We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - near airport and comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #113 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Location - near airport and comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We put up a night at the hotel which is only 10 minutes drive from Schiphol airport. There is free shuttle service to and from the airport. The hotel is bright, spacious and clean. The front desk staff is also very helpful. We booked our room through the hotel's official website and initially cost us 100+ euros. Upon check in, the front desk staff managed to give us a lower room rate and it comes with in-room internet access. She also provided us with a map and information on how to get to the city either by their hotel shuttle to the airport and from the airport taking the metro to the city or another alternative is to take a 10-15 mins walk to the nearest tram station. We took the tram to the city and enjoy the view along the way.

The room is very well equip and have a very nice bathroom. The sheets in the room are clean, the beds are comfortable and there are sufficient power sockets available for use.

The hotel also provides shuttle to the airport as early as 6.15 am in the morning, which is great because we had a morning light to catch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear YvonneLing,

I would like to thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that your stay with us was such a positive one. We would love to see you back with us in the future while visiting Amsterdam.
We are please to read that our team was at your service, and that you enjoyed your room. Your suggestions are very important to us because they help to maintain and where necessary improve the service you can expect from us.

Once again thank you for your great review and we are looking forward welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind regards,
Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    366
    186
    38
    42
See reviews for
92
249
92
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney, australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

in the middle of nowhere... but setup OK. Restaurant menu and food was good, bar food rather disappointing.

positives - friendly staff, room setup sufficient incl. tea and coffee facilities, conference rooms were good, actually easy to get into town by tram

negatives - windows can"t be opened and aircon was not very powerful, no wifi in room, no minibar and just a meagre vending machine in the basement and no shops around... and actually not really clean (dirty bath mat, lots of hairs...no more detail required...)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear krisis,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall time and that the staffs were at your service.

However I am not pleased to read that your room was not deeply cleaned. I would like to extend my apologies for the condition of your room. We will certainly take action to prevent this from happening again.
Regarding your feedback about the windows, I would like to inform you that due to the fact that we are located nearby the airport, and there is a lot of extra fine dust, kerosene fume and noise the hotel chose to keep all the windows closed. However, it doesn't mean that the AC shouldn’t work. I will definitely discuss your feedback with our Technical department to solve this issue.
Currently the hotel has Wi-Fi in all its public areas, and cable internet in the rooms. But we are also working on a solution to improve our Wi-Fi connections throughout the whole hotel. Nevertheless, this will not take away any inconvenience this may have caused you.
If you would like to have a mini-bar, I would like to advise to book an Executive Room. The executive rooms’ do not only have a mini-bar, and are more specious, but you will get also access to the Executive Lounge where you can enjoy from complimentary drinks and snacks.

Once again thank you for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you back at the hotel when your travel brings you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed one night and used the free shuttle from the airport. We were the only people on it when we arrived, but I booked it for the next morning and it was a good thing because it was full. Reception staff very welcoming and friendly and provided a street map of Amsterdam and directions. The tram into the centre is about 12-15 mins walk away, but easy to find. They seem to run very regularly. I think it was about 2.30 euro each.

The room was fine with a comfortable bed and the bathroom very spacious. I asked for a quiet room so we were on a high floor away from the lift and didn't hear a thing. We didn't eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Its in a quiet location so I suspect all rooms will be quiet, but a higher floor and away from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear bumblebeeCumbria_UK,

Thank you for taking the time to put your great feedback on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to read that your stay with us was such a positive one. We would love to see you back with us soon again.

Again, our thanks your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you again with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After arrival, proceed to A9-11 Shuttle Stop to wait for the half-houly shuttle bus to Hotel. Smooth and comfortable drive with a friendly driver on the wheel. Internet access on some floor is weak, so if you do need to work with wifi checked the room wireless strenght first and request for a change in room if necessary

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Sok Meng L,

Thank you for taking the time to put your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall time at the hotel.

