We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Adriaen van Ostade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“B&B Adriaen van Ostade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for few nights in December and had a very enjoyable time. We had a choice of the upper or lower apartment We chose the upper as it was larger and brighter and when nobody occupied the lower apartment you had the whole upper floor to yourself. The lower has opening doors to a balcony which is south facing and suitable for smokers . Very nice and clean.Breakfast consisted of cereals, breads and meats and cheeses and plenty of tea/coffee served in the upstairstairs apartment kitchen. More than adequate breakfast but not American style excess. Close to out door markets for food No hobs in kitchen just microwaveComputer with free wi-fi . Jasper is very friendly, helpful and health conscious and it is like a home from home. Walked everywhere No need for trams Highly reccommend this little 'home'

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
40
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

While the guesthouse is not situated in the centre of Amsterdam, the reality is that it is within walking distance of the museum quarter, and the city centre is a short tram ride away.

What's great about the location is that you're not in the middle of the tourist area, so the chances of finding a restaurant where the locals eat is much better! We had some great eating & drinking experiences at the local pubs and restaurants.

The facilities were perfect: good sized rooms with great bedding, a kitchen with everything you need, free wifi (a huge bonus for the last minute research you want to do), and enough TV channels to keep most TV addicts satisfied.

Jasper was a great host that really looked after us and made sure we had everything we needed.

Just a word of caution: the rooms are up 3 flights of stairs (up a very narrow staircase), so be prepared to climb. Jasper was however quick to offer to carry our cases!

Room Tip: The top room is great as it is on the same level as the kitchen in case you feel like a midnight sna...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This B&B is a hidden gem. There are only 2 rooms, but the facilities are more than adequate as the rooms are comfortable and you have access to a fully-equipped kitchen/lounge with a computer that is connected to the internet. You also get free wi-fi and complimentary snacks/drinks from the little fridge in the room.

The only downside is probably the fact that the rooms are on the 3rd and 4th floors, up a narrow staircase but this is really not a problem (unless you're morbidly obese or are dragging up very full suitcases).

The main asset of the place though is the host, who was very friendly and helpful to us. He went out of his way to ensure that we were very well looked after, and this included coming over at 0630 in the morning when our taxi arrived just in case we needed help with the luggage!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights after leaving Spain where we'd been for 6 weeks and then France, where we stayed about 2 weeks. We were a little travel weary but felt like this place was an oasis. Jasper greeted us warmly, helped us carry ALL of our luggage (full of books and travel gear for our long stay in Europe) up to our 3rd floor room and gave us a tour of the place. His sense of humor is fantastic and he is very bright; we got to know a little about the country's social history just chatting with him, which enriched our stay. He got us maps, pointed out markets and other things to do and even showed us how to use the coffee pot in our room. First class but personal service!
We walked everywhere from the B&B without using cabs and we saw a lot in our short stay because the location was so good.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a lot of amenities, including wonderful Dutch chocolate left daily. What a treat! We had a nice balcony but it was quiet. We had friends over and they liked it so much they said they'd try to stay there on their return trip.
The breakfast was self-serve but generous. Fruit, breads, various kinds of protein (sausage, eggs, cheese) and great coffee. The upstairs breakfast and sitting area is cozy and clean.
Note: when you ring the bell for the B&B, Jasper gets a call on his cellphone so that even if he's not in the building, you can reach him. Very handy. We would stay at this B&B again -- indeed, we have been talking about going back this coming May. Thanks Jasper!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I’m a bit late with my review (I stayed there for 10 days in September 2010) but since my stay was a pleasant experience I’d like to share it. First of all, the B&B is situated in a quiet area with a couple of supermarkets (including Albert Heijn), pharmacies and several cafes within a quarter. A 5-10 minute walk and you’ll find even more cafes and restaurants in De Pijp area. Rijksmuseum is about 15 minutes on foot from the B&B. For those who’d like to make a trip to Ajax football stadium, Utrecht and other towns south and southwest of Amsterdam – use Amsterdam Zuid station near the World Trade Center (20 minutes from the B&B).
Now back to the building: it’s renovated, clean and cosy but be aware of infamous Amsterdam staircases. Once you climb onto the fourth floor (I occupied the top room) you’ll discover a rather big and sunny dining room next to your apartment. The top room is bigger than it looks on the pictures and equipped with everything you may need during a long stay, I particularly liked a tea/coffee making machine. WiFi connection is excellent, even in the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom: it consists of a shower cabin (not too big but not too small either) and toilet but the sink is situated separately – in the room’s corner along with fridge, tea/coffee machine and a big mirror (it sounds more inconvenient than it is in reality). Overall, the room is so home-like and has so much air you may actually like the idea of spending there the whole day.
Thumbs up to the hosts who keep the apartments so functional, clean and stylish.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the B&B in May. We stayed in the new 1st floor apartment which was a great luck because of the killer steps (but it is the same everywhere in Amsterdam). The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom is large and spotlessly clean. We also had a balcony opening onto an inner courtyard. The breakfast (for an extra 10 € / 2 persons) was plentiful and really nice, Jasper is a fantastic host. Location is perfect, a short walk to the tram.
The beds were super comfortable though a bit on the narrow side. There are plenyty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, not to mention the Albert Cuyp market which is 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam Center, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We got a Top room for our 2 night stayed. The room is quite spacious and with attached bathroom. Everything is clean, bedsheet,bathroom, living room, etc.
The spiral and steep staircase might be a problem for the elderly so please bear in mind on that part.
The facility is quite good with free wifi, free computer with printer, small dining and living room. The breakfast provided is very simple.. nothing much to talk about. It is just few type of bread, limited cereal, orange juice, coffee machine, and boiled egg.
The location is in a good area, not touristic and safe. Away from the bustling of the city people.
Tram to the city only take about 15 min. Tram in Amsterdam is quite expensive, so you can consider to purchase daily or 3 days unlimited ride (depend on the number of nights that you stay in Amsterdam).
We would like to thank Jasper for his help during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.