We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport DONT COUNT ON Wireless INTERNET” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #123 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport DONT COUNT ON Wireless INTERNET”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel really went over and beyond in negative.
Free Wireless NO because the signal is so Low that Wireless is only available in lobby.
So Mac users get your adaptors thunder to RJ45 with you (cable is included in the room)
Checked out the same day and went to new hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Mike S,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your feedback on TripAdvisor. It is with great regret to find out that your stay was not as you have expected.

Regarding your feedback about the internet, we offer free wired in all our guest rooms and free Wi-Fi in all our public areas. In the month of July we had several issues with the internet, but they have been solved directly. I wish you had given us more time, because most of the internet problems could have been solved easily. Please be aware that the settings of your laptop also might have caused the disturbance. We have noticed lately that a lot of laptops are secured, and that the settings do not allow the user to use the cabled free internet that we provide in the room.
All in all, you did not get the experience you expected and I do apologies for the inconvenience this have caused you. It is a pity that you will not come back in order to give you a much better experience, but then again: one never gets a second chance to make a first impression.

But please keep in mind, wherever you stay in the future: we would have appreciated your immediate feedback during your stay, in order to be able to show you we are not a hotel to avoid, on the contrary. I do hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that we are not a hotel to avoid.

Kind regards,

Maarten Arlman,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    298
    168
    37
    40
See reviews for
83
212
80
251
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a basic hotel. If you are looking for something next to the airport and somewhere to spend the night, this is fine. Restaurant and bar is very basic but adequate for a drink.
The good thing is that there are shuttles that take you to the airport every 30 mins where you can take a train into the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Nerry_Luvs_Travel,

Thank you for putting your review on TripAdvisor. I think this is just a matter of personal taste; for many guests it is a great hotel with different facilities, while for some guests it seems like a basic hotel. Nevertheless I would like to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback and we are looking forward welcoming you back in the future when you travels brings you back to the area.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The staff was extremely professional and willing to help with any issues. That to me is the most important quality. The other thing I loved about it was that it was extremely clean. I'm guessing it's a newer hotel so it's not raggedy like some of these older hotels. The only downside to it is that it is a little far from the city center. The hotel does offer a shuttle to and from the airport.

Room Tip: There are two trams (1 and 5) that will take you all the way to the city center but plan a half hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear oneragintexan,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor, it is appreciated. I am thrilled to read that the you enjoyed your stay with us and your compliments regarding the staff are very comforting and are already shared with them.
Once again thank you for your comments and we are looking forward welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an unplanned stay here after a missed connection at the Amsterdam airport. The hotel was clean, modern, and staff was very friendly and helpful. Lovely restaurant, if slow on our crowded evening. Access to Amsterdam city center is possible by a 20 minute walk to the tram, followed by a leisurly ride from the last stop on the line, so not the place for a sightseeing trip but not totally isolated. Free shuttle to airport was appreciated. Shower only, no tub baths.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear pp2001,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us even though your stay was unplanned.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward welcoming you back when your travel brings you back to the area.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in July. The rooms were lovely, clean and spacious and the staff were very friendly! The airport shuttle was also very handy and was one less thing to worry about. The hotel also offers a free luggage room in case you have a late flight - we checked out at 12 and our flight wasn't til 9 at night but the hotel had no problem looking after our luggage while we went out for the day. All rooms come with free wi-fi and some come with complimentary internet.
There were a few drawbacks however. Our room was advertised as having a Queen bed but when we arrived it turned out to be two single beds pushed together. This could have simply been the result of a lack of rooms but we weren't informed of this which was a little disappointing. Room service cleaned the room and made the beds but it seemed as though they simply folded our bath towels and put them back on the shelves rather than giving us fresh ones. Finally, the hotel, while lovely, is rather a trek from the centre of Amsterdam. It's about a 15 minute walk to the nearest tram stop and then another half hour or so to Central Station. Not unpleasant, but when you've been walking all day it's a bit daunting to know that when you get off the tram there's another long walk waiting for you. Overall a lovely place to stay, but it might be worth looking into possibly renting a bike if you want to get around.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear LakiMay,

First of all thank you for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor. We are more than pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the staffs were at your service.
I have informed our Front Office Manager about your feedback about the Queen size bed, and he assured me to address this to the team. However this will not take away any inconvenience this might have caused you.
As part of Park Plaza’s commitment to conserve the environment, we will change bed linens and towels as necessary or upon request. Please do not hesitate to contact the Housekeeping department or our front desk so they can assist you with your request.

Once again thank you for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Even though it was only for one night, we had an excellent stay. The rooms were clean, well equipped, and roomy. The sauna was the best thing about our stay. We were in there for like 3 hrs strength and it was really clean and well organized. Beautiful view as well. The only downside was that we asked to stay another night and they were out of our room type and the next room was a bit pricy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Adventuresunlimitd,

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. I am thrilled to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the time to relax in our Wellness centre.
In case of another long weekend or a longer holiday, you know where to find us. We are looking forward to welcome you again at the hotel.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Hotel is amazing!

Maybe location isn't that great if you had a sightseeing trip and don't want to spend too much time or money on transportation. If you want to go to the Dam square it will take you 40 minutes from the door of the room to the Royal palace by using tram #1. Moreover, comparing to any AIRPORT hotel location of Park Plaza is wonderful.
Free transfer from and to the airport is amazing option and drivers are very considerate and polite. Trip to the aiport takes less than 15 minutes.

Hotel facilities are very good. Spa zone is free-of-charge and it's like a heaven after a flight. Besides, hotel provides you with real good shampoo, lotion and shower gel made made of components from Dead Sea.

And food is worth-mentioning as well. Breakfast was delicious!

Girls at reception are fantastic! Thanks!

Don't hesistate to ask any question.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Duck T,

Wow thank you so much for your great review on TripAdvisor. It is great to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that the staffs were at your service. I am also glad to read that you enjoyed our Wellness Centre.

Once again thank you for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you back when your travel brings you back to the hotel.

Warm regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Address: Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#67 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport is strategically located close to the A9, a 10-minute drive from Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam centre. The hotel offers a private shuttle service. Pick-up from the airport is free of charge, return is at a fee.The hotel offers comfortable rooms, a stylish bar and restaurant, a mini-gym and a wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Schiphol
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.