With regards to your feedback about the internet, I would like to inform you that we are working on a solution to improve our internet connections throughout the whole hotel. Nevertheless this will not take away any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Once again thank you for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you back at the hotel when your travel brings you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is around 10 kMs from the airport. Hotel has a free shuttle service to and from the airport. The pick ups and the drops are every half an hour, starting since morning. One is supposed to make a prior reservation for the airport drop. I did. My room was clean and quite functional. The canal flowing next to it added a nice touch. It has a nice bar and the restaurant. The breakfast spread was also very good. Wi-Fi was abysmally slow. On the whole the hotel is a good value for money for the business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear nalin_thakur,

I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to put your great review on TripAdvisor. It is sincerely appreciated.
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. Your suggestions are very important to us because they help to maintain and where necessary improve the service you can expect from us.

Once again thank you for your review and we are looking forward welcoming you back at the hotel when your travel brings you back to the area.

Kind regards,

Maarten Arlman,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Nice decorations, good value per money, great free shuttle service to/from Airport, good steam bath and Sauna...
Not deeply clean! A little rude staff! Not enough amenities like minibar in all rooms! Very bad pillows, so not a comfortable sleep!

Room Tip: On the web-site it says you can reach a tram (to go to Central Amsterdam) by 15 minutes walk. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Amir F,

Thank you for taking the time and putting your review on TripAdvisor. It is really appreciated. We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed our new Wellness Centre and your overall stay.

However I am not pleased to read that your room was not deeply cleaned and that you did not have a conformable sleep. Please do not hesitate to contact the housekeeping or the front desk, so they can assist you during your stay and provide you with another pillow. Moreover, I would like to extend my apologies for the condition of your room. We will certainly take action to prevent this from happening again.

Once again we want to thank for making us aware of these problems. By using feedback we can learn how to improve our hotel/services, which is utmost important to us. Nevertheless, we would like to thank you for your business and we hope you will consider staying with us once again in the future.

Best regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

First of all we were upgraded to a suite which had both a bath and a shower which was lovely. A nice small living area and a double bed.
Our toilet was in a separate toilet on the opposite side if the room which seemed strange how ever I thought it was fine. My partner didn't.
The gym was great for a small hotel too.
The best thing about the hotel was the courtesy bus to the airport every half an hour. The train into Amsterdam also departs from the airport. A return ticket is around €8.40
Housekeeping stuff were always so friendly and helpful how ever our bed sheets were changed one in 6 nights...... I just expected a bit more. I also smashed my phone and the grains were not swept up for 2 days.
Receptionists were helping with arranging travel and such.
Food in the day in the lounge is great. The pasta dish with mushrooms was a huge portion but bland ( not a word I use often as a regular restaurant goer)
The major issue we had was booking a taxi but after a lot if hassle we did get a very small refund.
Over all I would stay again but would want a discounted rate and I would go out for food.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Isaura_11,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time and writing your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that your overall stay was positive and that you enjoyed your upgrade. It is also great to read that the staff was at your service.
With regards to your feedback about the bed sheets I would like to inform you the following; because we are part of the Green Globe and we are trying to be more sustainable, the bed sheets for our long stay guest will be changed every three days. However, if the sheets are dirty or our guests would like to have it changed daily, it is our pleasure to do so.
Your feedback about the restaurant has been shared with our Chef and Restaurant Manager to make sure this will not happen again in the future. Nevertheless, this will not take away any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay, which I offer my sincere apologies.

Once again thank you for making us away of your findings, because your feedback will helps us to fine tune our operations and learn how to improve our services. On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport we thank you for your business and we hope that you will consider staying with us once again when your travel brings you back to the area.

Best regards,

Maarten Arlman,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Address: Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#63 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#102 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport is strategically located close to the A9, a 10-minute drive from Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam centre. The hotel offers a private shuttle service. Pick-up from the airport is free of charge, return is at a fee.The hotel offers comfortable rooms, a stylish bar and restaurant, a mini-gym and a wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Schiphol
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.