We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay with helpful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #133 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
St Helens
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay with helpful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here for 3 days. I would say that the hotel is 'average' - the room I had was rather basic if I'm honest with a lot of scuffs on the paintwork etc - it was in need of a little renovation. Bed was comfortable (hypnos mattess) but 2 twin beds and since one was on wheels it does make pushing them together into a double impossible! - only one extra pillow which I felt was odd in a double room. Also, tea and coffee facilities again, only one cup and spoon for the double room, and only powdered creamer (rubbish in tea!) My main issue with the room was that there is no possibility to get natural air into it - the windows are sealed so it feels like you are in a hermitically sealed 'cell'. There is air conditioning in the room, but fresh air would be nice. Food throughout the stay was pleasant, if a little 'samey'. Car parking is secure, although the permit card and barrier system are a little temperamental. The shuttle bus to and from the airport was excellent - always bang on time and the drivers were courteous, as were the reception staff in making bookings for it etc. I've stayed in better hotels for the price, but I would not have a problem using this one again.

Room Tip: I think most rooms are similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear hobbes3469

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It is good to read that you found our shuttle bus service excellent! This also counts for naming our shuttle bus drivers and reception staff to be courteous! Thank you very much, this is of course what we expect of our personnel and is highly important to deliver excellent service. Furthermore I want to respond to you regarding the windows that are sealed. In all hotels at the Schiphol area there is no possibility to open the windows in the rooms because of the airplanes that are flying very low over the hotel, therefore the noise will be too loud in the rooms. I am sorry as well for only having one cup in your room for the tea/coffee facility. I would like to offer you my sincere apologies and I am sorry for the inconvenience this has caused you during your stay at our hotel.

Thank you again for your review and comments. We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    269
    156
    34
    39
See reviews for
76
193
70
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redland City, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Thus hotel was great the facilities were 5 star. Clean, great service and friendly. The location was just outside the city centre. Which was just a small walk and tram rude away. Food was a little pricey but great quality. Breakfast was plentiful and filling. Before our flight home.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Madi2405,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I also want to thank you for your very positive words! It is wonderful to receive this feedback about our hotel. For example that you share that our facilities are great and that you found it a 5 star rating! I want to thank you as well for the comment about the clean, great service and friendliness from our personnel, this is where we strive for as hotel, to offer you as guest the best possible service.

Thank you again for your review and comments. We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We ended up staying overnight due to a delayed flight but it was a good hotel to be stranded in. Food was fantastic and the room was modern and clean with a large shower in the bathroom. The only niggle I had was a restless night caused by tiny half length pillows and slightly hard bed. But the room had a uk plug which was very handy as I forgot the adapter. The staff were friendly and helpful and the shuttle bus started very early. Although, it is further out from the airport than you might expect. The airline covered our costs so I cannot comment on pricing or value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor and it was still quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Scott M,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I want to thank you as well for your very nice comments that you have shared about our hotel. Our chef always wants to deliver the best dishes to our guests and it is more than a pleasure to read that you found the served food fantastic! As well as that the staff was friendly and helpful! This is where we strive for as hotel, to make your stay comfortable and delivering good service!

Thank you again for your review and comments. We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haelen, Limburg, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Although it was the second time for me being here, the second wasn't that good as the first time. I did like their spa area, this time the sauna didn't work and at the reception they didn't want to give me a badrope as this seems to be only for executive rooms.
The food and service in the restaurant was excellent. Rooms are not to big, but clean and comfortable. Will come again and hope their spa will work.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Robert Reesink,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It is good to hear that you will visit us again in the future and that the experience in the restaurant was excellent! Furthermore a clean and comfortable room is always what we aim for in our hotel. We want to offer the highest possible quality to our guests on every front! Therefore I am very sorry to hear that the staff wasn’t able to provide you a bathrobe and I am sorry as well for the inconvenience the sauna caused you during your visit at our hotel. Hopefully this will not occur in the future again!

Thank you again for your review and comments. We look forward welcoming you soon.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The shuttle service is really easy and convenient.
It runs every 30 minutes from the hotel shuttle area.

Clean hotel with a helpful staff.

It's a 50 Euro cab ride to the city center.
But a 10-15 walk to the nearest train station.

A draw back is that the Wi-Fi service is only accessible in the lobby area.
Also, instead of a queen or king bed. We received 2 twins pushed together.
Not ideal, but not the worst.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear W M,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It is good to hear that you found the shuttle service easy and convenient. And that you share with everybody that we have a clean hotel with helpful staff! Thank you very much for these very positive comments! Furthermore I want to share with you that we are currently negotiating with different companies to improve the internet in the whole hotel. For the next time when you visit our hotel, I would like to advise that if you can leave a note with the booking, that you write that you really want to have a queen bed. This to prevent any misunderstanding in the room choice.

Thank you again for your review and comments. We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I stayed here 1 night after i came back in late in Holland. The hotel is really nice designed. The rooms are big and have very comfortable beds. When I arrived i also had some food in the restaurant. The food taste very nice, but is maybe a little bit overpriced. The rate for the hotel is very good. Also it is really close to the airport, but far away to her no noise from the airplanes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Lionel_Bessi,

Thank you for your great comment on TripAdvisor.

It is really nice to hear that you’ve appreciated the whole hotel. For us it is very important to give the best service to all our guests because hospitality is one of our main priorities.

It has been an absolute pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to seeing you again to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport or to one of our affiliated hotels when your travels bring you back to the area.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is very close to the airport. Brand new and very chic! Lots of shopping near by. Bed was pretty comfy as well. I like to stay here because it is close to the airport and nicest place around. Service was really good as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear BostonBabeBoston_MA,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

I want to thank you as well for all your very nice comments that you have shared about our hotel. It is good to read that you found the bed comfortable and that you experienced our hotel as “brand new and very chic”. Furthermore it is great to read that you found our hotel “the nicest place around” and that you experienced the service as “really good”. This is where we strive for as hotel, to make your stay comfortable and delivering good service.

Thank you again for your review and comments. We look forward welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Address: Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport is strategically located close to the A9, a 10-minute drive from Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam centre. The hotel offers a private shuttle service. Pick-up from the airport is free of charge, return is at a fee.The hotel offers comfortable rooms, a stylish bar and restaurant, a mini-gym and a wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Otel, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Schiphol
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.