We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, shame about the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, Amsterdam 1175 RM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #136 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, shame about the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I will start with the positives. Staff were all very helpful and polite. Hotel is generally very clean and feels well laid out and easy to find everything. The room, although fairly small, was clean, comfortable and quiet. Spa only has a steam room and sauna but it is better than nothing. The breakfast choice was pretty good and tasty. The restaurant food was also very good but a little expensive (but what can you expect nowadays).
Now the downsides. Location, location, location! This hotel is not near the airport as you may think, it cost 30 Euros to get a taxi to the hotel!!!! The tram is a good 20 minute walk away and is very easy to get lost in trying to find it. There is no interconnecting bus service or anything like that so you are on your own. It took me over an hour each day to travel by tram to where I needed to be in Amsterdam and I felt a large part of each day was wasted. I would not return to the hotel on this basis alone unless I could not find a hotel closer to the centre.

Room Tip: Lower ground floor, north facing are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear KrismanDeluxe,

Thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to read that your overall stay with us was a positive one and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness and service of our staff, our spa facilities and our breakfast.
Regarding the location of the hotel, I would like to inform you that the Airport can be reached in approximately 10 minutes with our free shuttle bus. To go to the city center you can also take the train from the Airport instead of the tram or the taxi.

We appreciate your feedback and will it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,
Maarten Arlman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    184
    106
    22
    23
See reviews for
48
113
51
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel was busy during my two day stay and therefore breakfast was busy, including the queue for the one coffee machine! Need to invest in at least two more! The rooms were comfortable, however not vey sound proof as corridor noise and noise from above was a nuisance. A small shuttle bus for the size of hotel meant even though a reservation was made for my return trip to the airport the bus was full! It seems delegates attending the RAI use the free shuttle service to get back to the airport to take the train. Need to extend the wifi to the rooms to compete with similar standard hotels in the area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Slotty1964,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Regarding your comment about the busy breakfast, I’m really sorry about the inconvenience that this might have caused you. Please be assured that I will forward your comments to our Restaurant Manager to prevent this from happening again.
With regards to your comment about the Wi-Fi, I would like to inform you that currently the hotel has Wi-Fi in all its public areas, and cable internet in the rooms. But we are also working on a solution to improve our Wi-Fi connections throughout the whole hotel. Nevertheless, this will not take away any inconvenience this may have caused you.
Your feedback regarding the shuttle bus to the Airport has been shared with our management team.

Again, we would like to thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

English speaking staff, with clean and comfortable beds. Room is small, and basic with safe and blow dryer. Bathroom nice size. The rooms do not have irons. No gift shop or concierge. Wi-fi in room was extremely slow or not working most of the time. One shuttle to airport and 20 min. walk to tram to get to city center. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Pkrejci,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your overall time at our hotel and that we were at your service.

With regards to your comment about the iron in your room I would like to inform you that it can be placed in your room upon request. Please do not hesitate to contact our Reception staff for assistance during your stay.
Furthermore I would like to inform you that on the ground floor you can find three showcases with souvenirs.
We do have a Guest Relations desk where you can get information regarding the city of Amsterdam. In case our Guest Relations manager is not available, you can always ask our front desk staff, and they will be happy to assist you as well!

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again in the nearby future.

Warm regards,
Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very clean and modern room. Staff was very professional. A little further from the airport than I would have guessed but they have a regular shuttle that basically runs every 1/2 hour. You should make reservations on the shuttle when you check in, though.

If you are NOT going to the airport... well the room was great (best one we had on this trip) and the price is right. But you should probably have a car as the hotel is kind of out in the middle of nowhere (as far as I could tell).

For the price it was a great place to spend 6 or 8 hours to catch a morning flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Al W,

We would like to thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was such a positive one and that we were at your service.

With regards to your comments about the location of our hotel, I would like to advise you to use the public transport during your next stay with us. The city-centre of Amsterdam is to be reached within half an hour. Also the city-centre of Haarlem is very nearby, which is considered to be one of the best shopping centres of the Netherlands.

