We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to stay in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“The Place to stay in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here for three days and was delighted with the accomodation and the entire experience. Jasper is a great guy who goes to great lengths to make your stay comfortable, he is helpful with everything from things to see, how to get there, what to eat...in short you don't need a guide book for Amsterdam when you stay at Adriaen! Stayed in the top room (they have two rooms the other one is at level two with attached balcony); now where do i start with advantages: 1) Comes with attached (clean) bathrooms (2) large and very tidy room - the mattress is expensive Hotel quality. (3) Well stocked fridge with beer/chips/juices etc. all on the house! (4) Great location - is away from the loud party squares but close enought to walk to these places, else you take tram 24 which takes you to Heineken, Museum square, Dam Square and finally central station (5) Living room - access to another TV, internet, printer, couch, whatever else you need if you get thown out of the room by your partner :). (6) breakfast at 5 Euros is strongly reccomended, consists of meats/cereal/bread/cheese/juice/breads/tea/coffee.
Only word of caution is to people who have problem climbing stairs - not recommended as you will find it diffciult to use the steep stairs.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker - room with balcony. Else, the top room as it gives yo direct accesss to the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Jasper is just a lovely guy, so helpful and sociable and generous. We had self-service breakfast and Jasper provided varied, good quality food. He also tidied away all the dishes and food afterwards. The bedroom and sitting room were clean and comfortable and the fridge in our room was kept well-stocked with complimentary juice, beer, wine, tea, coffee and snacks. We really enjoyed this luxury B and B! Jasper was an excellent host!

Room Tip: The balcony room and hte top room were both very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I loved our little (2 rooms) bed and breakfast, but it was about 45 narrow, steep steps up to the first room. Not for those with any conditions that impair you. However; I enjoyed the true Dutch flavor of the building. Ours was the lower room and when the weather is warm, the balcony would be wonderful. Also, our bath and shower had just been remodeled and I loved the shower. We had plenty of room to spread out luggage for 2. but Jaspher needs to install more hooks near the hand basin for wet face towels. Everything was either within walking distance or a short bus ride away. We had a choice of local restaurants ( Bazar was close) and a grocery was just around the corner. The computer was a blessing since I don't really like reading and sending e-mail off my Kindle. I'd stay there again if I get to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for few nights in December and had a very enjoyable time. We had a choice of the upper or lower apartment We chose the upper as it was larger and brighter and when nobody occupied the lower apartment you had the whole upper floor to yourself. The lower has opening doors to a balcony which is south facing and suitable for smokers . Very nice and clean.Breakfast consisted of cereals, breads and meats and cheeses and plenty of tea/coffee served in the upstairstairs apartment kitchen. More than adequate breakfast but not American style excess. Close to out door markets for food No hobs in kitchen just microwaveComputer with free wi-fi . Jasper is very friendly, helpful and health conscious and it is like a home from home. Walked everywhere No need for trams Highly reccommend this little 'home'

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

While the guesthouse is not situated in the centre of Amsterdam, the reality is that it is within walking distance of the museum quarter, and the city centre is a short tram ride away.

What's great about the location is that you're not in the middle of the tourist area, so the chances of finding a restaurant where the locals eat is much better! We had some great eating & drinking experiences at the local pubs and restaurants.

The facilities were perfect: good sized rooms with great bedding, a kitchen with everything you need, free wifi (a huge bonus for the last minute research you want to do), and enough TV channels to keep most TV addicts satisfied.

Jasper was a great host that really looked after us and made sure we had everything we needed.

Just a word of caution: the rooms are up 3 flights of stairs (up a very narrow staircase), so be prepared to climb. Jasper was however quick to offer to carry our cases!

Room Tip: The top room is great as it is on the same level as the kitchen in case you feel like a midnight sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This B&B is a hidden gem. There are only 2 rooms, but the facilities are more than adequate as the rooms are comfortable and you have access to a fully-equipped kitchen/lounge with a computer that is connected to the internet. You also get free wi-fi and complimentary snacks/drinks from the little fridge in the room.

The only downside is probably the fact that the rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floors, up a narrow staircase but this is really not a problem (unless you're morbidly obese or are dragging up very full suitcases).

The main asset of the place though is the host, who was very friendly and helpful to us. He went out of his way to ensure that we were very well looked after, and this included coming over at 0630 in the morning when our taxi arrived just in case we needed help with the luggage!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights after leaving Spain where we'd been for 6 weeks and then France, where we stayed about 2 weeks. We were a little travel weary but felt like this place was an oasis. Jasper greeted us warmly, helped us carry ALL of our luggage (full of books and travel gear for our long stay in Europe) up to our 3rd floor room and gave us a tour of the place. His sense of humor is fantastic and he is very bright; we got to know a little about the country's social history just chatting with him, which enriched our stay. He got us maps, pointed out markets and other things to do and even showed us how to use the coffee pot in our room. First class but personal service!
We walked everywhere from the B&B without using cabs and we saw a lot in our short stay because the location was so good.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a lot of amenities, including wonderful Dutch chocolate left daily. What a treat! We had a nice balcony but it was quiet. We had friends over and they liked it so much they said they'd try to stay there on their return trip.
The breakfast was self-serve but generous. Fruit, breads, various kinds of protein (sausage, eggs, cheese) and great coffee. The upstairs breakfast and sitting area is cozy and clean.
Note: when you ring the bell for the B&B, Jasper gets a call on his cellphone so that even if he's not in the building, you can reach him. Very handy. We would stay at this B&B again -- indeed, we have been talking about going back this coming May. Thanks Jasper!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.