We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven in heavenly Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Save Saved
You added Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven in heavenly Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for two nights after leaving Spain where we'd been for 6 weeks and then France, where we stayed about 2 weeks. We were a little travel weary but felt like this place was an oasis. Jasper greeted us warmly, helped us carry ALL of our luggage (full of books and travel gear for our long stay in Europe) up to our 3rd floor room and gave us a tour of the place. His sense of humor is fantastic and he is very bright; we got to know a little about the country's social history just chatting with him, which enriched our stay. He got us maps, pointed out markets and other things to do and even showed us how to use the coffee pot in our room. First class but personal service!
We walked everywhere from the B&B without using cabs and we saw a lot in our short stay because the location was so good.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable, with a lot of amenities, including wonderful Dutch chocolate left daily. What a treat! We had a nice balcony but it was quiet. We had friends over and they liked it so much they said they'd try to stay there on their return trip.
The breakfast was self-serve but generous. Fruit, breads, various kinds of protein (sausage, eggs, cheese) and great coffee. The upstairs breakfast and sitting area is cozy and clean.
Note: when you ring the bell for the B&B, Jasper gets a call on his cellphone so that even if he's not in the building, you can reach him. Very handy. We would stay at this B&B again -- indeed, we have been talking about going back this coming May. Thanks Jasper!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
37
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I’m a bit late with my review (I stayed there for 10 days in September 2010) but since my stay was a pleasant experience I’d like to share it. First of all, the B&B is situated in a quiet area with a couple of supermarkets (including Albert Heijn), pharmacies and several cafes within a quarter. A 5-10 minute walk and you’ll find even more cafes and restaurants in De Pijp area. Rijksmuseum is about 15 minutes on foot from the B&B. For those who’d like to make a trip to Ajax football stadium, Utrecht and other towns south and southwest of Amsterdam – use Amsterdam Zuid station near the World Trade Center (20 minutes from the B&B).
Now back to the building: it’s renovated, clean and cosy but be aware of infamous Amsterdam staircases. Once you climb onto the fourth floor (I occupied the top room) you’ll discover a rather big and sunny dining room next to your apartment. The top room is bigger than it looks on the pictures and equipped with everything you may need during a long stay, I particularly liked a tea/coffee making machine. WiFi connection is excellent, even in the bathroom. Speaking of the bathroom: it consists of a shower cabin (not too big but not too small either) and toilet but the sink is situated separately – in the room’s corner along with fridge, tea/coffee machine and a big mirror (it sounds more inconvenient than it is in reality). Overall, the room is so home-like and has so much air you may actually like the idea of spending there the whole day.
Thumbs up to the hosts who keep the apartments so functional, clean and stylish.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We spent 4 nights at the B&B in May. We stayed in the new 1st floor apartment which was a great luck because of the killer steps (but it is the same everywhere in Amsterdam). The room was spacious and comfortable, the bathroom is large and spotlessly clean. We also had a balcony opening onto an inner courtyard. The breakfast (for an extra 10 € / 2 persons) was plentiful and really nice, Jasper is a fantastic host. Location is perfect, a short walk to the tram.
The beds were super comfortable though a bit on the narrow side. There are plenyty of restaurants in the immediate vicinity, not to mention the Albert Cuyp market which is 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam Center, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We got a Top room for our 2 night stayed. The room is quite spacious and with attached bathroom. Everything is clean, bedsheet,bathroom, living room, etc.
The spiral and steep staircase might be a problem for the elderly so please bear in mind on that part.
The facility is quite good with free wifi, free computer with printer, small dining and living room. The breakfast provided is very simple.. nothing much to talk about. It is just few type of bread, limited cereal, orange juice, coffee machine, and boiled egg.
The location is in a good area, not touristic and safe. Away from the bustling of the city people.
Tram to the city only take about 15 min. Tram in Amsterdam is quite expensive, so you can consider to purchase daily or 3 days unlimited ride (depend on the number of nights that you stay in Amsterdam).
We would like to thank Jasper for his help during our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We recently stayed at the B&B and found it was the perfect location and great value. For the location, it's centrally located with easy access to all the key tourist venues, but without being in the commercial tourist district. Staying at the B&B really allows for a sense of Amsterdam - whether it's the easy access to the market, or the numerous restaurants all within walking distance. As for the B&B itself, it's modern, clean, and the internal stairs just add to the character - again, allowing for a real sense of living in Amsterdam, rather than staying in a hotel. Jasper, one of the owners, could not have been nicer and more accommodating. He is a gem - very prompt to respond to requests/queries and genuinely wants to ensure guests enjoy their stay both in Amsterdam and at the B&B. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit (and have already recommended to friends).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed in the B&B with a friend for a convention that took place in the RAI Amsterdam. This is a great alternative to an hotel in a great neighborhood just a little off the center.
Location: the B&B is located in the Pjip which is a "trendy" neighborhood in the middle between center town and the convention center. It is very comfortable for the convention center (10-15 minutes walk), the museums (10 minutes walk) and close to city center by tram (about 15-20 minutes total journey time, and you could also walk) . the neighborhood is much nicer than the busy touristic center. It is quiet, full of nice trendy cafes and bakeries and most places are for locals so we couldn't find any "Tourist traps" around. It is also very comfortable to get there from schiphol (take a 2.5Euro 10 minutes train ride to Amsterdam Zuid center and from there a taxi costs 10Euro, total journey time 20-25minutes).
The place itself: a very well maintained place in a typical Dutch building. There are two rooms, we stayed in the upper one which has a little common room with a kitchenette, table, sofa next to it, so we used it as an extension to the room. It's very quiet, the floor boards don't creek although it's from wood, and they clean and tidy every day. We didn't order breakfast but be aware that if you start your day early on weekends or public holidays most places around are still closed until at least 0900. The owner Jasper lives two minutes from the B&B so you actually don’t feel like you are in someone else's house, more like a little house of you own. He is very kind and helpful, and also checking out time is very flexible, especially if they have no guest in your room the day of your departure.
The only things you should pay attention too: the stairs are very steep like in many Dutch houses (climbing those 4 flights of stairs several times a day is like going to the gym), so for very old, very young or very sick this might be problematic. While the area is very nice it has remains of a once shady neighborhood – very close to the hotel, and very surprisingly, there is a little "annex" to the red light district which is even active during daytime so if those kind of thinks bother you.
All in all – highly recommended. Ideal for someone attending a convention in the RAI who doesn't want another boring characterless hotel. Very good for romantic couples and Also great for tourists wanting to stay a little out of the main hassle and bustle but close enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
endeavour hills
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Jasper was a real help in carrying our luggage upstairs, thank god, i am close to 70, do not go there if you have a weight carry problem, 72 stairs, I counted them.
Breakfast was ordinary, bread provided was not suitable for toasting, small thin sliced loaf pieces which got lost in the toaster and when toasted were crispy crispy , eggs could only be boiled in a space age machine suitable for astronauts with 30 days training, came out soft or hard boiled, take your pick.
No facility for fried, poached or scrambled eggs, plus bacon, either is norm in all parts of Europe we travelled in. Cereal was oats or all bran bowel cleanser, no cornflakes or other cereals,
The other issue was the hand washing basin is in your room, away from the toilet/ shower, a bit different for standard hygeine facilities.
The facility has 2 rooms (balcony and top room) available for rent, but there were 2 guys from another apartment using the breakfast/dining area apparently for computer connection reasons , while this did not bother us, it was a specification not stated in the website.
In summing up, not luxury, we were disappointed that this facility was below the promoted status, but, hey, tell it as you see it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade

Address: van Ostadestraat 66, 1071 CR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.