We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   van Ostadestraat 66, Amsterdam 1071 CR, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was looking for a B&B close by the RAI. A one mile walk to this delghtful B&B in a quiet street 10 minutes tram ride from Dam Square. Justin greeted me and carried my bag up the "Dutch" staircase to my first floor room. Very nice, large and clean complete with bathroom (bath and seperate rain shower).

Free wireless and a computor in the room, incase you've forgotten yours! A bottle of wine on the table and beer and soft drinks in the fridge (included in the price). Lot's of fresh fruit on the bowl.

Tea and coffee making facilities and also plates, knives and forks etc also in the kitchen unit if you want to have a take out.

Breakfast is served on the top floor, everything all set out beautifully. Good selection of cheese, cold meats, eggs, cereals and breads. Make your own fresh coffee or tea.

Justin was very helpful with local infomation. I'll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We loved being just minutes from the museums, eating breakfast whenever we chose, the wine, drinks and snacks in our frig. Jasper's restaurant suggestions were excellent. Laundromat just out the front door had our clothes ready in no time! Couldn't have picked a better place. Spacious, light, well-appointed B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERTH
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying at this B&B was the highlight of our ten weeks trip to Europe. Jasper met us at the front door and insisted on carrying our luggage up to our gorgeous first floor balcony apartment. He took time to show us where everything was and escorted us up to the third floor sitting room which is the most delightful place to read, watch TV or just relax. Our "welcome gift" was a wonderful bottle of wine, the first of several gifts from our amazing host. This together with fresh fruit, chocolates and other treats appeared in our room daily. It became exciting to come "home" each evening! Our room was very spacious, the bed luxuriously comfortable, very quiet and a wonderful rain shower. It was always great to return to the lovely, trendy, quiet area of De Pijp after busy days of sight seeing. There is a terrific street market a short distance from the B&B and lots of atmospheric cafes which Jasper told us about. We could have stayed five weeks, not five days and would most definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the first floor room to minimise steep steps..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed for three days at Adriaen van Ostade in mid-September during our trip to Europe and could not have asked for a better spot. Jasper was a wonderful host and made sure to tell us where all the great tourist destinations of Amsterdam were located. We stayed in the top room and it was like staying in our own apartment in the city. In the evenings, it was very quiet and had no problem sleeping. Everything was very clean and comfortable. It was nice to not be right in the hustle and bustle of the city. Only 10 minute walk from the Heineken Experience and Van Gough museum and 15 minute walk into the heat of downtown Amsterdam. If you are looking for a unique and once in a lifetime experience of living in the city, this is the spot for you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria BC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed with B&B Van Ostade for a night in September. Our host Jasper was the most welcoming, helpful and kind. The room was very specious, clean and quiet. The king size bed was very comfortable.

We appreciated the location of the appartment. Centrally located in a historic house, the B&B is situated up a few flights of stairs that are typical of the city's architecture. Close to a tram route that brings you directly to the Central station.

Jasper has made us feel like home and we will gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at Ostade B&B for a week, at the top room. Great location, very homely place.

I strongly recommend on choosing the top room, even though it requires climbing the slightly-steep stairwell (classic Dutch architecture feature, from what I saw). The reason for that is that the top room has an adjacent communal living room, equipped with a TV + DVD (the room had a TV too), a PC connected to the internet + a printer, a bookshelf with various travel books, lots and of DVDs and a kitchen.

During most of the day, the tenants of the other floors did not bother to climb all the way up, so we practically had an entire spacious suite to ourselves - room+kitchen+living room, and for a very reasonable price. We could make our breakfasts or dinners there in privacy, or relax on the sofa.

When we first entered, we got an entire fridge full of complimentary drinks: wine, beer, coke, juice etc, no extra charge. Even though we stayed there for 7 days, we didn't manage to finish them all, and believe me - we tried.

Bathroom - great, roomy. Cleanliness - perfect. Very quiet yet nice location. There's a branch of the affordable Albert Heijn supermarket chain across the street (good pre-packed meals), that's open till 22:00, and there's a 24x7 nightshop just around the corner. There's a nice aromatic bakery nearby too. The Arlbert Cuyp market is within a very short walk. There are several tramstops there, with very frequent trams leading to all the central locations and tourist attractions.

Furthermore, the owners were very congenial and helpful, and gave us good travel tips. I saw that a lot of reviewers here mentioned that the staircase was a tad steep - it was no big deal, in fact it gave the place an authentic Dutch vibe, and it was just three floors anyway. I wouldn't want to stay in one of those dull chain hotels that look exactly the same in every city in the world, just to have an elevator.

I'd stay there again!

- Dar.

Room Tip: Choose the top room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I greatly enjoyed my stay at Adriaen van Ostade. The place was conveniently located to tram lines and walking distance to the Albert Cuyp Market, which is a fun place to check out. I greatly appreciated Jasper's help in navigating the local area, he gave me some recommendations of places to visit and also helped me figure out my transportation via train back to the airport.

The place itself is very comfortable and like a home away from home, there were books, movies, guidebooks and snacks for guests. The room was clean and had a mini-fridge and a very comfortable bed.

I would highly recommend staying here if you're visiting Amsterdam. The neighborhood is great and easy to get to, and the place is wonderful to stay at.

Room Tip: I had a room on the top floor and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, Amsterdam 1071 CR, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.