We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated, efficient shuttle, pleasant staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #137 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Renovated, efficient shuttle, pleasant staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After having a nightmarish experience at the NH Amsterdam Airport I booked into the Park Plaza with minimal expectations, given its relatively mediocre reviews on this site. I'm pleased to report that those expectations were pleasantly exceeded and my perspective on this property is a sterling one.

I grabbed the shuttle from Schiphol, which given the hotels distance from the airport (close to 15 minutes) is somewhat irregular -- so be prepared to potentially have to wait a few minutes. I was in no rush at the time so I wasn't much bothered by it.

Check-in was quick and pleasant, the receptionist informed me that the spa was available for use should I be interested and sent me on to my room located on the second floor. I booked on Priceline (rate of $68) so was expecting the traditional 'booking agency' shaft and a room on the maligned 'sub' floors based on the experience of some of the other reviewers here.

The room itself was very nice and clean. Lighting was soothing, bathroom spectacular (stand up shower only,) and bedding quite comfortable. TV channels were somewhat limited, no in-room movies available. Internet was not free as far I could gather. No mini-bar or mini-fridge.

Noise throughout the night was sparse, if not totally non-existent, which I was not expecting given this locations categorization as an airport hotel. Check out is at noon, but I didn't end up coming down from my room until 1:15 ... no harassing calls from the front desk or knocks on the door from housekeeping, which I quite appreciated!

There is no fee for a return shuttle to the airport, although the hotel requests that you do make a reservation which was simple enough.

If you intend on using this hotel as a hub for travel into Amsterdam city be aware that it is a bit of a process but very doable. Schiphol has trains running the short trip into the city at frequent intervals and the only thing you need to plan for/contend with is the shuttle to the hotel. Ideally you'd be looking for a hotel closer to the center, but in the high season sometimes the price isn't quiet so easy to swallow.

Room Tip: To avoid noise, the higher the better, and a room facing the back of the hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear AKHawkins,

Great thanks for your extensive comment on Tripadvisor. We are glad that we were able to make you more or less forget your nightmarish experience with one of our colleague hotels. In your review you stated that the one way trip from the airport did take you about 15 minutes, and that is indeed way too long, because usually it should last no longer than 10 minutes. Please be advised that internet is indeed available, and for free. It is Wifi in all public areas, and cabled internet in the room. Hopefully that will be Wifi as well in the very near future.

Maybe it is an idea that you book an executive room with us next time. It is just a small additional amount, and your room space will be doubled, mini-bar in the room, acces to our executive lounge as well as to our spa and fitness facilities. It is just a suggestion, but I can assure you, it is worth it!

Again, our sincere thanks, and we look forward welcoming you soon with us again!

Best regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    203
    121
    24
    24
See reviews for
56
128
56
150
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wallhausen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I visited a congress in the Park Plaza Airport Amsterdam and stayed there two nights with my wife. I did the reservation 4 weeks before via Internet-booking and asked for a room with doublebed. Unfortunately such room was available only in the level -1. The room was very small, but very clean. The bathroom was OK. There is enough parking space, the daily rate is €5. The food in the restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced. The breakfast is without service, just a really good buffet. We asked for an extra late checkout (6 p.m.) and this was not invoiced! Next time I will ask for a room in the upper levels.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in level -1, you are looking to a dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Peter R,

Thank you so much for your positive words on Tripadvisor. This is very much appreciated. For your next visit we would suggest to book an Executive room with us, meaning double the size for just a bit more. In that case you will also have acces to our Executive Lounge, in which we will start serving drinks and canapes in the afternoon in the near future. The bed in our Executive rooms are double beds as well, but Queen size.

We are looking forward to welcome you back with us!

Hospitably yours,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I just returned from Amsterdam where we stayed at the Park Plaza Airport. The room was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The front desk staff was most accommodating; we arrived well before check-in, but we obviously look tired after over 15 hours of traveling. She checked us in to our room without charging an early check-in fee - we were very grateful for the consideration and the short nap that followed.

I wish we could say the same for the restaurant staff. Upon arrival at the restaurant the next morning, we were not greeted at the hostess stand and a server from across the room told us to sit where we liked. After waiting ten minutes for anyone to approach us, we finally left. Since the buffet was not included in our room rate, we later asked the cost - it was about 22 Euros per person. It was a nice buffet, but not 22 Euros nice.

