We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I greatly enjoyed my stay at Adriaen van Ostade. The place was conveniently located to tram lines and walking distance to the Albert Cuyp Market, which is a fun place to check out. I greatly appreciated Jasper's help in navigating the local area, he gave me some recommendations of places to visit and also helped me figure out my transportation via train back to the airport.

The place itself is very comfortable and like a home away from home, there were books, movies, guidebooks and snacks for guests. The room was clean and had a mini-fridge and a very comfortable bed.

I would highly recommend staying here if you're visiting Amsterdam. The neighborhood is great and easy to get to, and the place is wonderful to stay at.

Room Tip: I had a room on the top floor and really liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
42
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Jasper is the most friendly and accomodating host who is very happy to have long chats with you. Nothing is too much trouble and he provides a wonderful array of food for breakfast. I love the fact that the room is fully serviced to have your breakfast when ever you want, but it is also spacious and well lit. Every little detail from the abundance of snacks to a welcome bottle of wine makes the visit a real treat. We would definitely book again when next we come to Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here in March, and really enjoyed my new found home away from home. I arrived after a 9 hour flight from Canada, and used the directions given to me by Jasper. It only took 20 Minutes to get from the airport to the front door of the B+B. I was met by Jasper and was made to feel at home right away.
My room was the balcony room, which was nice and bright, With a very comfortable bed. It has a small fridge, and sink, toaster etc. And was already stocked with beer, wine, pop, bread, cheese, and some sandwich meat, which was a very nice surprise. On the top floor, was a very nice little kitchen and small lounge, that had a TV, and a computer with a printer, also a very nice surprise. There is a very good selection of Amsterdam information. The B+B is a little south of the city center, which makes it nice and quiet. It is very easy to get anywhere in the city by the tram, which is only a 5 minute walk away, or about a 25 minute walk to Dam Square.
And then there is Jasper. I can honestly say I have never met such a gracious host. It quickly becomes clear that he is passionate about his home and his city. There is nothing that I wanted to know that he could not help me with.
I stayed here for 3 days at the start of my trip, and for 2 days at the end. My only regret is I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Florence, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

B&B was really cosy and impeccably clean. The hotel has its own bikes for 5 eur/day only. Breakfast was really good, even for italian standarts. And finally Jasper gave us a lot of useful advises! We would definitely return there in case of another trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Balcony room is nice. It faces the inner yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here for three days and was delighted with the accomodation and the entire experience. Jasper is a great guy who goes to great lengths to make your stay comfortable, he is helpful with everything from things to see, how to get there, what to eat...in short you don't need a guide book for Amsterdam when you stay at Adriaen! Stayed in the top room (they have two rooms the other one is at level two with attached balcony); now where do i start with advantages: 1) Comes with attached (clean) bathrooms (2) large and very tidy room - the mattress is expensive Hotel quality. (3) Well stocked fridge with beer/chips/juices etc. all on the house! (4) Great location - is away from the loud party squares but close enought to walk to these places, else you take tram 24 which takes you to Heineken, Museum square, Dam Square and finally central station (5) Living room - access to another TV, internet, printer, couch, whatever else you need if you get thown out of the room by your partner :). (6) breakfast at 5 Euros is strongly reccomended, consists of meats/cereal/bread/cheese/juice/breads/tea/coffee.
Only word of caution is to people who have problem climbing stairs - not recommended as you will find it diffciult to use the steep stairs.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker - room with balcony. Else, the top room as it gives yo direct accesss to the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Jasper is just a lovely guy, so helpful and sociable and generous. We had self-service breakfast and Jasper provided varied, good quality food. He also tidied away all the dishes and food afterwards. The bedroom and sitting room were clean and comfortable and the fridge in our room was kept well-stocked with complimentary juice, beer, wine, tea, coffee and snacks. We really enjoyed this luxury B and B! Jasper was an excellent host!

Room Tip: The balcony room and hte top room were both very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I loved our little (2 rooms) bed and breakfast, but it was about 45 narrow, steep steps up to the first room. Not for those with any conditions that impair you. However; I enjoyed the true Dutch flavor of the building. Ours was the lower room and when the weather is warm, the balcony would be wonderful. Also, our bath and shower had just been remodeled and I loved the shower. We had plenty of room to spread out luggage for 2. but Jaspher needs to install more hooks near the hand basin for wet face towels. Everything was either within walking distance or a short bus ride away. We had a choice of local restaurants ( Bazar was close) and a grocery was just around the corner. The computer was a blessing since I don't really like reading and sending e-mail off my Kindle. I'd stay there again if I get to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.