we had some great food at a restaurant just off the main market road. When people write about the stairs in Amsterdam, it's hard to understand what they mean. But when you see the stairs in the tall skinny buildings for the first time you'll understand. The stairs are tiny and super steep; so rather than having one big bag, take two smaller ones; Jasper carried mine up and down for me (Dankie Jasper!).

One thing that could be changed - our bed was a double, but the duvet wasn't; we had two smaller ones. it didn't cause too much of an issue but was something I would change.

If you are struggling to book a reasonably priced place in Amsterdam that will give you all you need (and much more) look no further - your trip will be great when based staying at this well run, organised, personal and helpful B&B. We really loved it; appreciated our hosts help and would stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Spent 4 nights at this B&B in early April. Booking was easy. They do require payment in cash. Making the reservation was very easy and Jasper & Tom provided detailed instructions on how to get from AMS airport to their house.

The good:
* large bedroom (Balcony Room)
* updated/clean/new bathroom & shower
* mini frig in the room
* basic items were supplied (blow dryer, wine, beverages, towels, coffee/tea)
* nice change from a standard hotel room, especially if you want to see what a traditional Amsterdam house is like. Many reviewers commented on the stairs, yes, they are steep and narrow, but once you get the hang of it, they aren't so bad. Just stick to the outside part of the stairs.
* easy access to the tram, which will take you in to central Amsterdam
* very very very quiet at night

The not so good
* while they had a 'no smoking policy' the room still had the smell of smoke, which seems to be a common thing in a city where everyone smokes. I even tried turning off the heat in the hopes that would cut down on the smell.

Overall it was a nice place to stay. I wouldn't it call it 'luxury' but it was a good place to go home to every night after a day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was looking for a B&B close by the RAI. A one mile walk to this delghtful B&B in a quiet street 10 minutes tram ride from Dam Square. Justin greeted me and carried my bag up the "Dutch" staircase to my first floor room. Very nice, large and clean complete with bathroom (bath and seperate rain shower).

Free wireless and a computor in the room, incase you've forgotten yours! A bottle of wine on the table and beer and soft drinks in the fridge (included in the price). Lot's of fresh fruit on the bowl.

Tea and coffee making facilities and also plates, knives and forks etc also in the kitchen unit if you want to have a take out.

Breakfast is served on the top floor, everything all set out beautifully. Good selection of cheese, cold meats, eggs, cereals and breads. Make your own fresh coffee or tea.

Justin was very helpful with local infomation. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We loved being just minutes from the museums, eating breakfast whenever we chose, the wine, drinks and snacks in our frig. Jasper's restaurant suggestions were excellent. Laundromat just out the front door had our clothes ready in no time! Couldn't have picked a better place. Spacious, light, well-appointed B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying at this B&B was the highlight of our ten weeks trip to Europe. Jasper met us at the front door and insisted on carrying our luggage up to our gorgeous first floor balcony apartment. He took time to show us where everything was and escorted us up to the third floor sitting room which is the most delightful place to read, watch TV or just relax. Our "welcome gift" was a wonderful bottle of wine, the first of several gifts from our amazing host. This together with fresh fruit, chocolates and other treats appeared in our room daily. It became exciting to come "home" each evening! Our room was very spacious, the bed luxuriously comfortable, very quiet and a wonderful rain shower. It was always great to return to the lovely, trendy, quiet area of De Pijp after busy days of sight seeing. There is a terrific street market a short distance from the B&B and lots of atmospheric cafes which Jasper told us about. We could have stayed five weeks, not five days and would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor room to minimise steep steps..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for three days at Adriaen van Ostade in mid-September during our trip to Europe and could not have asked for a better spot. Jasper was a wonderful host and made sure to tell us where all the great tourist destinations of Amsterdam were located. We stayed in the top room and it was like staying in our own apartment in the city. In the evenings, it was very quiet and had no problem sleeping. Everything was very clean and comfortable. It was nice to not be right in the hustle and bustle of the city. Only 10 minute walk from the Heineken Experience and Van Gough museum and 15 minute walk into the heat of downtown Amsterdam. If you are looking for a unique and once in a lifetime experience of living in the city, this is the spot for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.