The hotel is well away from the airport, but they do have an airport shuttle that we took each day. Once arriving at the airport/train station, we took the train to City Central. We would probably stay there again should we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear JanetandKenny,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor. Comments like yours help us to stay awake, which seems to be necessary looking at your breakfast experience. Of course this has been addressed with the staff member involved, so during your next visit we should be able to provide you with a much better service. Also your comments with regard to the Reception Desk are highly appreciated. It is always a pleasure to read that guests will return to the hotel when they come back to Amsterdam, so we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Maarten Arlman
General Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Well away from the airport but they do have a shuttle from the airport that you can ride back to the airport to catch the train to downtown, otherwise it is about a €35 taxi ride to center city. The only reason we stayed here was that it was the hotel for the cruise we were taking out of Amsterdam. The room was spartan but adequate. The bed was very comfortable. Free wifi in the room. Tub with shower. They wanted €15 to check in before 2 PM.

The included breakfast buffet was lavish! You would not go away hungry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear evanjva1Usa,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

For a small fee the hotel provides a Shuttle service into Amsterdam. Great to read you enjoyed our breakfast buffet! Hopefully your cruise was a success. We are looking forward to your next visit.

All the best!

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

What is your Club Carlson status?
Gold

Where did you stay? (Brand, Location, Country)
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Were you (or for multi-stayers are you generally) happy with the hotel/stay?
Yes very!

Which room did you book and which upgrade did you receive?
Booked standard at Park Sleep Fly rate for 76€ incl unlimited airport parking.

Did you receive elite benefits?
Complimentary Room Upgrade - Yes, proactively to Executive room
Early Check In/Late Check Out - Not requested
In-Room Welcome Gift - Yes, some Dutch stroopwafels and still water.

How are the rooms?
Still in excellent condition.

What was good and what was bad?
Good:
Price (76€ incl parking)

Bad:
busy at check-in desk, but not really bad.

Value for money? Would you return?
Very good, yes will return instantly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear thomas199023,

Thank you for your extensive feedback!

We would like to thank you for joining our loyalty program Club Carlson, because you have a Club Carlson Gold Elite status the benefits include:

- Complimentary room upgrades as available
- 50% point bonus on every eligible stay
- 2,000 point online booking bonus at clubcarlson.com or any Carlson Rezidor hotel website
- Early check-ins and late checkouts as available upon request
- Roll Over Nights (unused elite-qualifying nights count again next year toward elite status)
- 72-hour room availability guarantee at participating hotels
- Elite Customer Service Line

We hope to get the honor to be welcoming you again in the future.

All the best,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

First time in this hotel. It is nearby the airport and offers a shuttle service to and from the airport. The shuttle service is also available to bring you to downtown Amsterdam. You could also do that using public transportation with the nearby tram. Hotel is very clean and really nice, offers meeting facilities, a nice bar, and a small restaurant. It also offers a new wellness and spa area! Wifi is unfortunately only available in public areas, the rooms were only offered with cabled Internet access which was not tremendously fast. No mini-bar in my room but in the cellar is a 24h automat where you can get snacks and beverages. My usual morning run was also quite nice as right around the corner a water channel offers a couple of kilometers long and flat courses. My office is near the Amsterdam arena (where Ajax plays) and it is only two stops with the tram. Much faster and cheaper than with a cab, especially since during traffic jams you might wait 30 or even more minutes until you get hold of one. So, better reserve it early enough!
Summary: Very nice and clean business hotel - if you want to visit Amsterdam, I would recommend a hotel nearer to the city.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear mkranz,

Thank you for your review!

The area where the hotel is situated is also very convenient to have a morning walk. The hotel offers at the reception 24 hours tram tickets; this will make your trip even easier.

I am looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

All the best,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

i love the dutch - lived in Haarlem for seven years. like the dutch, the hotel offers simple, straight forward, uncomplicated comfort and basic services in a clean & tidy environment. staff are so very friendly and efficient.

main and only complaint is that internet access is patchy. wirless only in the lobby and cable connections in the guest room (w no wirless). english television is limited to CNN (gagg!). and if one neeeds to iron, one must visit the communal ironing room on the third floor.

as i was attending a conference here for several days i would say that not being located in A'dam was a good thing - no temptation for attendees to escape into the city for a smoke.

the hotel is very convenient to A'dam, Haarlem and the airport.

Room Tip: spend the extra for an executive room. larger and has a decent desk for work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Mike O,

Nice to read you love the Dutch!

As you describe, the hotel is very convenient to Amsterdam, Haarlem and the Airport. Thank you for your complements regarding the staff! We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Maarten Arlman
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Address: Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, 1175 RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport is strategically located close to the A9, a 10-minute drive from Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam centre. The hotel offers a private shuttle service. Pick-up from the airport is free of charge, return is at a fee.The hotel offers comfortable rooms, a stylish bar and restaurant, a mini-gym and a wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Schiphol
Amsterdam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.