We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #138 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Average business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I am a regular guest here and now after several occasions, my opinion is that it is a boring business hotel, not close to anything. There is a shuttle service between the airport and the city center - good point. Wifi is not available in rooms, not even in the executive rooms which is nonsense. The hotel is always crowded, wifi is only available in the public places but because of the crowds it is slow and inconvenient to use. Cleanliness is average. Breakfast is average. No real distinctive features....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Niki C,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy that you have chosen to stay at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport. Our sincere apologies for the aspects you were not satisfied with. I want to share with you that we are currently busy with WiFi throughout the hotel, unfortunately this takes time. Furthermore we are very happy that you like the shuttle service that we offer, of course we have our own complimentary Airport shuttle and the paid-shuttle to Amsterdam.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward seeing you again at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport or at one of our affiliated hotels when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    231
    144
    28
    30
See reviews for
69
165
62
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel out of the 4 hotels I stayed in on this vacation was definitely the best. We got in to early so we sat in their restaurant for breakfast and to wait to check in, the server (Feuda?) that worked in the restaurant was extremely sweet, she gave us great service at the restaurant, but also gave us tips about the city, and King's day. The receptionist showed us how to get into the city, and they also helped us out with the best places for currency exchange, and traveling, ect. The walk to the tram to get into the city center was about 15 minutes, but it is a beautiful walk, the tram into the city is super easy and convenient, just make sure you have the correct amount of euros for a ticket. Breakfast at the hotel is very good, what they call an "express" breakfast was more than enough for one person, and it is a good "dutch" breakfast. The tv had great wifi and I believe english tv channels. The hotel was very close to the airport, and had great and convenient free transportation to and from.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Toni L,

What an amazing review did you wrote on TripAdvisor! Thank you very much!

I hope you could experience King’s day the Dutch way because it is fantastic to enjoy this day with the Dutch people. I would also like to thank you for your nice comments about Fadoua. I’ve shared this with her and it really made her day. I am also very happy to read that you enjoyed all our facilities and express breakfast.

It has been a real pleasure to have you in our hotel and we are looking forward to welcome you back again in the future!

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had about 30 hours in Amsterdam and this turned out to be a convenient place to stay. Free shuttle to airport. They allowed us to check in at 6am for a small fee. Short walk for tram into town. Beds were a bit hard but overall the hotel was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Aerobat21,

Thank you for your nice comment on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay at our hotel. It is really important for us that you experience an easy and relaxing time when you stay at our hotel. I am therefore sorry to hear that the beds were a bit to hard for you. We are looking for several options to find a solution for this problem.

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we’ll meet again

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patong, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

As we had an early flight from Amsterdam Schiphol Airport we decided to make a reservation for a park-, sleep- and fly-arrangement. This means you sleep the night before departure in said hotel and leave you car at the parking for about two weeks free of charges. The hotel has their own shuttleservice and they bring you to and pick you up from the airport every half an hour.
For us this was perfect. Good and friendly service, free use of sauna and reasonable prices in the bar and restaurant.

Room Tip: Come as early as possible to use their sauna facilities (free of charges).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Bertvanhees,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.
I am very happy to read that you liked your stay at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport and that you explain our sleep-and-fly-arrangement . I am really happy to read that you found our arrangement and the shuttle service perfect. It is also amazing that you share that we offer good and friendly service. This is of course where we want to be as a hotel delivering excellent and friendly service to our hotel guests, to make their stay the best possible.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward seeing you again at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport or at one of our affiliated hotels when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

we visited the park plaza on the 26th of april. the room was positive: it was nice and compact and generally nice and clean. another positive was the airport shuttle. very efficient and quick.
the negatives: first of all the resturant was ridiculously overpriced the most expensive on our whole trip, also a very average meal. secondly, the service of the waiters was very inefficient in terms of preparing a table, making one wait while they do this. It was very dissapointing to discover the wifi was only in public zones. lastly there was no national tv station/s in the rooms, one had to pay for a movie or tv (ridiculousy high prices).

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear tesh108,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

First of all I also want to thank you for your nice comments about the guest room and our complimentary airport shuttle service. In regards to your feedback about the prices in our restaurant, I am sorry that you found this too expensive. We are in line with our prices regarding competitors in the surroundings of Amsterdam. Regarding the TV feedback, we offer in different languages TV-channels which you can find in the TV-menu, these are free of charge. When you prefer to see movies (which are not on the regular TV-channels) this will result in using pay-tv. In regards to your feedback about the cabled internet I would like to share with you that we are currently looking at several options with different companies to improve this service to wireless internet throughout the whole hotel. However I am very sorry again for these issues that you have faced during your stay at our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport or at one of our affiliated hotels when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A bit of a long shuttle ride from the hotel (15 min) but it is a free shuttle so not a big deal. Since a prior review, the wifi problems seem to be resolved -- I'm writing via free wifi from here even as we speak. Overall, a perfectly adequate airport hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear neur14,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I am very happy to read that you liked your stay at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport and that you experienced a resolved issue you’ve faced a previous time! Furthermore I also want to thank you for your comment: “Overall, a perfectly adequate airport hotel”, while this is great to read about our hotel. Lastly I am sorry that you found the shuttle ride too long, normally the ride approximately takes 10 minutes.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward seeing you again at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport or at one of our affiliated hotels when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is hotel located near Schiphol airport,Amsterdam.They have free shuttle service from Airport - Hotel - Airport every half an hour.Since I am a elite member they upgraded my room on arrival but the room was bad.Window of the room opened in one of their halls.Even on my request my room was not changed.They donot have free wi-fi in the room although you have free cable internet connection.To enjoy free wi-fi you have to come to the lobby.
Room was small and somewhat suffocating.
They have a nice fitness centre and spa.The spread of their buffet breakfast is excellent.
The front office staffs were good but always helpless.Rooms on -1 & 1st floor is bad.
Had a very average experience staying in this hotel.I travel a lot all over world.
Would not recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Take room on higher floors 2nd and above.Please ensure you donot take room on -1 & 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear DilipKeshary,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

First of all I also want to thank you for your nice comments about our fitness centre, spa and the breakfast buffet it is very nice to read that you have liked this. In regards to your feedback about the wired internet I would like to share with you that we are currently looking at several options with different companies to improve this service to wireless internet. Furthermore we are unfortunately unable to have windows that can be opened, this while there are a lot of planes flying low over and therefore we are not allowed to have windows that can be opened.

We hope to see you again soon at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport or at one of our affiliated hotels when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Address: Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport is strategically located close to the A9, a 10-minute drive from Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam centre. The hotel offers a private shuttle service. Pick-up from the airport is free of charge, return is at a fee.The hotel offers comfortable rooms, a stylish bar and restaurant, a mini-gym and a wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Schiphol
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.