Again thank you for your great comment and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm regards,
Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

this is a business hotel located near the airport. There is nothing to do in the surroundings so you'll have to entertain yourself within the hotel.
Apparently there is a spa and gym that have long opening times.
Check-in was fine, although nothing extra offered such as info on breakfast, newspaper or wake up call.
The room was fine, but no minibar, bathrobe, slippers or anything extra. Toiletries were basic but fine. There were enough plugs and even a UK plug.
The bathroom was small, but there was enough space for your own toiletries. There was air-conditioning.
Sleep quality was good, no noise and comfortable bed.
Breakfast was nice, not special but everything was there from fresh fruit, cheeses, pancakes, English breakfast, juices and a wides election of bread.
We used a meeting room for business and he catering was very well organised and of good quality. The meeting room as also very good with helpful staff and no technical problems.
A big downside for this hotel is getting to Amsterdam.
Due to congress business taxi's wouldn't come over, you had to get the tram for almost an hour or a bus to the airport then the train to the Central Station of Amsterdam.
When the congress was over taxi's could come, but it still ook them 20 minutes to arrive.
The reception advertised a shuttle bus to Amsterdam but this appeared to leave once a day to come back in the evening at only one time.
I think the hotel would benefit a lot from more frequent shuttles. Otherwise it wasn't bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear squizz20

I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your overall time at our hotel and that we were at your service.
It is also great to read that you are pleased with our meeting room facilities and that our staff was very helpful to you.

With regards to your feedback about the information provided by the front office staff, I would like to inform you that I have addressed this matter to our Front Office Manager to prevent situations like this from happening again.
If you would like to have a mini-bar, slippers and bathrobe, I would like to advise to book an Executive Room. The executive rooms’ do not only have these amenities, and are more specious, but you will get also access to the Executive Lounge where you can enjoy from complimentary drinks and snacks. For our superior rooms a bathrobe and slippers can also be place in the room upon request. Please do not hesitate to contact the Reception for assistance during your next stay.
I am not sure where you tried to book a taxi, but our reception staffs are always able to book you a taxi. During the congress in Amsterdam RAI, we also provided a special rate for our congress guests to Amsterdam RAI. You could book this at the reception from 8 am till 11 am. It is unfortunate that the reception staff have informed you incorrectly. I will address this to the Front Office manager. Nevertheless this will not take away any inconvenience this caused you. I do apologize for that!
It is also possible to go to Amsterdam by public transportation. You can either take our free shuttle back to the airport and from there, take the train to Amsterdam Central Station, or you can walk to the nearest tram station, which is 10 minutes walking from the hotel, and take the tram to Leidseplein or to Amsterdam Central Station.

Again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Warm regards,
Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Modern and clean design. Fiendly english speaking hotel stuff.
It is ery easy to get in and out from airport by shuttle bus. Make sure you make the reservation for the morning shuttle back to the airport. It gets a bit crowdy.
Great food in the restaurant in the evening. 16 EURO breakfast is worth every penny.
Didn't make it to the spa
Exceptional value.

Room Tip: Take a 3 hour city tour from airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear osmyrnova,

Thank you so much for your great review on TripAdvisor.

We are more that pleased to find out that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to find that you enjoyed your room and our breakfast. Our Chef will be pleased to find out.

From our side we would like to thank you for your nice comments. In case of another long weekend or a longer holiday, you know where to find us. We are looking forward to welcome you again at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Good
Huge room with affordable price. Huge bathroom and comfortable bed.

Bad
Only one shuttle bus is picking up and sending customers to the airport
Slow wifi in the room
Not that accessible to the city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear TravelBug_Itchyfeet,

Thank you for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and the room was comfortable.
We realize that we are not city-centre based, but we can provide you with different kinds of transportation towards the city-centre. The easiest is by taxi of course, but the cheapest will be by tram. The nearest trap stop is only 10 minutes by foot from the hotel. This tram will bring within half an hour to Dam square, and can be used as the beginning of your sight-seeing trip! You have also the option to take our free airport shuttle and from there you can take the train to Amsterdam Central Station.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward welcoming you back when your travel brings you back to the area.

Warm regards

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Also Known As:
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Schiphol
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn
Address: Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, Amsterdam 1175 RM, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport is strategically located close to the A9, a 10-minute drive from Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam centre. The hotel offers a private shuttle service. Pick-up from the airport is free of charge, return is at a fee.The hotel offers comfortable rooms, a stylish bar and restaurant, a mini-gym and a wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.